We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Time Warp”
Review of Corinda's Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corinda's Cottages
Ranked #18 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Gorgeous Time Warp”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We had a delightful stay in both the Coach House and the Servants' Quarters over 5 days. What a wonderful insight into life in the 19th century (but with all mod cons of today). The Guest Books are effusive over the attention to detail, and with good reason. The gardens are of exhibition quality, complete with ornate box hedges and topiary; not to be missed.

Room Tip: The Servants' Quarters is a bit roomier and includes a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    5
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
53
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We were so happy to find Corinda's Cottages a few minutes walk from downtown Hobart. Our cabin was super comfortable and cozy. The fire place added to the warmth and charm, and the little kitchen was quaint and functional. It was a pleasure to come "home" after a day of touring. The hosts and staff were very nice and accommodating. Don't hesitate to book this place. The bed was great too. I think we stayed in the Gardrner's Cabin.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Splints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Thank you to Wilmar and Mathew for providing myself, my daughter and my friend with such a wonderful experience in staying at Coachman's Cottage at Corinda's Cottage. Our six nights (second week of Feb 2012) was perfect, relaxing, and allowed our holiday in Tasmania to end with such comfort and beautiful memories of by gone year, we will treasure for ever. Wilmar & Mathew attention to detail in the cottages and garden is unbelievable. Hightly recommended. We will definitely be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We recently stayed at Corinda's cottages in Glebe (Hobart). We stayed in the Coach House which is accomodation for two. The bedroom and lounge with TV is on the top floor and kitchen/bathroom is on the ground floor.

The cottages are rennovated to a high standard and very comfortable. Breakfast (continental) was complimentary and was a nice touch. Although we didn't use it the kitchen seemed fully equipped.

The view from the first floor included glimpses of the harbour and the cottages are an easy walk (downhill) to Hobart (maybe not so easy back uphill!). The cottages are loacted in Glebe which has many interesting old houses and its quite close to the National Trust's Penititentiary Chapel site.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westernsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Kilda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Corinda would have to be one of the best self-contained B&B's in Australia. The Gardener's Cottage and surrounding gardens are like living in a picturesque postcard. The Servants Quarters reminds us of a French Apartment set above the cobbled driveway. Part of our entertaintment in the morning was watching the Fantail Doves coming and going from their grand bird house which is also first class. The housekeepers keep the place immaculate and nothing is too much trouble for Wilmar, Mathew or Staff. It is just 10 minutes away from the city centre, easy reach to the Airport Bus (uphill coming/downhill going) and a 20 minute stroll to the famous docks. The rooms are tastefully decorated to match the decor of their time. It is an experience and an absolute pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieziekedron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at the Servant's Quarters for 5 nights, a beautifully restored cottage a brisk uphill walk away from the CBD and Salamanca Square. Ground floor had kitchen and dining area with TV/DVD with a fire place, a bathroom with a massive bath tub and a separate shower, both very comfy! On the first floor (top floor) is a lounge room with a lovely sofa, another TV (both are flat screens) and a separate bedroom with the most comfy bed I've slept in for years!! All mod cons are there but very craftily and subtly tucked away behind antique panel doors and in little cupboards, very nifty! The hosts are very professional and very helpful and friendly, as are the two housekeeping ladies. We received fresh breakfast provisions every day (much more than we needed!) and when we returned to the cottage after a days' shopping, the fireplace was rebuild and ready to be lit again! And yes, even though it is January, we lit a fire as we were cold!! The cottage was also supplied with fresh flowers on both floors, a massive fruit basket and the kitchen was well stocked with condiments like olive oil, pepper and salt, peanut butter, soy sauce, all the things that you would normally miss in a self contained accommodation, very handy! I would gladly stay here again and did not really want to leave in the first place!! I would highly recommend staying here and I think it was worth every cent (and probably more!)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Lovely spot, a bit of a walk to the waterfront, but very friendly owners.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geofforius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.6 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.6 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.9 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#3 of 48 in Hobart
565 reviews
1.4 mi away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#25 of 48 in Hobart
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinda's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinda's Cottages

Property: Corinda's Cottages
Address: 17 Glebe St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Corinda's Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Corinda's Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinda's Cottages Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing