We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
$220
$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$193
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lenna of Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$179
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 429(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$93
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$179
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$125
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Salamanca Inn(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$163
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fountainside Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$101
$68
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graham Apartments(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$87
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islington Hotel(Hobart)
$398
$376
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
122
48
18
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
48
18
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary portbattery pointlisted buildingbeautiful buildinglovely large roomhistoric housespa bathsalamanca placemain roadcooked breakfastbed and breakfastsourdough breadbusy roadaccess codesandy bay rdfabulous stayb bs
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 197 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2009

We were so impressed and pleased with our stay at Gattonside. Our hosts were very welcoming and friendly, and were very attentive to our needs without being intrusive or pushy in any way. A genuine family atmosphere prevailed and we felt very relaxed and at home. Our stay was broken into two periods and we were greeted like returning friends when we checked in for the second time. We would definitely highly recommend Gattonside to prospective guests - they will not be disappointed. The hosts are doing a wonderful job restoring and maintaining Gattonside to its former glory. Thanks so much for helping to ensure our stay in Hobart was a terrific one - we will choose to stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20yearsstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

This is a welcoming B&B where the hosts have just the right touch: friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Our room was large and had a modern bath with an excellent shower (very important to me). The breakfasts were excellent and served in a beautiful little dining room. I would definitely recommend staying in Battery Point - it's scenic, historic and very close to the places you want to be.
The only downside is that it's on a very busy street. I would guess that any rooms on the front of the building could be noisy. Also, it's not that easy to cross the street during peak traffic periods. But these are minor quibbles; overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

Beautiful rooms, perfect location, great breakfast and friendly and helpful hosts. Couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcoomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

This place is just perfect. It's a beautiful old house in a great location (10-15 mins walk from harbour & CBD, 5 mins to Battery Point). Our room was spacious and full of character, with great amenities - reasonably priced, well stocked minibar, free tea & coffee, modern flat screen TV, free wireless internet access, spa bath.

Breakfast was excellent - cooked to order as well. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful too, which is a big plus. The price was fair what you get - we paid $200 a night, but they have rooms starting from $180. As as we could tell, the cheapest hotel/B&B accommodation in central Hobart is about $150 a night, so this place only costs a little more than the lower end places, and in our opinion it was well worth it.

We really could not find a single negative thing to say about Gattonside, and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Stayed for a couple of nights on our tour of Tasmania. A convenient location within walking distance of the town centre if you choose to leave your car parked at Gattonside, but it's uphill walk on the way back!

The accomodation itself was comfortable and was an oasis in amongst some fairly drab buildings. Unfortunately, we were staying on during a short heatwave and there's no air con. However, we managed to sleep OK with an open window without being too disturbed by traffic noise.

Hosts were very welcoming, and a good breakfast is provided. If you don't fancy a walking down into town to eat in the evening, there are several good restaurants within a 5 minute walk at Battery Point. We ate at Francisco's in Hampden Road, BP (Spanish influences) which was very good.

Well worth considering for your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnyjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews