We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be great. Not so anymore.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed March 23, 2013

On the 20th my partner and I went to the Prince of Wales for dinner. We've loved this place for a long time, and go there semi-regularly. We got there before they started serving people in the restaurant, so asked if we could sit there until the time came to take our order. We were then promptly forgotten about. The young man who eventually served us had no idea of the menu. He didn't bring us water. He seemed like he had no real idea what he was doing. A woman later served us, who was quite a reasonable waitress. Our food was below average. Our garlic bread did not taste at all like garlic. I ate the stuffed chicken breast; there was very little stuffing and it lacked flavour. The sauce for the chicken also had no taste. My partner ordered a porterhouse steak, cooked medium. It was well done (not the slightest touch of pink) and very fatty.
Overpriced for a decidedly average meal. Not keen to come again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrnmndjms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Prince of Wales Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 90 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Airconditioner broken, we asked for a heater and was given a small dusty blow heater. Kettle was dirty, looked like someone may have tried to poach an egg in it! Manager looked but could not find a replacement. He was very apologetic and offered hot water from coffee machine at the bar.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed one night at the Prince of Wales hotel in two interconnected hotel rooms. The area (Battery Point) is brilliant, especially with kids. So close to Salamanca for the markets, and there is a gorgeous park with a big playground just down the road. Lots of food options in easy walking distance, and main shops about a kilometre down the road. Free parking. The bistro in the pub was buzzing, with quick and friendly service even on a busy Friday night. Don't get the seafood platter, though, the entire thing was crumbed and deep fried, even the mussels, shell and all!

Also on the positive side of things, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the price ($175 for five of us including continental breakfast) was unbeatable in that area. Breakfast included cereal, fruit, toast. The rooms were surprisingly inquiry, even on a Friday night with live music in the pub, we didn't hear anything.
On the negative side, the rooms were old, cold, draughty and dirty. The bathroom was so dirty, I really didn't want to shower in the morning. I couldn't bear to walk on the carpet barefoot, and the kettle started smoking and smelled ominously of burning cabbage when we turned it on. The rooms were draughty and didn't seem to be heated in any way - we were freezing. Easily our worst accommodation experience in Tasmania, and it is a pity, because with this location and a few improvements (and some attention paid to cleanliness) it could have been our best.

Although i loved this location, and the staff were great, I just can't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

What great value this hotel is for Battery Point. Awesome steak and beer deal for only $15 pp and Accomodation in the best suburb in Hobart for only $75 pp.

You can't beat this place for value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifesanadventure5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

The Prince of Wales Hotel is located in a quiet residential area, a short walk from Salamanca Square and a longer walk to the harbour and the centre of Hobart. The rooms are on the first floor above a pub, with limited parking at the rear. Check-in is at the bar and service here was adequate, but nothing special. At around $130 a night, room rates are moderate for central Hobart. Continental breakfast, consisting of cereals, bread for toasting and fruit salad, is delivered to the room daily and included in the price.

On first glance, our room looked fine. The linen on the double and single bed had been changed. However, there was thick dust in the corners of the room and under the beds. It didn't look like anyone had used a vacuum-cleaner here for years. The bathroom was equally revolting, with black mould growing between the tiles and in the shower area. A little spray bleach would have taken care of this. Clearly, the cleaners choose not to do anything about it.

Having pre-paid for three nights, we did not feel like going elsewhere. We booked a room above a pub, so we weren't expecting luxury or peace and quiet, but there is just no excuse for poor cleaning.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubadiver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

My lamb shank was served cold and when sent back to the kitchen I was told they'd microwave it to heat it up! It came back lukewarm with gristle and bone I'd moved to the side of my plate mixed back into the sauce. My partner's fish was basically raw so it also was sent back. It returned overcooked at the edges and undercooked in the middle. Scant apologies from the wait staff but an offer if a free dessert, which we declined after such a bad experience. Absolutely the worst meal eaten over our 5 days in Hobart.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mitchamfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We chose this particular hotel simply due to it;s great location. The hotel was situated just a short albeit a steep walk to Salamanca and the Saturday markets. There are plenty of little cafe's in the street nearby as well. The car park is cramped, and if they have a function on in the bar or restaurant, you may not get the promised space in the car park they advertise. The restaurant service was woeful, and the staff member that served us acted like she had better things to do. The rooms are dated and need a bit of a freshen up, but this did not detract from our time there. Rooms were serviced on a daily basis, and the cleaner was a wonderful and very helpful person. All in all, it is a inexpensive stay in a very, very expensive area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
#36 of 48 in Hobart
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel Hobart
Central Hotel Hobart
#37 of 48 in Hobart
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#18 of 48 in Hobart
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#16 of 48 in Hobart
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: 55 Hampden Rd | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range: $76 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hobart's historic Battery Point, The Prince of Wales Hotel has twelve 3 star en-suite rooms, an 80 seat restaurant and a modern popular bar. Suitable for all travelers wanting a central location within easy walking distance of Hobart's main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hobart
Prince Of Wales Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing