We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel back in time with every detail thought of”
Review of Corinda's Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corinda's Cottages
Ranked #16 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Travel back in time with every detail thought of”
Reviewed February 17, 2011

An absolutely gorgeous cottage in a well planned and beautiful garden. It's part of a property that has the main house where the owners live and two other cottages on the other side of the house so you don't actually see much of them when you drive in - just the incredible garden. It's like your own private residence. Only one bedroom upstairs (bathroom / toilet downstairs) so not suited to families - just couples. The house was just built in the last few years from recycled materials but it looks a hundred years old. All modern amenities are hidden behind cupboards / doors (no dishwasher). Very comfortable and private. My husband and I stayed for a week and weren't in a hurry to leave plus we kept on seeing new little details every day. Only part that I would change is the narrow / steep staircase up to the bedroom. Carrying a big suitcase when we arrived / left or going to the toilet in the middle of the night was a bit of a challenge but I would still stay there anytime again and recommend it to my friends. The owners have certainly done their homework. Really loved it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrissieGirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    5
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
54
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
LEEDS, UNITED KINGDOM
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

its like coming home! you walk into the past. elegant & charming! stayed in coachmans for 3 days, beautifully restored. tv, all mod cons, superb gardens, excellent location. breakfast included, minibar good value - not a rip off!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNMCGLYNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windisch, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed four days in the Gardener's Cottage in January 2011. We have booked many cottages during our holiday; this one was clearly our favorite. Quiet, charming, very clean, complete with washing machine and fully equipped kitchen. We would recommend this to everyone traveling in the Hobart region.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tux1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2010

My partner and I stayed for several days in the Gardener's cottage and we were thrilled. We travel frequently and rarely have we stayed in a place we liked better than this lovely, peaceful cottage. Full of charm, character and clean as a whistle, you couldnt' ask for a better place to stay. The gardens are delightful, the hosts friendly and helpful. Perfection.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tycarreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2010

For the last three days or a 10 day holiday, we enjoyed the spacious, comfortable, rustic charm of the ‘Servants Quarters’ at Corinda’s Cottages. Everything was spotlessly clean with electric heating and a cheery wood stove. Every part of the accommodation was elegantly decorated in 18th century European cottage style yet all the mod cons were there just cleverly hidden out of sight. The fully equipped kitchen and generous daily breakfast provisions including eggs, breads, fruits and yogurts ensured extra snacks could be easily catered for. Lovely big bath to soak in and the best bed of the entire holiday. Set in well designed plantsmans garden and entered via a wonderful cobble stone courtyard this was a highlight of our holiday. The Glebe neighbourhood is conveniently located almost adjacent to the Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens and about a ten minute walk to the Hobart harbour. Our hosts were welcoming and always happy to share the story of this historic property and their fabulous restoration. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to visit Hobart and have a great cottage stay in a convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heriscapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in October as part of a week-long Tasmanian holiday. We booked the Gardener's Cottage and couldn't have done better- it is lovely. There is a lounge area, dining, kitchen and bathroom downstairs (great shower & spa bath) and spacious bedroom upstairs. Not recommended for the disabled or those lacking mobility as the stairs are very steep, but if you are after comfort and seclusion, this is a great choice. We walked to town several times (about 10 minutes- steep hills!) and used the log fire each night as it was a bit cool. The hosts live on-site in the beautiful main house but left us to our own devices. There is a phone you can use for free local calls and they said to call them if we needed anything, but we didn't as everything was supplied for us, including breakfast provisions replenished daily. A tranquil garden completes the picture. We would stay here again as we enjoyed every moment and did not want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Corinda's Cottages: wow, were we impressed! Warmly welcomed in to the warm quarters (which really made a difference in the cold of a Hobart May!) we immediately put off our plans for a walk around Hobart to explore the large and beautifully appointed rooms.

Considering the proximity to all the attractions in Hobart and it's surrounds (walking distance to everything), the generous breakfast provisions and luxuriousness of the rooms, PLUS free parking, Corinda's is incredible value. In addition the daily room service is unobtrusive with an attention to detail I have not come across in my travels for a long while. As well as this the accommodation is incredibly quiet.

I can only think of one criticism - and it's truly minor! - the bathroom is downstairs, whilst the bedroom is upstairs: a middle of the night trip can be a little creepy. Having said that, there appeared to be other cottages on the property which were on one level (we stayed in the Servant's quarters).

We can not recommend this guest house enough. Treat yourself at Corinda's, and you'll feel like you walked away with a bargain.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyChiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.6 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.6 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#24 of 48 in Hobart
171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.3 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinda's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinda's Cottages

Property: Corinda's Cottages
Address: 17 Glebe St | Glebe, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Corinda's Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched right next to Hobart`s CBD and boasting far reaching views over the harbour and Domain, this unique boutique hotel is ideally placed for visits to MONA, Salamanca Place and the museums, as well as for shops and restaurants in the bustling city centre. Each of our spacious, light-filled bedrooms is named after one of Alfred Crisp` 10 children. Each of them is different, furnished with original antiques and mellow textiles. From most, you can see for miles over our spectacular garden and Hobart`s famous harbour. Your breakfast on the verandah is one you won`t forget, either, with fresh home baked bread, eggs from our own farm, crisp organic bacon and jams made specially for us from the choicest Tasmanian fruits. Guests staying in Corinda`s Cottages or Corinda Contemporary are welcome to join us in the big house for breakfast and for other meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinda's Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinda's Cottages Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing