We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gattonside Heritage Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation
Ranked #4 of 29 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Charming hosts, clean and well kept spacious property. Well placed and traffic from road negligible. This is battery point not Boat Quay. Thanks John

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoodlesSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    38
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
113
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

We absolutely loved this B&B ! The rooms were grand with their 4 posters bed. The bathroom beautiful, the fresh cut flowers from the garden a special touch. Breakfast was lovely and the host a friendly but discreet. Location is perfect, yes close to a main road in Honart but we are talking Hobart here ! By 7 pm its quiet and you are in the middle town after all. If you want total tranquility stay out of town. The place has been beautifully restored and it is worth just going in to see the care and attention put into giving back to the house it's "grandeur" All in all a great experience would recommend

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bambasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

This was overly priced - which is a shame because it does offer some interesting things such as a sitting room and a fully cooked breakfast. The location is excellent - just minutes by foot to Battery Point and Salamanca. Be warned though - the B+B is on a main road. Overall, I would not return because of the excessive cost!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pmcanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Brilliant in every regard. John & Nic' have refurbished the B&B exquisitely; the combination of large rooms, high ceilings with period decoration and furnishings make you feel as if you're in a colonial residence back in the 1880's! Friendly service and super breakfasts combine to make this the ultimate in B&B's. Far and away the best B&B we stayed in during our month long Australia trip and up with the best we have stayed in, ever.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveandshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We arrived early for a 3 night stay and only wanted to park to walk down to the Salamanca Markets but Nicole, host along with husband John, told us that our room was ready so we checked in. Our room! Where do I start? Huge, big high ceilings and a 4 poster bed to match, luxuriously appointed and a bathroom you could play football in. Fresh roses from the garden in our room, well priced mini-bar, digital TV. John and Nic' are warm, friendly and great sources for information, particularly on good eating in the area. Complimentary port and chockies in the lounge is a nice touch.

Great and varied breakfast, including full cooked and a wizz-bang coffee machine which clicks and wirs and then produces the goods. Easy walk to Salamanca Place and markets, as well as Constitution Dock for fresh cooked fish and chips.

One of the best, if not THE best B & B's we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the Queen Spa suite in the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spudtate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sorell, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

Wow - this is an amazing building, set back just off the main drag and a stones throw to Salamanca, the markets, the restaurants and the city. Great location.
I stayed for work. The room was massive, high ceilings, great clean bathrooms and heaps of room. Room amenities were provided and there was even a drink in the fridge for purchase at a really reasonable price, unlike most hotels etc. There is a bottleshop across the road but I couldn't be bothered. I was nervous that it was going to be a bit noisy as it's right on one of the main roads, but it wasn't and it was about the best nights' sleep I've had while travelling. The big, luxurious 4 poster bed was so comfy I almost overslept, which would have meant that I missed out on breakfast.
I love a good cooked breakfast and they certainly do one here. Eggs (any way), bacon, mushrooms, tomato etc, but the best breaky I had here was actually fruit, yoghurt and cereal, beautifully presented and yummy. Coffee was good - anything other than instant is always good though so I was pleased they had a machine.
The owners were able to recommend and even make bookings for me at a few local restaurants and got us in when we didn't expect to. They were also really helpful with advice for getting around town and to meetings.
I'll be back when I need to stay again
Also visited MONA - Wow - regardless of if you like the controversial art - well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Look on line and then ring them direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
561 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

Stayed at the Bayview Suite on for two nights during our visit to Hobart. The place had a nice homely feel.

The location is good along Sandy Bay road, across Battery Point and a 10 minute walk down to Salamanca Place. Free parking is available and breakfast is included in the price. Even though its along a busy road the room was pretty quiet.

The structure is grand with a common reading room, dining room and the owner's rooms on the ground floor and guests rooms on a mezzanine and top floor. They serve free port wine in the common reading room.

Well the bedroom may have had views of the Bay when it was built, but for now its a misnomer. However, the room was quite big with big window panes, wall to wall carpets, a queen's bed, sofa, TV, tea/coffee maker, mini-fridge, iron and ironing board. We had a heater in our room and an additional thermal blanket for the bed.

The bathroom was big, had a spa and a shower, heaters, well kept.

Breakfast was standard with eggs, bacon, tomatoes, toast, cereal, muesli, fruits, yogurt and tea/coffee. The reason I've marked 3 stars on service is because our request for a simple omlette was turned down saying that they don't do them; my take is that given you do scrambled and fried eggs it shouldn't have been much of an issue to cook an omlette. However, I must mention that everything else was good, our room was done when we were away and towels replaced. We were offered a jug of milk in case we would like to make any tea/coffee during the day. And all our other touristy queries were answered.

I liked the accommodation and the feel, could've been a little more competitively priced.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#17 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.7 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gattonside Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gattonside Heritage Accommodation

Property: Gattonside Heritage Accommodation
Address: 51 - 53 Sandy Bay Rd | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gattonside Heritage Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, a Red Awnings Boutique Hotels and Apartments Property. Gattonside (circa 1885) is a magnificent Victorian Mansion, designed by Henry Hunter and is National Trust & Heritage listed. It opened as a B & B back in January 1999 and is the perfect choice to stay for both leisure & business travellers. Gattonside is nestled within an acre of gardens and is a short stroll to historic Battery Point, Salamanca Place and the CBD. It is an ideal place to base yourself while exploring the surrounding areas- the Huon, Derwent Valley and Tasman Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Gattonside Heritage Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing