We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming hostel, with good hotel quality beds”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hobart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Narrara Backpackers
Ranked #37 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Launceston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming hostel, with good hotel quality beds”
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We read that the Lonely Planet mentioned mixed reports when this hostel was under old management and didn't now what to expect.
The manager, Mo, was very friendly and helpful, new our names, gave us lots of information and made us feel very comfortable.
The hostel was clean with a good kitchen, shower and toilets and the room (double) was cosy and good. The bed was excellent and we had a good night's sleep after all the travelling. We recommended it to our friend for the nxt evening and she loved it too.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wissieLaunceston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    16
    6
    11
See reviews for
4
18
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed at Narrara overnight and was very impressed by Mo's hospitality and kindness. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and the kitchen had everything we needed for our odd-hour snack times.
I will definetely recommend this backpacker to all my friend's as the owner is a geniune and dedicated fella that provides top notch service to all his backpackers. All in all, a great place with good value. Cheers Mo.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeydawg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2009

The manager is really friendly, and care about his customers.
The place is really cute and cosy. The rooms, bathroom and kitchen are very clean.
The location is great, close to the city, but far from noisy area.
It was a pleasure to stay there.
Thank you again for your welcoming

Emilie

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank licorne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2009

The staff were really friendly and helpful, always willing to give address and really useful recommendations on places to visit. Rooms were clean, all with linen provided and heaters. Well equipped big kitchen, really nice living room with plasma TV and leather couches, Free parking! Overall really happy with experience! Definitely recommend it

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luwiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We've stayed for a week here.
Narrara backpackers is very cozy and comfortable hostel.
Everything is all renovated and very clean!!
The manager, Mo provide us a kind hospitality.
He made our trip great. We really appreciate it so much.

We would like to stay there again. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fransowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2009

This hostel is very much up to date (under new management) and has got a nice homie feeling to it. Free coffee and tea in the kitchen but also free MILO! this place just won me just right there... Dorms are very clean and beds warm.
Stepping in at Narrara is like stepping into someones cozy, warm living room. The manager, Mo, is ever so helpful to make your Tassie experience really nice. He helped me with a lot of things and found out stuff for me. That's courtesy!
I can without a doubt say that this is one of the best backpackers I've stayed at in Australia.
/ Mattias Larsson, Sweden

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0lle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2009

This is the worst place I have ever stayed in. The guy on reception is rude, the kitchen/living area are so awful we couldn't bear to use them, the shower/toilets are filthy, the room was tiny and more basic than any I have come across anywhere in the world, and to cap it all it was not even that cheap. Disaster.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharkie149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel
0.4 mi away
Backpackers Imperial Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Pickled Frog
The Pickled Frog
#10 of 53 in Hobart
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hobart Central YHA
Hobart Central YHA
#41 of 53 in Hobart
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
0.1 mi away
The Nook Backpackers
The Nook Backpackers
#6 of 53 in Hobart
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrara Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrara Backpackers

Property: Narrara Backpackers
Address: 88 Goulburn St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Narrara Backpackers Hotel Hobart
Narrara Backpackers Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing