We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade from Quest Savoy to Quest Waterfront - Thank you Quest team”
Review of Quest Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Waterfront
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My partner and I had booked the Quest Savoy for our 3 night stay in Hobart, and after parking our car in the parking station some two blocks away, we were looking forward to unloading our luggage, having a cuppa and setting off to explore. When we opened the door to a lovely large room, I immediately noticed there were no windows, just a set of glass brick blocks, which were not transparent at all. Unfortunately, I cannot cope being in a confined space, especially with no windows, and I immediately called reception. The dear receptionist listened to my concerns, and said she would investigate alternatives. Within 5 minutes, she had called back, and advised there were no other rooms available in this complex, but if we were prepared to relocate to the Quest Waterfront, they had a room available there, with a window!!!!!! We accepted this alternative promptly, back to parking station, and drove a short distance to the Quest Waterfront, where we were greeted by the lovely Jacinta, who seemed to be rostered on for most of our 3 night stay. I could not stop smiling when I found we had a room with a window! Clean, perfect location along the waterfront, great cafes all close by, my nightmare had a happy ending. Many thanks to the Quest team, for caring enough to upgrade our accomodation, and Jacinta should receive a pay rise for her cheerful and helpful attitude at all times, receptionist, car parking valet, and parking metre queen. I would definitely return to the Waterfront, and from now on, I have learnt my lesson, and will always enquire whether the room has a window, before proceeding with the booking,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestWaterfront, Front Office Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hi Sue N

Thank you for such positive feedback. We are so happy that you found Quest Waterfront to be eveything that you needed. Customer service is important to us, as is working together as a team between the three properties that we have in Hobart. Our Jacinta certainly is mutli talented, and we certainly do appreciate her talents.

I do hope that you will keep us in mind and that we can accommodate you on your next visit to Hobart, dont forget to contact us directly as we have some amazing deals on at the minute

Kind regards
Peta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 426 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

This motel is in an awesome location, near the ferries, close to pubs, restaurants, Salamanca, the CBD. The pub across the road has live music, which was great but won't suit everyone. Staff were very nice and very helpful, although check-in was fairly slow.
I stayed with friends and we found the family room was clean, beds were comfy but it was a bit too "cosy" for 4. Fine for sleeping but not for staying around. No couch in room, just 2 armchairs. They gave us free wifi as the TV was playing up. The water temperature in the shower was either scalding or cold and it changed while it was running; very hard to wash your hair. They gave us 3 towels for 4 people, so we had to collect more. On the Sunday, the room was not made up, and we were told there is no service on a Sunday.
Reception is closed after hours, with access via the foyer with a key. A vagrant had snuck in and was asleep on a chair in the foyer late one night!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flippstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestWaterfront, General Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Dear Flippstar,

Thank you for feedback and apologies for the time it has taken to respond. We recently upgraded our online feedback platform which has caused several delays. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was and allowing us to rectify any concerns that you had.

Kind Regards,

Vanessa Lyons
Operations Manager – Quest Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just off the waterfront. Reasonability priced, clean room and friendly, helpful staff. Kitchen with stove, oven, micro and fridge. Walking distance to to the CBD and many restaurants and pubs. Close to Salamanca and its old buildings. Walk through Battery point to look at restored period housing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furtherest from the pub across the street from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank extinguished
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestWaterfront, General Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Dear Extinguished,

Thank you for feedback and apologies for the time it has taken to respond. We recently upgraded our online feedback platform which has caused several delays. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was and allowing us to rectify any concerns that you had.

Kind Regards,

Vanessa Lyons
Operations Manager – Quest Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Across the street from a noisy pub, carpark facilities extremely poor and the rooms... Felt like I was in a gaol with the small windows, and rooms although well equipped are extremely dated.
Great location in reference to Salamanca but all other items put this in the do not return category.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tourbycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestWaterfront, General Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Dear Tourbycar,

Thank you for feedback and apologies for the time it has taken to respond. We recently upgraded our online feedback platform which has caused several delays. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was and allowing us to rectify any concerns that you had.

Kind Regards,

Vanessa Lyons
Operations Manager – Quest Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Located right near the waterfront this hotel is in a great spot in which to base yourself. Easy walking distance to some great restaurants and bars. The rooms were functional and clean, the bed was comfortable.

It was in need of a bit of a facelift (gotta love an avocado green bathroom) but that wasn't a big issue. I just found the room small and quite sterile, and with a view of a cement wall and bins out the pokey window, it was a bit depressing. It was like staying in a clean tidy functional 3 star budget motel, enhanced by a great location. It didnt give me a 4 star feel.

The pub next door was packed and the noise travelled into the rooms, which was a bit disturbing, but it seemed to quieten down after midnight (I was staying midweek).

So not sure if I'd stay here again, I probably would, I'd try some other places first, and wouldn't stay here for more than 1 or 2 nights, but the location and general cleanliness would probably draw me back in.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crstdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestWaterfront, General Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Dear Ahcrd,

Thank you for feedback and apologies for the time it has taken to respond. We recently upgraded our online feedback platform which has caused several delays. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was and allowing us to rectify any concerns that you had.

Kind Regards,

Vanessa Lyons
Operations Manager – Quest Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are large but with rather dated decor.However the kitchen area was well equiped and beds were very comfortable.Overall everything was well maintained.
We were on the third floor overlooking the pub and did not hear a sound The pub was in full swing on Friday and Saturday night.
We booked well in advance and requested on site parking. There are only 6 bays under the building and for $6 a day you have a numbered bay and key to the roller door.So book early and request parking.
There is a great Patiserie on Despard St about 30 meters away and we visited it many times!dhh

Overall great value and a pleasurable experience, with Staff that were always keen to help.

Will visit again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestWaterfront, General Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Dear ingk2,

Thank you for feedback and apologies for the time it has taken to respond. We recently upgraded our online feedback platform which has caused several delays. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was and allowing us to rectify any concerns that you had.

Kind Regards,

Vanessa Lyons
Operations Manager – Quest Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This place was a find for my friend and me. It is superbly located a very short stroll from the ferry terminal for MONA, the Docks, Salamanca and downtown Hobart. There are plenty of opportunities for interesting walks and most of the things a traveller is interested in experiencing are in easy reach from here in fact the location is better than many of the much higher priced places. We had three nights there which included two weekend nights which are more expensive than weekdays but the convenience was worth it.

If an authority at Quest is reading this the room could be improvevd by the provision of a pair of kitchen scissors a very inexpensive convenience. There was no coffee plunger although I think if I had asked it may have been suppled. There were fantastic coffee outlets so close that we didn't bother. Our main interest was MONA and the ferry terminal was more or less across the road! At the most a block away. We were very close to Salamanca and an easy walk to town, the post office, the Maritime Museum etc.

There is an elevator with a mind of it's own which is very obliging once you learn its habits. The staff were terrific and we had no trouble when we asked to store luggage on our last day. They have a locked luggage room and are delighted for guests to use it.

there is no restaurant but who needs it with a location like this?

There is no swimming pool. I wasted suitcase space with a swimsuit! Darn!!!

Room Tip: We had a Studio Apartment on the first floor overlooking the street and we were there on a Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestWaterfront, General Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Dear Judith,

Thank you for feedback and apologies for the time it has taken to respond. We recently upgraded our online feedback platform which has caused several delays. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was and allowing us to rectify any concerns that you had.

Kind Regards,

Vanessa Lyons
Operations Manager – Quest Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 47 in Hobart
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Hobart
Ibis Styles Hobart
#18 of 47 in Hobart
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Waterfront

Address: 3 Brooke St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $129 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Waterfront Serviced Apartments Hobart is located in the very heart of Hobart's Historic Sullivan's Cove, just minutes walk from Hobart's famous Salamanca Place and Hobart's CBD. The property offers a range of Hotel Rooms, Studio Apartments and Family Suites and the service that is expected of a four star hotel. We are just about the closest you can get to experience all the delights of Hobart’s Summer Festival! Including the Taste of Tasmania, New Years Celebrations and Festivities, the annual Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race, The Wooden Boat Festival, and of course Salamanca Markets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quest Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Waterfront Hobart, Tasmania
Quest Waterfront Hotel Hobart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing