We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meals and genuine friendly service ”
Review of Ivory Cafe

Ivory Cafe
Ranked #53 of 596 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Simply Thai
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing meals and genuine friendly service ”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Ivory Cafe is my family's favourite place to go for a guaranteed fresh and delicious meal. Donna at front of house is always friendly and takes the time to get to know her customers. This takes the whole experience to another level where now each time we visit it's like visiting a member of the family. We have never been dissappointed with the meals or the service, which is a rare thing in the hospitality industry.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    39
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
1 review
“Terrible service”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very tough host, she is not polite to us at all. No proper service. Please go to find out if you feel the same! Her sorry sounds so cold and meaningless because that means you can leave now!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hattiewho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivorycafe112, Owner at Ivory Cafe, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
you came with discrimination us and very impolite, never seen before,left us a big question why did you do that ? We are working very hard to make every visit to the Ivory Cafe’ a pleasurable experience for very one in every possible way.We tried to think you are not a disrespectful person at all,are you? and I think I do not deserved that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfort food on a cold rainy day”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Came to this cafe for some Thai food based on reviews here, and this little cafe didn't disappoint. Not the best we've had, but it was warm, spicy and tasty, perfect on a cold and rainy day! The owner is a delight - she acceded to our request to have our food less spicy, and asked us if we wanted more rice when she saw that our bowls were near empty!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelWithJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of Hobart's best little Thai restaurants”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Ivory is a small, busy little BYO thai cafe just 6 or 7 mins walk from the GPO. Donna and her husband run an efficient and happy place with the best food at incredibly cheap prices. This really is one of my local favourites and i highly recommend a visit or two whilst you are in Hobart. Its worth making a booking if you don't want to miss out although if you have to wait for a table its never a very long wait.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bebe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I have been here quite a few times with friends. The food is always very tasty and fresh. Donna, the owner is just a delight. I haven't been there for over 6 months and she still remembered what I ordered last time!! One of my favourite Thai restaurants in Hobart with the best hostess.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devil-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivory Cafe also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Ivory Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing