We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honoured by Incredible Staff, The Extra Mile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation
Ranked #4 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Lets get the basics said: Really comfy bed, dark room at night, terrific varied breakfasts, beautiful historic house and a great location in Hobart. But you can get this at lots of places. What Gattonside has is the extra mile! Courtesy, which began before we arrived with calls and emails of help, and extended for every day of our 6 days stay. We were in Hobart for Anzac day and my returned serviceman husband was accorded the honour and respect which makes a Vietnam Vet feel rewarded for his service. We laughed and talked with staff who were beyond helpful in pointing us in the right direction. Our sleep-ins were respected and any special need was catered for. We had an amazing stay in Hobart and Gattonside was the heart of this experience. Lily, Annie and Team you deserve 5 stars... You made our stay. We will tell all our friends and certainly be back.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room which saved carrying bags upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Theresa,

Thank you for taking the time to share you impressions of Gattonside Heritage Accommodation following your recent stay with us. What a lovely review - thank you. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Gattonside. It's the perfect place to relax and enjoy your visit to Hobart. Thank you for your kind words about the team, and please be assured that your praise has been passed on to Annie, Lil and the team.

Thank you again Theresa for sharing your time with us, and we do really look forward to welcoming you and Graeme back to Gattonside again.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Red Awnings team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 185 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Our room and bath were unusually large and elegantly decorated. The breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed walking around the historic neighborhood. Staff helped us do laundry and recommended a great restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60plustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of Gattonside following your recent stay with us. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a fabulous location right on the fringe of Battery Point with lots of lovely walking around the area.

We do hope to welcome you back to Gattonside again, until then happy travels!

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gattonside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights in the honeymoon suite and had a great time. The bed was comfortable and nice large room and large bathroom on the second floor. Breakfast was really good every day and you can walk to Salamanca place and even the botanic gardens tho that's a bit farther. Highly recommend this beautiful place. Nice salon with free port and fudge for afternoon tea and relaxing. So much nicer than a hotel!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for your lovely review of Gattonside! It's great to read you enjoyed your stay. I couldn't agree more with you - we do have a fantastic location in Battery Point. Our rooms are so large and spacious and have beautiful character features that only a house of this era can offer.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions with the TripAdvisor community and we do hope to see you at Gattonside again soon.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gattonside team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Gattonside was a wonderful place to stay in Hobart. Position was perfect being within walking distance of cafes, restaurants, market and the water. Accommodation was very comfortable with relaxing atmosphere and several personal touches. We were well looked after by the delightful Lili ,always available to give good information and advice.. Breakfasts were cooked each morning by Annie and they were delicious and varied . I would recommend this B&B if you are looking for a quality place with the personal touch

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Joan,

Thank you for your lovely review of Gattonside and for your kind words about Lili and Annie. They do take great pride in looking after all our guests and ensuring everyone has a special stay with us. We feel very lucky to be able to share Gattonside and it's charm and tranquillity with our guests.

We do hope to welcome you back to Gattonside again. Until then, happy travels.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gattonside team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My partner and I had booked the recent long weekend 7-10 March for a self contained apartment @ Hampden with the Red Awning group. However, a few days before flying to Hobart, we were informed that the apartment we booked was no longer available as the verandah glass had broken - no problem we said as we were offered accommodation @ Gattonside (albeit not self contained) but breakfast was thrown in complimentary, also not a great problem for us. We agreed that would be just fine.
When we arrived at Gattonside, we were shown to our room, which was disappointing in that it was a small room out the back next to the laundry. We were told not to worry as the laundry only operated 9-6pm, not so ... we heard the washer & dryer @ 7.30am!! There was also an exit door just outside our room for guests to enter & exit from the car park. No aircon in the room, no problem we said as there was an open window. That didn't help, as during the night traffic noise from Sandy Bay Rd was a nuisance, not to mention a party going on in the adjacent apartments with loud noise @ 1.30am on the last night of our 3 night stay. We didn't appreciate laundry pick up vans & staff cars coming in & making noise from 7am every morning!!
If we had we managed to stay at our original accommodation, we would have been in a side street away from noise, we would have had aircon and an overall peaceful 3 nights of sleeping
On the positive side, this heritage accommodation is very gracious, front gardens are nicely kept. There is no gardens at the back - only car parking. It's looking a little tired in some rooms, especially our Room No 3 and the public toilets. Needs attention to detail.
If you so happen to book this accommodation place, make sure you have a room facing the back of the property and we DO hope you achieve a good night's sleep. We were never so glad to be back in our own home for a peaceful night's sleep.
Finally, on the positive side, the bed was really comfy, pity we couldn't really enjoy it ... and may we say that breakfast cooked by the vivacious Annie was delicious and that Bernie's cooked breakfast was equally enjoyable!
We would not stay @ Gattonside again as our experience was pretty average to say the least!

Room Tip: We didn't manage to see the other rooms, but DO NOT stay in room 3!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank margieMmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Margie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of Gattonside Heritage Accommodation with the TripAdvisor community. I am sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations.

As advised, our laundry operates between 9am and 6pm. We do have a strict rule that all staff adhere to, that the laundry is not operated prior to 9am so guests are not disturbed. I'm sorry that someone used the facilities outside of the hours.

I was really disappointed to read that you were disturbed by a party in a nearby apartment - usually this area is very quiet indeed. However, we are available 24 hours so if any guests have any issues overnight we are on call and available to assist. In this case we could have certainly assisted with the noise issue.

I am pleased that your enjoyed your breakfasts - our team do a fabulous job and take great pride in looking after all our guests. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Gattonside again. Please do contact us directly should you wish to discuss your recent stay with us further.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gattonside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed at this lovely Bed and Breakfast on our last night in Hobart and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. While there is no staff overnight, this didn't cause us any concerns. We had a very large, beautifully furnished room with a comfortable king bed. The location, near Sandy Beach as well as Battery Point, allowed us time to explore this beautiful area - there are great walks along the coast. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was the best we had on our trip - delicious, with fresh fruit, muesli, stewed berries and yoghurt, followed by poached eggs, bacon, slow baked tomatoes and spinach on sour dough bread - Yum! I would highly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: We had the king rom on the ground floor. There were people above us but this didn't cause us any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for your really lovely review - it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to have the opportunity to have your stay with us at Gattonside again soon.

Best regards,

Kat and the Gattonside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We couldn't sleep at all over a night. Fire and security alarm went off 3 times from 2:30am to 5:30am. The first alarm went off over 30 minuets, all the guests woke up, some of the guests packed their suits case in case of the emergency. "Non of the staffs stays over a night in the guest house", hence, we didn't know what is going on... It is a big problem when something happen in the guest house after the staff leave at 5pm. That night was a scary and horrible experience for us. Finally after one hour at 3:30am, one of their staff arrived, and it was a false alarm after all... Then, the staffs were trying to fixed the security alarm over the night which made the alarm to go off again at 4am and 5am...
It was supposed to be a relaxing night, however, it turned out to be a horrific night...
What disappointed more was, there was no compensation at all from the Gattonside.
The guest house is in good location walking distance to Salamanca. Also, I loved the beautiful classics interiors. However, I must say, their service was very disappointing and not worse the money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank ashiato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedAwnings, Front Office Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Ashiato,

Thank you for your review of Gattonside following your recent stay with us. Ashiato, I'm really disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay, and do sincerely apologise that the alarm overnight disrupted you. I do urge you to please do contact me directly so that we can discuss this further at sales@redawnings.com.au

Kind regards,

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#22 of 47 in Hobart
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
702 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#11 of 47 in Hobart
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gattonside Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gattonside Heritage Accommodation

Address: 51 - 53 Sandy Bay Rd | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range: $125 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gattonside Heritage Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, a Red Awnings Boutique Hotels and Apartments Property. Gattonside (circa 1885) is a magnificent Victorian Mansion, designed by Henry Hunter and is National Trust & Heritage listed. It opened as a B & B back in January 1999 and is the perfect choice to stay for both leisure & business travellers. Gattonside is nestled within an acre of gardens and is a short stroll to historic Battery Point, Salamanca Place and the CBD. It is an ideal place to base yourself while exploring the surrounding areas- the Huon, Derwent Valley and Tasman Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gattonside Heritage Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing