We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sawak Cafe

Sawak Cafe
Ranked #31 of 591 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Serving Malaysian street foods alongside with stir fry rice & noodles. Popular dishes includes nasi lemak, fish curry, chicken curry, mi goreng, nasi goreng, char kway teow & lots more.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

This Cheap and Cheerful cafe`/ restaurant was a great surprise. Wandered past and remembered it from a good eats guide. BYO . Only open till 9pm weekdays, but that appears to be average for Hobart in winter. Great food, fresh, excellent taste. Great staff, friendly and welcoming, not a romantic dinner for two, but certainly a great value, good tasting meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    50
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Millthorpe, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fast and cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

If you're planning a special night out or looking for a refined dining experience, this is NOT the place. If you are looking for a quick bite of something tasty, then look here. Fast, basic, but OK overall.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
136 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Rending was terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We ate here for lunch. Our experience was mixed. The meals prepared with the sauce used for chicken curry were average. The noodles were average with too much sugar added.

The beef rending was truly terrible. It came with a somewhat runny almost black colored sauce that had the consistency of acrylic paint and it tasted of nothing at all.

None of the dishes were spiced appropriately to be authentic.

Service was below par with the waitress forgetting what we had asked for because she sniggered at an early part of our order and stopped listening requiring us to repeat ourselves.

A place to avoid.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MrYellowDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
718 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Good noodles but poor serving of meat/seafood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We ordered the teriyaki udon, one with chicken and one with seafood. The noodles were good and sauce tasty, but for the price, the amount of chicken and seafood was disappointing. For this reason we would not hurry back. The service was fast and polite.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If I had wanted boiled chicken, I could have stayed at home.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Asked for chicken and rice, that's what I got! plain rice boiled chicken $12, not impressed also chicken was less than a handful, with chicken wing added for bulk! would never go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawak Cafe also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Sawak Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing