We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agreed - this property is overpriced”
Review of Quest Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Waterfront
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We would like to thank Nick at reception for his friendly service. However, I had requested and confirmed a room away from the pub across the road as I had read reviews about the noise. We were given a room directly across from the pub and the noise was unbearable, our 5 year old did not get to sleep until after midnight. Agreed, great location, rooms in desperate need of renovations, also agreed this property is overpriced. The shower in room 18 needs a good scrub. Warning you will need a degree in precision parking to get into the parking bays under the building, which suprisingly came at additional cost and the wifi did not work until the following day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta R, Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for the feedback in regards to your stay. We value all feedback and we have taken into account your concerns and we will be looking into them further. We are in the process of working with the surrounding establishments to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum and we have triple glazed the windows to ensure there is very little impact on our guests at night. We will always do our best to accommodate requests however sometimes this is not possible as was the case this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
There are newer reviews for Quest Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 386 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

Room 23 for $156
Its not an apartment it's a hotel room with a microwave
There is a drain somewhere in the walls that drips all night
An old loud creaky lift that wakes you every time folk arrive or leave.
The house phone didnt work, there was a noisy exhaust fan running in the room with no apparent switch so I rang on mobile to see how to turn it off and it took about 5 mins to wind down thankfully.
Ahhhhhhh it's not on the waterfront although it is only a block away and opposite a pub that had the cops attend around 7.00pm to eject noisy patrons.

I'm on a roll so also the towels are small the decor is dated there are worn and damaged fittings in the bathroom the shower is almost impossible to adjust and the TV belongs in a run down public hospital ward.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cottoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta R, Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for the feedback in regards to your stay. We apologise that you did not enjoy your stay. Please note that the room that you booked is a Hotel room it is not an apartment and we do not advertise it as such. We are very sorry that you may have been misled in som eway.

Our location is promoted as being one block back from the waterfront and whilst it does not have water views the location is a great advantage for our property.

We have taken on board your feedback in regards to the shower and have installed new fittings and we have recently engaged a new linen company who provides a far superior quality of linen.

We would like to invite you to return to Quest on a complimentary stay to ensure that you have a far more enjoyable experience.

Please contact us directly to organise this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very nice stay. Thanks to Rochelle @ reception for all her friendly assistance. Very close to all attractions for showing USA visitors around. Will recommend to all! Cheers Toni Davis

Room Tip: Family apartment worked well. However a bit noisey with baby next to hotel across the road. But luck...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toni d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestWaterfront, General Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Dear Guest,


Thank you for feedback and apologies for the time it has taken to respond. We recently upgraded our online feedback platform which has caused several delays. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was and allowing us to rectify any concerns that you had.

Kind Regards,

Vanessa Lyons
Operations Manager – Quest Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Firstly the positives:
- Great location: right around the corner from Salamanca, across the road from the wharf
- Good service and attitude from the staff

Unfortunately, I think the Waterfront has some things running against it:
- Rooms seem to be in desperate need of renovation
- There are pillars in the centre of the room (we've stayed twice, and have experienced the same thing) - this means that there is less space to move around and use
- We had a one bedroom apartment, and the bedroom was terribly small, and seemed like a bit of an afterthought.
- Based on what you get, this is terribly overpriced - on a par with central Sydney or Melbourne (of a much higher standard)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestWaterfront, General Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Dear Paulhb,

Thank you for feedback and apologies for the time it has taken to respond. We recently upgraded our online feedback platform which has caused several delays. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was and allowing us to rectify any concerns that you had.

Kind Regards,

Vanessa Lyons
Operations Manager – Quest Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

On a recent trip to Tasmania, our friends booked a studio apartment for four people at the Quest Waterfront. By the time we had parked the car my friend had taken one look at our accommodation and was back at reception to enquire if perhaps we'd been given the wrong room. Unlike the description and photo, our overnight accommodation was an ugly, depressing, tired, cramped room with mismatched furniture, an old decrepit TV jammed in a ridiculously small living area, a hideous bathroom, and equally hideous kitchenette. While there was an additional small bedroom containing two single beds, our queen bed was part of the open living area and a huge floor to ceiling column took up even more space. There was a pub (with loud pumping music) across the road, and alas, our room was just above where taxis picked up loud pub patrons in a back lane up until around 4am in the morning. The "triple glazed windows" did nothing to alleviate the noise. The staff could offer us nothing else except perhaps a room at a Quest right across town. As there were four of us and we'd planned to visit Salamanca Markets and dine at Constitution Dock, we decided to suck it up and stay where we were....albeit under sufferance.

On the plus side, staff were friendly and pleasant, parking was cheap, and the location was fantastic - close to Salamanca Markets and Constitution Dock. I, however, would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the pub as possible, and beware the taxis rank in the lane on the wester...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annabellequinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta R, Front Office Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear Annabellequinn,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback for us, we really do appreciate it. We are regretful and disapointed that on this occassion we have not met your standards.

I am sorry that you were disturbed during the night from the noise from the neighbouring buildings and the street/car noise. We have been working very closely with our "neighbours" to ensure that noise levels are kept to a standard that suits all parties.

We are currently in the process of refirbishing all of our rooms, however, as I am sure you can appreciate it is impossible to have all rooms refirbished at once.

Also a great tip, it is possible, and we do accommodate where possible, rooms requested away from "the pub"

Once again thank you for your feedback
Kind regards
Peta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

When booking this hotel was unsure what we were getting looking at previous reviews we were happily surprised when we arrived at the spacious room they had given us ,we had a sink in our kitchenette,the staff were always helpful ,our room was opposite the hotel and we were there on the Friday and Saturday night when the music was very loud outside but once in our room we found it didn't annoy us and we were able to sleep o.k.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcivk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestWaterfront, General Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Dear Kcivk,

Thank you for feedback and apologies for the time it has taken to respond. We recently upgraded our online feedback platform which has caused several delays. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was and allowing us to rectify any concerns that you had.

Kind Regards,

Vanessa Lyons
Operations Manager – Quest Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Although not luxurious, the Quest Waterfront is simple but perfectly livable for a short stay, below are some of my impressions:
Pros:
Room was perfectly clean.
Staff at the front desk is really nice and helpful, specially the women.
Since I was on business they gave me complimentary Wi-Fi.
Location is great, close to the city center and Salamanca, but not noisy.
Cons:
The absence of a sink in the kitchenette is annoying, it forces you to use the bathroom sink (small and inconvenient) to clean or fill.
Closet is small and hanging space inconvenient.
The waterfront is actually two blocks away and there is really no view from the (small) windows.
Lock on the door looked unsafe (maybe there are no break-ins in Hobart)

Since I got an internet promotional rate I would say my stay was very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestWaterfront, General Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Dear Diego_W,

Thank you for feedback and apologies for the time it has taken to respond. We recently upgraded our online feedback platform which has caused several delays. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was and allowing us to rectify any concerns that you had.

Kind Regards,

Vanessa Lyons
Operations Manager – Quest Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 48 in Hobart
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Waterfront

Address: 3 Brooke St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $95 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Waterfront Serviced Apartments Hobart is located in the very heart of Hobart's Historic Sullivan's Cove, just minutes walk from Hobart's famous Salamanca Place and Hobart's CBD. The property offers a range of Hotel Rooms, Studio Apartments and Family Suites and the service that is expected of a four star hotel. We are just about the closest you can get to experience all the delights of Hobart’s Summer Festival! Including the Taste of Tasmania, New Years Celebrations and Festivities, the annual Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race, The Wooden Boat Festival, and of course Salamanca Markets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Waterfront Hobart, Tasmania
Quest Waterfront Hotel Hobart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing