We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can't put a price on quality service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Islington Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You can't put a price on quality service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We subscribe to Gourmet Traveller and last months edition had the GT travel awards. The Islington received best boutique award. Based on this we were very keen to try the hotel out. Attentive service, classy and sophisticated touches made our stay in Hobart really special.

The food was delicious and the romantic dinner that is served in the conservatory was delicious. In the morning we were served breakfast after our chef told us he would cook us what ever we wanted to eat. The bar was an honour system that allowed you to feel at home and pour yourself a drink whilst sitting by the fire.

I loved our two night stay overlooking the garden. It was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Our chefs are always happy to prepare a bespoke breakfast just for you from the freshest local ingredients. There’s nothing quite like enjoying our local produce at its seasonal best, and what’s better than sitting in front of the fire with a glass of Tasmanian Pinot Noir – yum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    32
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
22
308
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently got married in a private ceremony at the Islington. Having stayed there previously we could not think of a better hotel to get married. It has this elegant charm and a very relaxed feel about the hotel, lovely surroundings and wonderful staff who make you feel right at home. It's more of a luxurious home than a hotel. We celebrated our wedding dinner in the library, just perfect, beautiful room filled with art, a fireplace and a four course meal prepared by the chef Jonathon, really enjoyable. We also enjoyed our chats around the open kitchen with Jonathon in the mornings whilst having a delicious breakfast prepared for us daily. I would also like to mention Tara who went out of her way and made us feel right at home. I am so happy we have these lovely memories of our special day at Islington. Thankyou again Tara. The Islington is the perfect place to relax and unwind. We will return.

Room Tip: I personally prefer the garden rooms, although we have stayed in the signature room as well and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RACGAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
It’s wonderful to know that we helped to make a wedding day even more special, congratulations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton North
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed here for his surprise birthday holiday. 2 nights was no where near enough. I can't remember being so relaxed. With fantastic views it is the perfect place to sit back in front of the fire in one of 3 living rooms and just catch up. We highly recommend staying in for an amazing dinner, the chef is amazing and willing to share her recipes. We will definitely be returning and sending our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea Gaye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for spreading the word, I hope we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had a lovely two night stay here and have just booked another long weekend for later this year. Staff were friendly and accommodating, equally willing to have a chat or leave us to ourselves depending on our mood (and when we left, we had a bag of cookies and cupcakes packed for us for the road). Although the house and grounds were beautiful they were not at all unwelcoming, and we felt free to treat them like home, whether enjoying drinks in front of the fire or scrabble in the morning room. Not a cheap option, but it's worth treating yourself to for a special occasion. The included breakfast is well above the quality of a lot of hotels I've stayed in (best scrambled eggs ever!) I stayed in a garden room, which was spacious - two suitcases could be tucked away without being really noticeable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
It’s lovely that Holly S picked up on the Islington’s unique brand of discreet, anticipatory service. It’s usually quite obvious when someone wants time alone and when he or she is ready for a chat; a boutique hotel like this really lends itself to that kind of casual friendly approach. “Best scrambled eggs ever,” I completely agree!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Truly Lovely Hotel. The rooms are spacious and the garden room had a door out to the garden and views of Mt. Wellington. Marble bathroom gorgeous and the Aesop products are the best, The only issues were that the hot water was not so hot at 9.30 am, presumably after the other guests had showered, and also the room heating is noisy.
We found the staff to be charming and evrything we wanted was available. Breakfast was a treat as were the all day supply of mini anzac biscuits and baby muffins.
A nice walk into town. Going back is a bit steep but still an easy stroll

Room Tip: The garden rooms are charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawyer/Exporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks to Lawyer/Exporter for the lovely feedback. We also need to say thanks for the heads up about the heating, of course a warm shower is not ideal, we have since replaced all the regulators in the rooms and also had the air conditioning serviced throughout. Hope we see you soon for some more of the delicious bikkies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have never written a review before but felt the Isslington deserved one!! Excellent service, cosy rooms, Jo the chef was fantastic, defiantly eat one night at the hotel, a very pleasurable small hotel experience. Loved all the current magazines too!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annelies t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We all feel really chuffed that annelies t thought Islington was special enough to write a review for the first time. Thanks !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Recently stayed in June 2013 at this property. very cosy rooms, awesome ambience, thoroughly enjoyed but lacks slightly in hospitality is what i personally felt....out of 5-6 staff only 2-3 were nice and hospitable...found drinks and other stuff really expensive, like a basic individual salad of say rocket leaves with cherry tomatoes comes with a whopping price of AUD17....location is though amazing, very central...could think of returning back to this property.......no spa on location or gym or fitness centre...kitchen doesn't operate daily.....rooms on websites shown bigger than actual!!

Room Tip: Holebrook Room On 1st Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clubgauravGuptaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
It is such a shame to read that one of our guests, especially an international tourist who is battling the strong AUD to begin with does not feel they received the typical Islington experience. The level of service is our most highly and often praised feature so I must put this down to a miscommunication due to the language barrier and humbly apologise. I do need to point out that the restaurant is open daily, breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days and uses only the finest organic produce. A rocket leaf and tomato salad is $8 when served as a side dish but will incur a slightly higher price when served in the room as a main meal with 300g of parmigiano reggiano on the side as was the case here. The cheese was for a serve of microwave mac n cheese that the chef made up at no extra cost. ( micro dinner was brought in by the guest ) Finally the room photos are of actual rooms so must be actual size, I encourage anyone to bring up issues while staying with us so we can address them at the time, most times a prompt solution will save the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#4 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islington Hotel

Property: Islington Hotel
Address: 321 Davey Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#4 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Islington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847, Islington is a fine example of Regency architecture recently restored to showcase its original glory and including 5 star luxuries such as 100 sq/ft glass conservatory with under floor heating throughout, a fine dining restaurant and extensive wine cellar. Surrounded by great service and presentation it has an atmosphere of serenity, luxury and tranquility. Islington’s recent awards include winner, ‘Best Boutique Hotel in Australia’ by Australian Gourmet Traveler and winning entrant into the prestigious ‘Kurosawa Collection’ for small luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Islington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islington Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing