We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suprisingly good find..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Thai

Royal Thai
Ranked #145 of 591 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Adelaide
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Suprisingly good find..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Royal Thai is a deceptively good restaurant in North Hobart. In truth we picked this restaurant from Google Maps trying to find Thai cuisine within walking distance of our hotel. Our experience here was therefore serendipitous.

It being a Sunday it wasn't crowded but only had one server on the floor. We had our doubts but she was able to handle the 5 tables easily and we never felt ignored or looked to find where she was.

The food was quite fresh arriving at the table in short order. As with any Thai restaurant, sometime the dish isn't as you imagined but even those were good. But as we had ordered one or two staple dishes and a couple of experiments we weren't disappointed.

We did find the final bill not out of line with what we've experienced in Hobart in general, where dining out just seems to cost a bit more. With how gracious and efficient the staff was and the dependability of the food, we will make this one of our regular stops when we're in Hobart again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tommy5061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
“Rip Off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The most expensive average thai food with miniature portions. Dine in only if you have some money to splurge without getting any value for it. A very small portion of soup costed us 16.50 AUD. 2 adults and one child dined for 59 AUD for 2 soups, one veg red curry and 2 small portions of steamed rice and felt robbed at the end. Food was really very average with good presentation.
The restaurant was zero occupancy at the time we visited and this was a saturday night.

Wouldn't recommend it to anyone with the options of other world class restraunts in Hobart.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dr13657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Could not ask for better take away Thai.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Decided to eat in and heard about Royal Thai in North Hobart. What a surprise, they have a separate take away shop front adjoining the restaurant.

Pad Thai, green curry beef and rice, all very good, value fir money and substantial serves. I am going to revisit the restaurant next time.

What a gem for locals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 261151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“High Quality Thai food in Hobart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Very high quality Thai food based on fresh ingredients. Yes the cost is higher than your average Thai but you will also get a really great meal and great service. Coming from Perth we are really used to poor poor service and high cost so it was sooooo refreshing to try a high quality restaurant with really great and smiling service. Give this place a chance you want regret it :-))

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Junc1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballan, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good for vegetarians/vegans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Although being located in a shop front led to a small loss of ambiance, the internal decor and the staff made this place quite enjoyable.

The food was of a good standard and there was a very large vegetarian menu which was inclusive of some vegan options, therefore I would recommend this restaurant to vegos.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clair3J0n3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Thai also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Royal Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing