We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, well located B&B with helpful hosts.”
Review of The Elms of Hobart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elms of Hobart
Ranked #11 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were well pleased with our recent (3 night) stay at The Elms. Just out of central Hobart (~1.5km) and walking distance to a nice assortment of North Hobart cafes, restaurants and useful services. A great, less touristy area well suited to people who want to have the use of a hire car and not have the hassle of finding somewhere convenient to park.

As others have said, the property is a 'work in progress' - but the house and gardens look well cared for. The interior is filled with an eclectic mix of the old, not so old... and slightly jarring (compact fluorescent bulbs look pretty odd in a number of the light fittings) - but it is all properly maintained.

Our room (Maple) was of a modest but quite adequate size (in keeping with our low tariff) and was nice and quiet. SImple, clean ensuite with good hot water volume and pressure

Our hosts couldn't have been better. Enthusiastic and knowledgeable, Tina and Raymond let us know all we needed before turning us loose on an unsuspecting local populace.

A simple continental breakfast is included. Coffee drinkers may find that they'll need to make a pit-stop after breakfast if caffeine levels are to be adequately maintained!

We would be happy to return to The Elms in the future.

Room Tip: The Maple room was modest in size, looked out onto the garden and was pleasantly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LostInCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 96 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Elms for three nights in March, 2012. The rooms are very comfortable, as are the ensuites. The rooms, the grounds (although they are a work in progress) and the whole house exude charm. Hosts Tina and Raymond are wonderful, and do their best to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The location is fabulous, with terrific views, and many dining options a short walk away in North Hobart. Tina and Raymond serve a quality breakfast with great coffee, a range of teas, a good selection of breads, cereals, yoghurt and fruit, plus boiled eggs for those so inclined. My wife and I would happily return, it's simply fabulous accommodation, and the best value I could find in Hobart when planning our trip. We caught a glimpse of a downstairs room with a beautiful bay window and it was glorious. The only (slight) downside to The Elms is that there is a short but steepish walk from the (spacious) carpark to the front door, and of course stairs if you have an upstairs room. This was mildly challenging to my wife, but no real problem for an averagely fit near 60-yo (who carried nearly all the the luggage:)). Hobart is very hilly, and I'm sure there are steep bits and stairs involved at many other accommodation places.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw looked very nice. For meals in North Hobart, if you're up to it, walk. Parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I agree with the previous review. I too was surprised to read a recent negative assessment on The Elms. I found The Elms to be centrally located and close to most of Hobart's attractions. The building itself is a delightful example of an early 20th century mansion and to me, it was like stepping back into another era. My room was spacious, clean and quiet and I had a good nights sleep. It was only about a 20 minutes walk into the city to attend my meeting and a few dollars taxi fare back. Raymond and Tina were great. They went out of their way to make my stay a pleasant one. The author of the review headed "Old and tired", could very well be describing him or herself..The writer obviously had an axe to grind by writing something so spiteful and completely untrue.

Room Tip: My room faced sort of south I guess. There was a little bit of traffic noise earlier, but muted, No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rocksrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed at the Elms in Hobart recently - I found the experience magical. The hosts ,TIna and Raymond were so helpful and gracious, and the room was emaculate and very cosy.I was surprised to read a critical review of the 'Premier room' as i stayed in that suite, and found it to be lovely. I found the Elms with its beautiful rooms and and gardens a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordonBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed at the Elms during our stay in Hobart - 2 nights on arrival and another 3 nights after touring the Huon Valley. Tina and Raymond were perfect hosts, and we found the Elms Suite comfortable and very spacious. The house exudes period charm while retaining all the comforts of the present century. Breakfast was a special joy - the food was well prepared and thoughtfully presented with special requests catered for, and the tables positioned for the best views and not crowded together. We have stayed previously near the harbour, but found the North Hobart location most enjoyable, with dining options and the delightful cinema a short stroll away. We felt the walk to downtown Hobart (which we did every day) enhanced our appreciation of a great city. We can recommend this stylish B&B wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: The Elms Suite was very spacious, which is very welcome if like us you enjoy relaxing in the privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We paid $300 for a very old tired room complete with gold cherubs and dirty blue couch. The bed was very hard and in need of replacing. It was marketed as the "Premier Room", what a joke.
Taking a step back in time to an all new level!
Bring your own bed pan to complete the weekend ambiance.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wellseasonedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEElmsofHobart, Owner at The Elms of Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

We are hospitable and obliging to all our guests and personally welcome
every guest on their arrival at “The Elms”. We had a full house on this
date, and other guests staying with us at this time wrote positive reviews
in our guest book: “A lovely stay in a beautiful home and friendly helpful
hosts.” “ What more could we ask for?” “Thanks for a wonderful stay!”



The guest, who gave the above rating, booked on a last minute online website
on the morning of the check in date. The online rate is $249.00 and they
paid $249.00 for the room and breakfast through that third party website.
They did not pay $300.00 as they claimed in this review.



The guests kindly indicated on their booking confirmation that they would
arrive at our latest check in time which is 6pm. At around 5pm, the guests
rang and advised us that they would not arrive until 7:30pm. So we thanked
them for letting us know and waited for their arrival. At 8pm, the guests
had still not arrived but they kindly sent a message to my mobile phone—“Not
getting there until 9 now. Please let me know how to get in etcetera.” We
replied immediately that we would wait up for them. At 9:05pm, the guests
arrived, we personally greeted them at front door and showed them the lounge
& breakfast area, advising them of breakfast time. Our breakfast is
available from 8am to 9:30 am, and check out is at 10am, The guests told us
they might sleep through the breakfast time and that they wished to request
a late check out. It was a difficult situation because we had a full house
on the Saturday night and the next morning we would be very busy servicing
all of the rooms. We explained this to them and asked for their
co-operation in meeting our 10am check out time. The guests did not make any
comment or response at that time and when they were shown their room, the
Premier suite, their first impressions were very positive, indeed the
guest said that the room was “beautiful”.



Next morning, we did not see the guests during breakfast. All of the other
guests checked out before 10am. So we all waited: the owners at the front
desk: the Sunday cleaner; and the men from our linen service. At 10:15am,
we rang the room to remind them that check out time was 10am. At 10:40am,
they came down to check out. We greeted them cordially and farewelled them
at the front door. Please note that although their late check out,
especially on a Sunday morning, meant we had to pay additional staff wages,
we still greeted them with a smile and gave them a friendly farewell.



Our most beautiful Premier suite, “The Elms suite”, is the original master
suite, full of old world charm with views of the city, the River Derwent and
our English gardens. It has an antique but comfortable Half Tester Bed and
Genuine Claw Bath. It is spacious and carefully restored with lots of
original character.



In our defence, which is evident in the comments left in our visitors book
as well as on the Trip Advisor site, we are currently rated as No. 1 on
“Best B& B in Hobart”. We proudly display our Tripadvisor official
certificate at our front desk “CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE FOR THE YEAR OF
2011(BY ITS GUESTS AND THEREFORE HAS BEEN AWARDED)”. We have worked very
hard to achieve this result and are rewarded by our many appreciative guest
reviews, post cards and emails, thanking us for our hospitality and an
enjoyable stay.



It is sad that this review does not reflect any of the many positive aspects
of our beautiful National Trust home, delightful gardens and luxurious
private suites, especially as they had initially commented that their room
was “beautiful”. We did our very best to accommodate these unhappy guests
but we were unable to meet their requirement for a late check out and this
may be the main reason for their negative review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at the Elms from 17 Feb to 25 Feb 2012. The Hosts (Tina and Raymond) were very nice and extremely helpful and obliging. Our room (The Willows) was quiet, clean, comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay.
The breakfast was plentiful and a great variety of cereals and a selection of bread (for toast) as well as boiled eggs and fresh fruit.
The gardens were beautiful and well kept (although still a work in progress).
Tina was always available to help with any information about tours, restaurants etc. and we will definitely stay at The Elms the next time we visit Hobart.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenisWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 47 in Hobart
570 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
1,255 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gregory House
Gregory House
#12 of 28 in Hobart
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms of Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms of Hobart

Address: 452 Elizabeth St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range: $121 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Elms of Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn back the clock and experience warmth, elegance and a friendly old world hospitality in our gracious and stately National Trust mansion.The Elms of Hobart is one of Hobart's grandest and most famous old mansions, recorded on the Register of the National Estate.This lovely old mansion is centrally located within 1.5Km of the GPO and is just 500 meter walk from the famous North Hobart "Gourmet Strip" which houses some twenty or more restaurants with some of Hobart's better known eating establishments. We provide free WIFI and off street parking. After 20 years trading as one of the oldest and largest bed and breakfast accommodation in Hobart. The Elms guest house now offers fully self contained two bedroom family apartments or semi self contained one bedroom suite with shared kitchen and laundry facilities for our guests. Welcome Tassie breakfast hamper supplied on arrival. We don't serve guest cooked breakfast but leave you freedom to stay in a heritage property as a home away from home. Your hosts live on site to make your stay more comfortable. All of our guests rooms are only on our ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Elms of Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Of Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing