We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prince of Wales Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$186
$144
The Henry Jones
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$160
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Lodge on Elizabeth(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$103
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Motel 429(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$94
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lenna of Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$154
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$160
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hadley's Orient Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$173
$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Salamanca Inn(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$144
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islington Hotel(Hobart)
$317
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
13
40
22
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
40
22
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalamanca marketsshort walkpowtoasterwaterfronttasmaniapositioncbd
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 97 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed one night at the Prince of Wales hotel in two interconnected hotel rooms. The area (Battery Point) is brilliant, especially with kids. So close to Salamanca for the markets, and there is a gorgeous park with a big playground just down the road. Lots of food options in easy walking distance, and main shops about a kilometre down the road. Free parking. The bistro in the pub was buzzing, with quick and friendly service even on a busy Friday night. Don't get the seafood platter, though, the entire thing was crumbed and deep fried, even the mussels, shell and all!

Also on the positive side of things, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the price ($175 for five of us including continental breakfast) was unbeatable in that area. Breakfast included cereal, fruit, toast. The rooms were surprisingly inquiry, even on a Friday night with live music in the pub, we didn't hear anything.
On the negative side, the rooms were old, cold, draughty and dirty. The bathroom was so dirty, I really didn't want to shower in the morning. I couldn't bear to walk on the carpet barefoot, and the kettle started smoking and smelled ominously of burning cabbage when we turned it on. The rooms were draughty and didn't seem to be heated in any way - we were freezing. Easily our worst accommodation experience in Tasmania, and it is a pity, because with this location and a few improvements (and some attention paid to cleanliness) it could have been our best.

Although i loved this location, and the staff were great, I just can't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

What great value this hotel is for Battery Point. Awesome steak and beer deal for only $15 pp and Accomodation in the best suburb in Hobart for only $75 pp.

You can't beat this place for value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifesanadventure5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

The Prince of Wales Hotel is located in a quiet residential area, a short walk from Salamanca Square and a longer walk to the harbour and the centre of Hobart. The rooms are on the first floor above a pub, with limited parking at the rear. Check-in is at the bar and service here was adequate, but nothing special. At around $130 a night, room rates are moderate for central Hobart. Continental breakfast, consisting of cereals, bread for toasting and fruit salad, is delivered to the room daily and included in the price.

On first glance, our room looked fine. The linen on the double and single bed had been changed. However, there was thick dust in the corners of the room and under the beds. It didn't look like anyone had used a vacuum-cleaner here for years. The bathroom was equally revolting, with black mould growing between the tiles and in the shower area. A little spray bleach would have taken care of this. Clearly, the cleaners choose not to do anything about it.

Having pre-paid for three nights, we did not feel like going elsewhere. We booked a room above a pub, so we weren't expecting luxury or peace and quiet, but there is just no excuse for poor cleaning.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubadiver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

My lamb shank was served cold and when sent back to the kitchen I was told they'd microwave it to heat it up! It came back lukewarm with gristle and bone I'd moved to the side of my plate mixed back into the sauce. My partner's fish was basically raw so it also was sent back. It returned overcooked at the edges and undercooked in the middle. Scant apologies from the wait staff but an offer if a free dessert, which we declined after such a bad experience. Absolutely the worst meal eaten over our 5 days in Hobart.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mitchamfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We chose this particular hotel simply due to it;s great location. The hotel was situated just a short albeit a steep walk to Salamanca and the Saturday markets. There are plenty of little cafe's in the street nearby as well. The car park is cramped, and if they have a function on in the bar or restaurant, you may not get the promised space in the car park they advertise. The restaurant service was woeful, and the staff member that served us acted like she had better things to do. The rooms are dated and need a bit of a freshen up, but this did not detract from our time there. Rooms were serviced on a daily basis, and the cleaner was a wonderful and very helpful person. All in all, it is a inexpensive stay in a very, very expensive area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews