We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a cinema”
Review of State Cinema

State Cinema
Ranked #1 of 12 Fun & Games in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in North Hobart, the State is a local independent cinema that has entertained generations of Tasmanians for over 100 years. In addition to eight cinema screens, we also have a boutique bookstore, cafe bar and rooftop cinema. Our cinema is licensed, so you can enjoy a glass of wine while enjoying a movie!
Hobart
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“More than just a cinema”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have visited the State many times in 2012 and always enjoy the calming atmosphere. It is a wonderful place to meet for coffee and the food is tasty and fresh.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank keeptravellingHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    93
    19
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best little cinema in Tasmania”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Very nice atmosphere. Friendly staff. Nicely laid out. Feels very homely especially the small theatrettes.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EternityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tassie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great combination - wine, books and movies.”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I recently attended an end of year work lunch at the cafe and had a lovely time. Every person at our table said their meal was delicious but I was surprised that you had to separately order a side salad if you wanted any greenery on your plate i.e. the pie was just a pie on a plate. Where they really shone though was the scrumptious desserts and cakes. The atmosphere is very relaxed and there are comfortable armchairs if you just want to chill. The book shop is a great place to browse.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tigerquollsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
325 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We spent three nights in North Hobart and discovered this renovated old cinema (oldest in Tasmania).
What a lovely atmosphere it has - small cinema rooms, a nice cafe and book shop.
We had about three quarters of an hour before our movie started, so ordered toasted sandwiches which arrived in time and were very nice. My husband and I also had a tea and coffee. Both excellent. Wine is also available.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NettyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only way to go”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The State Cinema is the only place I will go to watch a movie. The selection of titles is very good and the small, intimate theaters are wonderful. My friends and I often meet there for a coffee and a movie. The book shop is a favourite as well. Great collection of quality books.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank carol888555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Cinema also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to State Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing