We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty crap” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Narrara Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hobart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Narrara Backpackers
Ranked #36 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Level Contributor
1 review
“Pretty crap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here for three nights, and it was pretty crap.

Room was small and stank, the common areas were dirty and crowded. The kitchen was disgusting, I'm pretty sure making a cup of tea gave me salmonella.

There were also a ton of old dudes that hung around, wreaked of cigarettes and stared at you as you passed through.

Was lucky enough to have a friend in Hobart I stayed with two of the nights and was able to avoid showering here.

The staff however were lovely, and i feel for them working in such filth.

Won't be coming back, nor recommending it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazz7447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    16
    6
    11
See reviews for
4
18
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

The manager 'Mo' gives you the warmest of welcome and always3 with a wide smile that cheered us up during the rainy days...There were 3 of us travelling and he generously allowed us into the 4bed room all to ourselves...Will stay there again without doubt...

Having said all that, the amenities were very basic and average...But we didnt really mind that...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anden15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights. Disappointly the reviews on here are incredibly misleading. The kitchen was disgusting, I work as a chef and if this kitchen ever got health inspected you would have it shut in a professional world.

The one shower in the basement has 0 water pressure. the other two male showers are at eye level (i am 5 foot 10 inches) and I had to duck to get my head under which doesnt make sense as the platforms are raised from the ground. Rooms were somewhat clean, something was spewed on the wall and not cleaned up and I hesitated to ask what it was.

Seems like they are running more of a boarding house than backpackers. Everyone there seems to have some sort of mental illness and are long term residents. Did not feel safe at this "backpackers" what so ever. Would NOT recommend it to anyone. Other hostels are better for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suttar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

As others have mentioned, the hosts are nice enough, but the kitchen and bathrooms could be improved.
4 bedroom female dorm room was a generous size, clean with comfortable beds.
Kitchen was very scummy looking. If you were planning to stay more than a night or two it would probably be best to find a place with cleaner cooking facilities.
Bathrooms too felt like they could do with a good clean and could do with some hooks to keep your clothes dry while showering.
Location was a 10-15 min walk from centre of town, up a gentle hill. More on the edge of the city/almost into the suburbs than a central city location.
No internet so we went to the library. (free)

Room Tip: If you are getting the airport shuttle ask the receptionist to book it for you as they can get a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We were very disappointed with this backpackers. We have stayed in many and the kitchen is the dirtiest we have seen. Old food was left in the fridges and they smelt and were filthy. Someone else, while we were there opened the oven to use it and saw how filthy it was so did not bother. The mirowave was also dirty. The kitchen is small and very little food storage space except in the dirty fridges. Some people were keeping their food in their rooms. There was not much cutlery and not sure about the crockery. The teatowels looked like they have never been washed.

The shower had no cold water the first day I used one of the four showers and the extremely hot water was too hot to stand under. Then I went to the basin and found that the cold tap was not working there. I was told that the men's bathroom was similar. There was water all over the floor in the drying area and no hooks to put clothes. There were no shower racks for soap and shampoo.

Many fittings were broken and appear to have been left like that for many months. Of 3 clothes hooks in our room, only one was usable.

The 2 internet stations were not working.

The kitchen, lounge and rooms were small but if everything was spotless, the showers and taps worked properly and fittings were in working order or available, the size of the rooms would be inconsequential.

The owner was friendly but this does not make up for the many problems and the obvious work which needs to be ongoing in a place like this to keep it to the standard of other backpackers.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was not noisy but we dont advise anyone to go here who wants a clear ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 171Sheree171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Let me say up front that Mo and his family are excellent hosts, friendly and helpful. The position of the hostel is within walking distance of the Salamanca Markets and the waterfront. The rooms are very good and clean, but the showers are awful. Their design means that water is always on the floor, there is no shelf to put your stuff, and no soap holder. The showers really detract from the whole hostel. The laundry only has one washing machine and one dryer and if you want to hang your washing on the line, they are in very short supply. In fact, I saw one line that someone had clipped a line to a power cable. If the showers were fixed, I would be very happy to stay there again, but the showers are truly awful.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcarlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

It's really a Gooooood place!
Today morning I forgot My wallet in the room.
Fortunately the Manager of the Backpacker help my to find out my wallet.
And I don't lost anything : )
I am very appreciate that give me such a great favor^^
Thank you so much Narrara Backpacker : )

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuYi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#38 of 46 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel
0.4 mi away
Backpackers Imperial Hotel
0.6 mi away
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrara Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrara Backpackers

Property: Narrara Backpackers
Address: 88 Goulburn St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Narrara Backpackers Hotel Hobart
Narrara Backpackers Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing