We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Passable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sawak Cafe

Sawak Cafe
Ranked #29 of 594 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Serving Malaysian street foods alongside with stir fry rice & noodles. Popular dishes includes nasi lemak, fish curry, chicken curry, mi goreng, nasi goreng, char kway teow & lots more.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Passable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was visiting Tasmania on a business trip and decided to give this place a go after reading the rave reviews. I ordered a Fried Rice Noodles (Kway Teow) and a traditional Grass Jelly Milk drink. The Rice Noodles was short on ingredients and a small portion. Grass Jelly consisted of a spoonful of small 4 mm cube sizes of jelly floating around the top of the drink and could hardly be counted as a Grass Jelly Milk drink.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d0gbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    51
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Western Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Food was great quality and cheap. Only a small cafe and food is cooked freshly and served promptly.It was so good we went back again for a second meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Malaysian in the heart of Hobart”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

My partner and I are regular consumers of Malaysian food at home in Melbourne and after two weeks on the road in Tasmania were looking for desperate for a nasi lemak/roti hit. Sawak delivered exactly what we were looking for! The food is absolutely delicious, in good portion size and relatively cheap. I would recommend the cafe to any lover's of Malaysian food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious and cheap!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Went for a workday lunch, the service was really fast and the food was great. Nice and cheap too. This place will rival Dumpling World for my favourite workday lunch destination!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Esika_Des
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cheap and quick service but top food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Perfect place to stop for lunch, our food came quick and we ate while sitting at the window watching passers by. Great service and loved my satay thin noodles!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirstthefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawak Cafe also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Sawak Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing