We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Islington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Islington Hotel
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Accomodation was great. But the details were forgotten. Paid for a luxury package which included a car to pick us up at the airport. It wasn't there and had to ring to have it sent to us. Other guests walking into our room when we were there, was very embarassing for all of us. When we arrived we were told the owners had gone away so maybe the staff were very new. This hotel has been rated very highly so we were disappointed to the lack of attention to detail. We stayed there at the beginning and end of our trip but I felt uncomfortable staying there the second time round which was unfortunate.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank medlycott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    35
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
23
318
13
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mchiovetti
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Fantastic all round. Our room was small, but lovely. Service was outstanding. Location was a bit outside the central core, but a lovely walk to the main shops and restaurants. Room was impeccably cared for and maintained. Everything I would expect in this price point and more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mchiovetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Stayed at the Islington for 4 nights on our first holiday to Hobart. Would have to agree with most of the comments about the Islington in that its is a little piece of luxury in a boutique hotel that has all the charm and service of a very up market B&B or Guest House.

As has been said you do really need to have a car but the city can be reached by foot through a relaxed 30 minute walk. But there is a gradual slope all the way so you will be walking up hill coming back.

If you can afford it the breakfast is truely gourmet and the location where the meals are served is fantastic. The small restaurant is completely enclosed in glass with great views to the garden and mountains (but is an oven on rare warm days). Dinner is served from Wed to Sat and we would suggest you go at least once, although again its not cheap. But the food is superb and the service excellent.

If you dont eat there, the staff will go out their way to provide suggestions and book you in. There is no pressure for you to eat in house.

The only thing I was dissapointed with is that the web site provides a picture of rooms associated with the Deluxe and Superior categories. But if you book a Deluxe room dont expect to get the room pictured. There is only one room in the whole hotel which looks like this and the rest of the Deluxe rooms look like the room picture in the Superior category.

We stayed in a Deluxe room and while it had plenty of space and is luxurious, there was only a couple of pretty uncomfortable chairs in the "sitting room" which didnt cater for relaxed time looking out at the view.

But overall the Islington is a great place to stay in Hobart with a bit of luxury, great service, great food and a very relaxed environment within a touch of history.

  • Liked — The food and excellent service
  • Disliked — The deluxe rooms lacked a comfortabe sitting area
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GazPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Islington is something of a mix between a 5 star hotel and a top flight B & B. For us, it represented a perfect marriage between new and old. The original building has been extensively renovated and the modern addition seems perfectly integrated.
Our hosts and the hotel staff were professional, friendly and obliging. Dining-In is an experience not to be missed (order the crayfish). You will need to hire a car to see the sites of Hobart and dont expect to take a swim. Just put up your feet, stretch out in front of the fireplace and make friends with a lovely Cab Sav or maybe a pot of tea. Quite simply, the standard of this boutique hotel, the excellant service and the most delicious food exceeded our expectations. We can't wait to return.

  • Liked — quality, style, relaxed environment, great food
  • Disliked — poor wireless internet signal in our room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OSTMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

After hearing of this hotel during a bit of a PR blitz a year or so ago, I was determined to stay here. A trip to Tasmania proved the perfect antidote from the madness of pope week in Sydney. We booked a standard room on wotif for around $200. Be warned though, the wotif rate doesn't include breakfast which is $30 per person, meaning that only when it's at its very cheapest is booking online better than booking directly with the hotel. Breakfast is essential; you can not stay at the Islington and pass up the delicious hot breakfast. My smoked salmon omelette was nothing short of spectacular!

The Islington's service is spot on. It's first name basis, but not overtly casual. It's attentive but not in the slightest bit intrusive. Guests are treated like sophisticated friends visiting a beautiful home.

Both the public spaces and the rooms are carefully furnished and tastefully decorated. We did a circuit of all the fireplaces with a lovely glass of excellent wine from the honour bar. Our bed was comfortable and warm on a cold and sleety Hobart night. Linen and towels are of the highest quality and while I'm not usually one to pinch hotel soap and shampoo, the Islington's amenities were too good to leave behind!

The Islington exemplifies everything I love about staying in good hotels. It's the sort of place one wishes one could live in every day of the year...not just to be enjoyed for one night.

  • Liked — No detail has been overlooked. It's exactly what hotels should be like.
  • Disliked — Be careful of the posts in the car park...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SydneyStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2008

For my first trip to Tasmania and Hobart, the Islington Hotel made the experience. Great staff, awesome tasting food, relaxing and superbly fitted rooms all helped to make our stay enjoyable and luxurious. The hotel is an excellent mix of the old and modern with a great view of Mt Wellington out most windows. Highly recommended, thanks Amy and staff.

  • Liked — Staff, food and rooms
  • Disliked — not being able to stay longer
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HeathyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2008

We stayed at Islington House for 2 nights. Can't fault this at all. Staff very helpfull.daniel the butler arranged a superb private dining for us with friends in the hotel in the library compliments to the chef. Room well furnished. Beautifull setting a must if you are going to Tassy. A touch of luxury to have. We would highly recommend this beautifull hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen50Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.3 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
505 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islington Hotel

Property: Islington Hotel
Address: 321 Davey Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#4 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Islington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847, Islington is a fine example of Regency architecture recently restored to showcase its original glory and including 5 star luxuries such as 100 sq/ft glass conservatory with under floor heating throughout, a fine dining restaurant and extensive wine cellar. Surrounded by great service and presentation it has an atmosphere of serenity, luxury and tranquility. Islington’s recent awards include winner, ‘Best Boutique Hotel in Australia’ by Australian Gourmet Traveler and winning entrant into the prestigious ‘Kurosawa Collection’ for small luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Islington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islington Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing