We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never,never,never”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayfair Plaza Motel
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Were not fancy at all,but this was below standard. Yes big and spacious,clean and friendly staff. Doesn't make up for cold shower, no Windows. Like others said a plaza turned into rooms. Entry through concrete jungle car park ( underground) booked 2 nights will persevere with 1. I honestly doubt these other reviews.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Newman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 139 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

The layout of this place is quite odd, with this weird atrium you have to walk through that reminds me of an office building lobby. But our room was massive and met all our needs. The location was also perfect for us to visit with friends who live in Sandy Bay. Only complaint is that noise echoes all through the atrium, so you can hear everyone coming and going. Luckily this didn't disturb my sleep. Be aware that reception is not open 24 hours, so be sure they are aware if you are arriving late.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I loved the friendly staff, great location and huge, comfortable room. Very convenient with supermarket,, bottle shop, variety shops and many restaurants within a few steps and still walking distance to Salamanca, yacht club and casino. The room was massive, very clean and quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie8891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were a group of 16 friends riding motorbikes around Tassie. We stayed here for 3 nights and we found this accommodation excellent for our needs. Staff were amazingly friendly and agreed for our bikes to be locked up inside the motel at night. Liz the Receptionist was extremely accommodating and helpful. Great location with lots of shops, a Coles and Restaurants around.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suebrock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were more than pleased with this motel as everything was a your door step .
Lots of places to eat with a great variety of restaurants .
The motel room was very clean and the biggest we have ever stayed in . Plenty of everything for the rooms tea, coffee, toiletries ect;
Staff were very helpful & friendly .
It was a shame that the huge sail over walk in area was mouldy and in need of replacing, it gave the impression of being a very gloomy play to stay.
Good value for money .!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 51Denise51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The strangest place we've ever stayed, a converted shopping / office block. Rooms basic but clean, nice bathrooms, receptionist very helpful, good location. We stayed over a public holiday so there was no room service! But we were provided with extra towels, tea, coffee and milk. Best of all free and fast wifi, unusual for Australian hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel is reasonably priced. It is within 15 minutes walking of Hobart city. Great location with plenty of restaurants nearby.
The only minor drawback was that the beds were too hard for us. Plenty of free parking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viper747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
2.6 mi away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#18 of 47 in Hobart
207 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
1.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hobart
Best Western Hobart
#22 of 47 in Hobart
861 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
4.9 mi away
Best Western Balmoral Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Plaza Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Plaza Motel

Address: 236 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hobart
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $101 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Plaza Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayfair Plaza Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Plaza Hotel
Mayfair Plaza Motel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing