We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, well appointed rooms”
Review of Salamanca Terraces

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salamanca Terraces
Ranked #12 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We have stayed at most places around Salamanca Place and I can say that the terraces have so far been the best place we've stayed. Neat, tidy and comfortable rooms at the quieter end of Salamanca
The location is great for several reasons: the awesome food nearby and the fact that even on a Saturday it is quiet in the rooms when you finally need to sleep (unlike some of the accommodation nearby that is nearer to the pubs)
The fact there is off street parking that is accessable even on market day is worth it alone!
Check in at the Lemma over the road was quick and friendly and they kindly booked us a taxi when we requested it.

Will stay again, no hesitation

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig_tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 214 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2011

Excellent size one bedroom apartment with large lounge, large bedroom and everything you need. Our room service ladies couldn't do enough for us, always making sure all was well and attending to anything we needed. Our apartment backed to the rear of the complex which was fine for us. Very comfortable at all times. Location excellent for enjoying all the restaurants and life of Salamanca Place and an easy walk to Constitution Dock and wharf area if you are sailing or attending The Taste of Tassie late Dec/Jan.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandamartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

This property is in a great location, you can walk to pretty much everywhere down town and around the Dock's. Clean and tidy, with friendly staff. Great reastaurants close by. I would be happy to stay there on my next visit.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
Thank PacificTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

we stayed here in the family apartment for 3 nights, and it was great! Very comfortable, and very accomodating. The pictures on their website are exactly what you get. full kitchen equiped with everything you could need, dining table, huge 3 seaters lounges, tub chairs - there were more seats and beds than we had people! TV, DVD, Stereo, electric blankets on all beds, huge family bathroom, laundry with a washer/dryer and complimentary washing powder! Dishwasher with tablets, and fresh milk every day! And on the doorstep of Salamanca with it's restaurants, shopping and the Saturday morning market. A little noisy overnight as the restuarnats and clubs have their bins emptied, but not a huge deal. Would def, recommend and will be staying there again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The4Birds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Its certainly in a great location, with great eateries close by , but thats about it ,the room was clean but very cramped , not even a shelf to put our cases on , we had to leave them on the floor and negotiate our way around them . We had a room with cooking facilities but that was only a microwave and an electric frypan, and no bench space to prepare meals and no range hood either.
.It shold be rated as a three star establishment.

Steve . Victoiria

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

This establishment may have warranted a 4.5 star rating 30 years ago when it was furnished, however in 2010, give it a 3! It's location is convenient if you want to spend time at the Salamanca market, and the very good eateries, however, it would have been cheaper to have stay in an outer suberb and get taxis backwards and forwards!

It has no views, and the street noises are loud enough to keep even the heaviest sleeper awake all night. The ckeck-in over the road (up a very steep hill), is inconvenient, and there is no help to cart luggage, or even a suggestion of it! To make matters worse, the staff seem to feel that we should feel priveleged to stay with them. No thanks. Look at staying in the Henry Jones hotel on the other side of the wharf. Modern, chique, convenient, and similarly priced.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosemaryVenusBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Nothing to complain about here. We stayed 2 nights in a studio apartment, which had everything we needed. Being positioned at the end of Salamanca Place, there were plenty of options for dining out and all within walking distance. In fact if you are reasonably fit the whole city is within walking distance. Cant wait to make a return visit to Salamanca Terraces.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turramurrafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 47 in Hobart
641 reviews
0 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 47 in Hobart
580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Terraces

Address: 93 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $135 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salamanca Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Terraces offers modern self contained and fully serviced accommodation located right on Salamanca Place in the picturesque and historic Sullivan’s Cove waterfront precinct of Hobart.The stylish contemporary apartments include Studios, 1 Bedroom apartments, 2 Bedroom Townhouses, 2 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom apartments and 1 Bedroom Penthouse apartments. The 1 Bedroom, 2 Bedroom and Penthouse Apartments have fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities. The Penthouse Apartments and 2 Bedroom Townhouses also have balconies.Rooms are serviced daily and we cater for both overnight and long term stays. Foxtel TV and High speed Broadband Internet is available in all rooms. Salamanca Terraces also offer FREE off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salamanca Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Terraces Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing