We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average”
Review of Taste of Asia

Taste of Asia
Ranked #301 of 596 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Description: Asian indian dine in or take away. A range of curries. Basic cafe but great food and priced right.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Went here after exams with friends. Been wanting to try this place out for months but somehow never got to it. I ordered the mapo tofu, which was quite tasty - unfortunately, the portion size was somewhat small. That being said, the dish (which included steamed rice) was about $11.50, so I guess I should've known better than to expect a huge serving - although it would have been nice. I've heard that the duck noodles and crispy chicken rice are superb.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rae O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Bland, bland, bland”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Recently tried this again but walked out after seeing the same curries on the menu after what must be 10 years. The two vegetarian options lack inspiration and flavour and the bog standard meat options never change. The menu never changes. Reasonably expensive for take away also.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Purple2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very tasty & quick take-away option. All curries dairy & gluten free!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is my go-to take-away option in Hobart, Tasmania. Not only is it VERY yummy, the service is usually quick & it is reasonably good value. All curries are dairy & gluten free which really helps me. There are enough but not too many dishes to choose from, varying levels of spiciness. Only downside for some is that there are only 2 vegetarian options out of about a dozen curries.
My favorites are green chicken curry, massaman curry & Thai yellow beef.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pre-cooked that barely keeps up with the demand!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

You can always rely on fresh food, cooked well, lovingly served to you. My favourites are the Red Chicken Curry and the Eggplant Channa. But what is not to like????

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaatTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This little place is my favourite take-away place for Asian food. It is a small, but very clean place. Lovely curries, topped with fresh coriander. The mango chicken and green chicken curry are yummy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnniiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Asia also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Taste of Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing