We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located clean and trendy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Travelodge Hobart looks newly renovated. The location is 5 mins walk to the Salamanca Market/ Place where there are many dining options available. You can also walk a bit further to the Constitution Dock where you will find fish trawlers selling fresh seafood and cooked seafood.
The room i book comes with a double bed and a single bed. It has beautiful scenery of the mountain.

Just less than 2 minutes walk away is also the Boutique Expresso along Macquarie Street that serves nice coffee. The boss is very friendly.

Walking distance to the city shopping area.

Apart from that the hotel staffs were friendly and helpful and the room is clean and fresh looking. I love the firm yellow colour pillow. Firmest pillow for my whole trip.

Only complain is that I wish the room comes with more cooking facilities and a bigger shower area and better instructions about guest parking upon booking as I drove into a very tight parking area to find out that it is not for guests. Guests parking is found at the basement of the hotel, via another entrance right after the one that leads to Travelodge Hobart reception.

Room Tip: I requested for a view of the mountain and I got one and the room wasn't noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YannYng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica B, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear YannYng

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Hobart.

I am also pleased to read that you found the hotel to be in a great location for exploring Hobart and found our team to be friendly and efficient.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Hobart in the future.

Kind Regards
Jessica Bergman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,733 - 1,739 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Fantastic hotel within easy walking distance of all of Hobart's attractions. The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and welcoming, especially after 36 hours of travelling. The room (suite) had lovely views and was clean and spacious. We really couldn't have asked for anything more, we were really impressed!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica B, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Lucy B

Thank you so much for your very nice feedback. We are all very happy that your visit to Hobart was such a great experience, also because of our hotel.

I'm also very pleased that you have found our hotel to be in a great location and our staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and welcoming.

We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the one that you have described above.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Hobart in the future.

Kind regards
Jessica Bergman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

After all the negative comments we were pleasantly surprised that our stay in one of the budget rooms (510) was better than we had expected. The room was small but not too small. The size of the bathroom was what we would have expected in a larger room. The recent renovation was successful. The street noise was muted and there was no noise from other rooms. Parking required some luck and diligence but we were able to park when we wanted (4 days /3 nights).
The staff were all efficient and pleasant. Olivia checked us in and as others have noted she is particularly good at her job. Book early for a good price. We would recommend this conveniently sited budget hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing Harrington Street and as far from Macquarie Street as possible are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica B, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Windylad

Many thanks for taking the time to review Travelodge Hobart.

I am also pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm also very pleased that you have acknowledged our team member in this way. I will make sure that our entire team will get to celebrate Olivia's success. I will personally share your comments with all departments.

We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the one that you have described above.

I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Hobart in the future.

Kind regards
Jessica Bergman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We choose this hotel because it offered parking but how wrong we were. There was no chance of any space for ourselves or several other guests in the underground car park as it was permanently full. They offered us the overflow one but cars had to be removed before eight in the morning else they were towed so no sleep in then. Why not say that parking is very limited?

We also thought the Wi-Fi policy was short-sighted. They permit just fifteen minutes of free use per day in reception and after that you pay, and yet within a short distance are a number of coffee shops offering free and unlimited use. Why drive your customers away?

We would not return

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Applegate138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica B, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Applegate138

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge.

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay and you are welcome to call me or email me to discuss in further detail.

Kind Regards
Jessica Bergman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a year ago and it had improved a bit with air conditioner in all rooms but ours couldn't go below 20. Degrees Celsius. Had to shut window at night as street noise of pedestrian crossing kept us awake. Shower is tiny and water stream is like needles on your skin. Bathroom is tiny. Unable to bend down in shower without accidentally turning it off with your buttocks. Bed was comfortable and when I asked for more towels they were promptly delivered. Lifts are still slow at times. Bed gets made each day. Great location to dock and restaurants.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Biggav1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica B, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Biggav1965

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to complete a review.

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay and you are welcome to call me or email me to discuss in further detail.

Kind Regards
Jessica Bergman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights, great location and good value for money. Check in was quick, rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast is well worth having, the pancake maker is a bit hit and miss. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 786Chris82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica B, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear 786Chris82

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Hobart.

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel to be in a grea tlocation and good value for money! I am also pleased that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable.

Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope you did enjoy the rest of the time you had in Hobart.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Hobart in the future.

Best regards
Jessica Bergman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed here for 2 of my 4 nights in Hobart. Adequate & Clean but nothing stunning. Their room rate was probably $40 a night more than it should be, after the first 2 nights I decided to not stay the additional 2 nights there and went and booked into the Hotel Grand Chancellor for little more than Travelodge was asking. I Don't regret that one bit!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Robbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica B, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Robbie P

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Hobart.

I am sorry that you did not find Travelodge Hobart to be value for money as this is something we pride ourselves on, being a great 3.5 star hotel in a great location.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Hobart in the future.

Kind regards
Jessica Bergman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hobart
Best Western Hobart
#24 of 47 in Hobart
837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Hobart
Ibis Styles Hobart
#18 of 47 in Hobart
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Hobart

Address: 167 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Leisure Inn Hobart Macquarie)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Hobart
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $92 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Hobart is centrally located – the charming dining and shopping spots of Battery Point, Salamanca Place, Constitution Dock and the waterfront are just a relaxed stroll away. The hotel is also a great base from which to explore attractions such as: the Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens, the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery and the ever intriguing Museum of Old and New Art (MONA). The 131 room hotel is newly refurbished and undoubtedly offers the best value hotel option for guests in Tasmania’s dynamic and exciting capital city. Its features include: 24 hour Reception, a breakfast lounge and parking. The guest rooms are complete with: LCD televisions, ensuite bathrooms, kitchenettes, heating and views overlooking the beautiful Mount Wellington or Hobart city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Hobart Macquarie Hotel Hobart
Leisure Hotel Hobart Macquarie
Macquarie Hotel Hobart
Hobart Macquarie
Travelodge Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing