We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for more mature people”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of State Cinema

State Cinema
Ranked #1 of 12 Fun & Games in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in North Hobart, the State is a local independent cinema that has entertained generations of Tasmanians for over 100 years. In addition to eight cinema screens, we also have a boutique bookstore, cafe bar and rooftop cinema. Our cinema is licensed, so you can enjoy a glass of wine while enjoying a movie!
Hobart
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic for more mature people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I love the State Cinema since they have done the extensions. The ambience is perfect for a quiet, relaxing drink or coffee and a snack at any time of day. It's about the only thing open for dessert and coffee late at night. The cinemas are great too!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    92
    19
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Echuca
Level Contributor
196 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“We Want ONE in our home town!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you love quality films whether they be art house or foreign; if you love the idea of having a wine, a coffee, some fine food just before or after the movies.... then this is just the place for you.
There are five or six small theatres (they can fill quickly so consider booking!) and a regular program of the sort of non-commercial films you normally can only dream about. Just to make sure your experience is a memorable one they have added a very very classy looking eating spot out the back with a mezzanine floor as well.
Beautiful plush furniture, people lounging around either discussing what they've just seen or just about to view, a good range of wines, perfectly adequate coffee and deli offerings had my wife bemoaning the fact we don't have this sort of facility in our own home town.
The State Cinema is beautifully located in on Elizabeth St which is well known as a restaurant strip so there are plenty of options after a film.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PatTheCoffeeFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sophisticated cinema viewing without the Blockbuster riff raff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Frequent this place probably fortnightly. I enjoy the ability to take a coffee or a wine into the cinema. It's a pleasant place to have a pre or post screening drink or light meal. Lots of art house movies that you wouldn't get to see anywhere else plus some of the mainstream titles. Most notably absent is the strewn popcorn over the seats and floor and the risk of sitting on a seat saturated by a gargantuan sized cup of Coke or constantly having the back of your seat kicked by the occupant behind you. Caters for mature viewing rather than family which is acceptable. Roof top cinema is fantastic particularly if you score a balmy night or just take the thermals and a rug for alternate weather.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CathyC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cinema”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

As I local, I come here a lot. I cannot praise this little place enough!

I shouldn't say 'little', though, as they've recently undergone very extensive renovations. They've done a superb job it with and haven't taken away the original feel of the building. They've included a lovely (albeit incredibly overpriced) bookshop, another cinema room and at least 20 more tables to the cafe.

I have watched only two movies here, but the experience was amazing. Huge, comfy chairs, limited to around 40 people. They even bring you food, hot drinks and wine if you so desire!

The food at the cafe itself is very expensive, but quite delicious. As another reviewer as said, their coffees are rather inconsistent, generally being undrinkable - but their range of teas and cold beverages more than makes up for that. My only issue with this place would be that their baristas need a lot more training.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sorcha44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Cinema”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Love this cinema. Small but big on atmosphere! A really nice way to spend a Sunday afternoon!! Have a meal first then take your drink in with you to watch the movie!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzytas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Cinema also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to State Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing