We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Salamanca Terraces
Nearby Hotels
Mayfair Plaza Motel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Macquarie Manor(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$88
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Somerset on the Pier Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$145
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lenna of Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$219
$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$143
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$187
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wrest Point(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$123
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salamanca Inn(Hobart)
$154
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fountainside Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$112
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveler rating
65
90
44
14
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
90
44
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslenna hotelmattress topperbedroom townhousegreat locationbattery pointwasher dryershort walkfree parkingdining tablechecking insmall kitchenettefull kitchenself containedconstitution dockserviced dailyoff street parkingrestaurants and bars
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 218 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Only few minutes away from salamanca markets great place to stay great view of the harbor you can see if there is some cruize ship dock on the harbor very close to the shop great rooms really enjoyable place to stay definitely we will back and stay longer this time

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank MMM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Hi MMM D,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be back for a longer visit next time. Our self-contained apartments are perfect for longer stays and the location is very central to all there is to see and do in the city.

We look forward to hearing from you next time you visit Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The best place in Hobart.
Central to everything.
What a great place to stay if you want to dine ,walk ,shop and be on the harbour.
The apartments are well set up quite and spacious.
Definitely recommend this place always.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony always works for me when staying more than 2 nights
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi Jenny L,

Thanks for your review, it’s certainly great to be described as the best place in Hobart!

Our location really is perfect so I am glad to hear you were able to make the most of all Salamanca and the waterfront area has to offer. We are always more than happy to make recommendations on what to see and do in the area and there is always something of interest going on.

I am also happy to hear that you found the room to be everything you needed. Our self-contained apartments are very popular and are great for people who want a little more space or the freedom to cook their own meals.

Again thanks for the review and the recommendation. We hope to see you next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had a 2 storey very spacious 2 bedroom apartment at the end of the building. It was clean, comfortable and had absolutely everything you need and more. The location is perfect, within close walking distance to lots of restaurants, the town centre and the ferry for MONA (and the markets though they weren't on when we stayed). I would highly recommend this as a base for your visit to Hobart. The only downside was the early morning arrival of the rubbish truck each day but I guess that's what you get for being so central and it didn't detract from our stay. Check in was fine because our taxi dropped us at Lena so we only had the walk down the hill with our bags and not up. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. We ate dinner at Alexanders and thoroughly enjoyed that too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sujatojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi AlandJane,

Thanks for your review.

Our Two Bedroom Townhouses are a great option for families or friends travelling together, they really are huge and I am happy to hear you found the room to be comfortable with everything you needed. As they are self-contained, with full kitchen and laundry facilities, we find that they are also a good choice for people who may need to stay for a longer period of time.

Thank you for your feedback on our Reception team, we always try to exceed in our levels of customer service so it is great to be able to pass on positive comments.

I am also happy to hear you enjoyed your meal in Alexanders. We have had lots of great feedback on our Summer menu and are looking at launching our new Autumn menu this month which is pretty exciting.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Hobart, hopefully you will get to see Salamanca Market then as it really is worth a look! Thanks again for the review and for the recommendation.

Kind regards,

Florence S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

What we didn’t appreciate about Salamanca Terraces was that we were given a phone number that never answered and there was no reception – you had to slog up a steep hill, and it was a really hot day. Then, as soon as we walked into the studio apartment we were horrified, as we are used to a much better standard of accommodation. It was cramped, airless, hot, and smelly.

We immediately turned around and went straight back to reception (up the hot hill) to upgrade, but were told there was nothing available at all.

From what I can gather, it’s the studios that are the problem. It sounds like the one and two bedroom apartments are much, much nicer. THAT would be my room tip on Trip Advisor – don’t stay in the studios. If there had been any mention of the studio apartments in any of the promotional literature, I feel I may have been better prepared, but EVERYTHING only talks about the one and two bedders, so THAT was the standard I was expecting.

When we got home we told the travel agent who booked us in how disappointed we were with the room, and the Terraces sent back a reply that was really defensive and argumentative, which surprised me. I can't see how that helps the situation. The person also said about the smelly room: “There have been no other comments of this nature so we are really unable to offer any further explanation on this particular matter”. Well, they have replied to other people on Trip Advisor so they obviously read the reviews, and we are NOT the only reviewers who have reported the room as being smelly.

Room Tip: Avoid the studios.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHeath123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, General Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear EHeath123,

Thanks very much for your review and our apologies that you didn’t enjoy your stay at Salamanca Terraces.

Our apologies that the contact number you received was incorrect. Your booking passed through a number of different agents and we will try and trace it back to ensure everyone is passing on the correct contact details. Salamanca Terraces reception is located at Lenna of Hobart across the road and this information should have been on your paperwork with regards to check in details. Again, as your booking was made through a number of agents we will also try and trace this back.

We are sorry that the studio apartment you booked was not as expected. The studio apartments are certainly smaller than our one and two bedroom apartments and are priced accordingly. We do have full details and pictures of all our apartments on our websites that guests are most welcome to refer to in order to make the most informed decision. With regards to the apartment being hot and airless we do apologise for this. Hobart has been experiencing some very hot summer days, however, we are happy to advise that as of next week all our apartments at Salamanca Terraces will be air-conditioned and have complimentary WIFI available.

We are sorry that you found the apartment smelly. Had we been aware at the time we would have done everything possible to rectify this. This is certainly not feedback we receive regularly and the last comment about this on Tripadvisor was 12 months ago. On being advised of this we have inspected the room and are unable to locate any smell. We are unsure what may have caused this at the time and will keep monitoring this. Rest assured our housekeeping teams main aim is to present clean and fresh rooms for all our guests. Our apologies if you found the initial response defensive and argumentative. This response was not from the hotel directly and was certainly not intended to offend. The hotel and its agents all value and appreciate the feedback we receive as it assists us to address issues and continually improve our operations.

Again we thank you for your feedback and our apologies for the issues encountered.

Yours sincerely
Justin Geddes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

At the end of Salamanca this place has a great location. Just minutes stroll to the wharf and you will have already passed the boutiques, galleries, restaurants and pubs that line Salamanca.
The rooms are large and spacious and kept clean and tidy. It could be a little noisy in the early hours - hearing bottle bins being emptied and the street cleaner whirring by - maybe double glazing would help reduce this problem.

The apartments are run by the same establishment that runs the Lena Hotel across the road. This gives access to the Victorian mansion and it's bar and Fine Dining Restaurant - Alexander's.

I would recommend this place to friends and family.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Scott E,

Thanks for the review and recommendation.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our apartments are in an excellent location on the corner of Salamanca Place so I am glad you made the most of this! Unfortunately this location does sometimes mean there is a bit of noise created from the restaurants nearby and I am sorry to hear that you found this to be the case on your stay.

Thanks for your positive comments regarding our rooms; I agree that it can be nice to have a bit more space sometimes. It is also great to have access to the facilities at Lenna, which is just across the road.

Hopefully we will see you next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews