We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a hidden gem”
Review of Islington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Islington Hotel
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“a hidden gem”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

What a find. My husband and I stayed at the Islington for 4 nights to watch our son play in the National U17 cricket championships. The luxurious and homely surroundings were a welcome respite after our horrendous delays and loss of luggage on our trip over from Perth. Our garden room was perfect with a lovely view of Mount Wellington, very comfortable, and with a wonderful modern bathroom, but the highlight of our stay was the in-house restaurant. We had planned to eat at the hotel on our arrival night, and had booked several other Hobart restaurants for the other nights. However, the food and service in the splendid dining room (with beautiful view of Mount Wellington) were exquisite, and so we ate in every night. We have been travelling extensively for 30 years and have rarely come across a hotel with this standard of restaurant. This hotel offers the whole package. We will be returning same time next year, and hope to stay longer next time. Thank you so much to all the staff particularly the chef - you prepared the best steak I'd ever had

Room Tip: Garden room with french doors opening out on to a patio with a view of Mount Wellington
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gossiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-General-Managers, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Chef Jonathan takes pride in sourcing the freshest, top quality ingredients from a host of small producers all over the islands we call Tasmania. His ethos of “seasonal, local and organic where possible” also includes a healthy mix of fruit and herbs from the Islington garden. The plates are simply designed to show the superb quality of our diverse local produce, classic dishes prepared well and matched with a diverse selection of Tasmanian wine by the glass. We also have an extensive international cellar specialising in local (and not so local) vintage Pinot Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    35
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
23
317
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights on business. Wasn't in the middle of town but that made it better - and only 5 min drive anyway.
Food was excellent - we had dinner "in" twice. Breakfast was fantastic. Staff were all friendly and attentive.
Room was large, comfortable and great bed plus all the extra comforts.
The building itself is enough of a reason to stay. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oh_crumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-General-Managers, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2011
And if you call us directly we offer 3 consecutive nights for the price of 2 midweek, year-round.(That’s Mon-Thurs nights)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

What a lovely stay - beautiful room with terrace that opens into the garden. Really comfortable bed and I loved the range of teas available in the room. Great breakfast made to order every morning. Nice touches like living areas to lounge in with newspapers/ magazines / books to flip thru' and cookies to munch on. Would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-General-Managers, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2011
The Garden Rooms are beautiful this time of year with views across the Islington garden to Mt Wellington sitting as impressively as the Iron Duke it got its name from.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights....we wish could have stayed for longer! The staff were fantastic - they booked everything for us (MONA, restaurants) and were were incredibly helpful and friendly. Our attic room had everything that you could ask for in a room and was in the main 'old house' part of the hotel which was great. Dinner was excellent, great food and impeccable service. The Islington delivered everything that you would expect from a five star hotel, then took it further with fantastic little touches....such as the free, freshly baked muffins and coffee.

Highly recommended for anyone that wants to treat themselves to a little bit of luxury in Hobart. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-General-Managers, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
It’s fantastic for us also to see and hear our guests enjoy the hotel’s many endearing features. As Hobart’s only accredited 5 star property we all look to make each guest’s stay as personal and experiential as possible. Islington is so much more than a place to peacefully lay your head at night; you too may never want to leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Agree with all the rave reviews but would like to add that the gracious spaces in the house and the glorious garden created a wonderful ambience of relaxation. Loved the location away from the noisy tourist traps near the water. Some lovely areas to walk and take in the beautiful old properties & gardens in the area. The newly designed Garden Wing has spacious rooms, interesting design features, gorgeous bathrooms and products. The bedside reading lamps are fantastic! The eclectic art collection adds to the interest in every area and the warmth and friendliness of Thomas and all the staff contributed to a 2 night stay that felt like a week long vacation. Don't miss this treat!!!

Room Tip: Loved the Garden room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-General-Managers, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
What Judy hasn't said is that she and her husband were travelling with 3 other couples. If your thinking of a small getaway with friends, Islington is the perfect destination with several salons and sitting rooms to choose from, a formal dining room and even the chef's table in the kitchen to make your own. There's always a secluded spot to sit with friends and catch up without the intrusive presence of other guests or over attentive staff. A true home away from home..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed for one night and right from the start when we were greeted you just knew we were in for a treat, and a treat it was, from the friendly staff but not over the top, to Chef Jo for his great dinner and breakfast, to the very comfortable and clean room. We tried to book for 2 nights but at the time of making the booking there were no rooms avaialable which was unfortunate for us as we had booked a night at the Henry Jones which was not even a patch on The Islington. The HJH is obviously overatted and expensive with cheap amenities when it comes to matress and pillows and no WIFI, .
Overall rating for The Islington 9.5/10 where as the HJH would be lucky to rate a 4.
I know where we will be staying next time in Hobart

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robare59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-General-Managers, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
What I like best about this review is the 9.5 / 10 ranking, and from someone who lives in Hong Kong where they really do luxe well. It goes to show that Tasmania is becoming a place where the discerning traveller can confidently visit. Nicholas Shakespeare said- ‘Islington is the last luxury outpost before the south pole’ I think he could selectively refer to Hobart that way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for only 1 night however it is the best accommodation I have come across. Thomas was so welcoming and showed us to our Garden View room which had all the amenities you could ask for in a room.There was leaf tea, ground coffee and local mineral waters. In the bathroom was huge and the towels were soft and fluffy. There was a free standing bath with no view of the toilet or shower.
The bed of course was comfortable and we had a great nights sleep.
We ate dinner here too and the chef was superb, cooking fresh local ingredients.
The chef made breakfast a treat too. You have to try his beans.
If you have been thinking " should I book Islington or somewhere else" book Islington.
You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-General-Managers, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thanks for the kind words, I should point out that the leaf tea, coffee, mineral water and full cooked breakfast are all included when you book direct with us, also secure off-street parking and unlimited internet access in your room. There are always freshly baked muffins, cookies and fresh fruit for any time snacks as well. I like to think there are no hidden costs, like internet by the minute; everything is included in the advertised rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#5 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.1 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islington Hotel

Property: Islington Hotel
Address: 321 Davey Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#4 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Islington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847, Islington is a fine example of Regency architecture recently restored to showcase its original glory and including 5 star luxuries such as 100 sq/ft glass conservatory with under floor heating throughout, a fine dining restaurant and extensive wine cellar. Surrounded by great service and presentation it has an atmosphere of serenity, luxury and tranquility. Islington’s recent awards include winner, ‘Best Boutique Hotel in Australia’ by Australian Gourmet Traveler and winning entrant into the prestigious ‘Kurosawa Collection’ for small luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Islington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islington Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing