We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced private rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hobart Central YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hobart Central YHA
Ranked #38 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Overpriced private rooms”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Rooms are clean but very basic. Location is great but lots of noise from Argyle St - traffic and punters talking at night. Also terrible loud karaoke next door late into Friday night. Pay a nit more and stay somewhere *much* nicer!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    34
    42
    17
    2
See reviews for
4
18
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE ON FRIDAY OR SATURDAY NIGHTS UNLESS YOU WANT NO SLEEP. They don't tell you there is a bar underneath and that they do karaoke until 2am and there NO soundproofing. You can hear everything. Even when all the windows are closed, you can hear the beep beep beep of the predestrian crossing. It drives you insane. The rooms are a decent size with room for luggage and if you are lucky enough to be on the 1st floor, you get towels provided. However, there are no elevators so you have to carry your luggage up rather steep stairs. And the kitchen (located at the bottom) is ridiculously small for a hostel of the size. If people are sitting at the table, you can hardly move around to do any cooking. And if there is a noisy group (ie a tour bus or school group) on the floor yelling and screaming all night, make sure your whole dorm complains about them because they don't believe you if only one person complains. It was only when my dorm members confirmed my story that they took it seriously. They even lied and said there had been no other complaints when another member of staff told me he had to tell them to stop running around and jumping down the stairs. Definitely would not stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0lidaymaker645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed in a double room for two nights. Clean room. Fresh towels each day. Excellent shower / bathroom facilities (great shower pressure & lots of hot water). Well equipped kitchen. Helpful & friendly staff. Downside - above a bar, so very loud music audible from below if staying on a Friday or Saturday night. Overall decent budget accommodation - I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellerA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I'm not much of a backpacker, but stayed here and thought it was fantastic! The only downfall was the rude girl at the front desk. I stayed in a 6 bed room and there was space for everyone and their bags - the bathrooms were close an lots of them, never having to wait for a shower. A bigger kitchen would be nice as 2 people cooking at once was enough let alone more - overall lovely place

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LozPez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spacious dorms, lovely clean bathrooms, and most of the staff seemed nice and friendly. Really good location, 2 minutes to the waterfront, 2 minutes to the supermarket. Unfortunately there was only one small lounge area, and the kitchen was TINY for the number of people trying to use it.

Room Tip: Some rooms are over the bar, which can get noisy with the karaoke at weekends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightyearsfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Close to the waterfront,10 min walk to Salamanca. Woollies and shopping centre 5 mins away. Stayed in a private ensuite room was very big and comfortable. Would stay again great area and restaurants are very close

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Montgomery's is well located, it is clean and has friendly and capable staff, it has large 'single person' bathrooms which are more like a hotel than a hostel and yet it still falls short. The kitchen is amongst the smallest have seen, I was actually slightly shocked at just how small. It has no lift, only a narrow and steep staircase, which as previously pointed out, I feel to be potentially dangerous carrying a large backpack. Though the bathrooms are great, there aren't enough of them, and in the morning it can be a struggle to find a free one.

Despite looking great, for me there are far too many practical things that let down this hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcgregor7419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#20 of 46 in Hobart
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#10 of 46 in Hobart
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#18 of 46 in Hobart
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel
0.5 mi away
The Pickled Frog
The Pickled Frog
#9 of 52 in Hobart
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobart Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobart Central YHA

Property: Hobart Central YHA
Address: 9 Argyle St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hobart Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This very centrally located YHA hostel will help you enjoy the sights of Hobart. Walk to the harbour and Salamanca. Choice of multi-share and private rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Hobart Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Central YHA Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing