We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woolmers Inn, Hobart, Australia.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Woolmers Apartments
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed here with my son in November 2013. Total value for money!! To begin with, the Airport-City Shuttle drops you across the road and picks you up from right outside the hotel. The hotel is located on Sandy Bay Road which is wonderful. Plus, everything is so handy - within walking distance. Bus stops, Woolworths, Coles, Post Office, Banks, Hairdressers, doctor's clinic and cafes. The hotel itself, although not a 5 star one, is neat, clean, well kept and family oriented. Very safe. My room was a studio apartment with two very comfortable single beds, a kitchenette, fridge, ironing facilities, tv, heater, a good size bathroom and a heater. Free wi-fi. The hotel also has a coin-operated laundry and dryer.This just made everything easier. All the staff members were polite, friendly, courteous, prompt and very helpful. We had arrived around 9:30am. The check -in time was 2 pm. When I requested the admin for an early check in, they tried to get the room ready asap and allowed me to check in at 12. It was a wonderful gesture on their part. Overall, a great place to stay in if you are visiting Hobart. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Just so you know, there are no lifts. So, choose one of the rooms on the ground floor level if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeenaSheth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 265 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night as my family were showing me around the state.
We got a 2 bedroom ground floor apartment with kitchenette for $138 on a weekend night. Not bad.
Close enough to walk to the Hobart CBD/ Salamanca markets, but a sufficient amount of restaurants nearby if you can't be bothered!
Clean, enough space for us, comfy bed and decent shower.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank thegorbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great hotel, with spacious rooms. Very clean, and free wifi! The location I good, with surrounding take away and supermarkets, down the road. About a 10 min walk into the city centre. Good customer service. Definitely recommended, especially for families.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Alina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Nov 2013
We stayed at Woolmers for a week at the end of November, whilst the rooms are a little tired, they were very clean with plenty of room, good facilities ( TV, shower / bath, fridge, microwave, hotplate Etc ) and had a very large comfortable bed.

The position is really good with a 10 min walk to the City and well located in Sandy Bay for the local restaurant as well as the resorts further up Sandy Bay road

Great value for money, good standard of room service and very helpful staff - would stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms at he back further away from the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, and overall we were happy. Compared to other accommodation in Hobart this was really good value. The rooms are very basic, with no luxuries at all. But they are clean, and the beds were comfortable. We were very close to the main road, and it was a bit noisy. This would be even more a problem in warm weather, with the windows open. However, it is a 15 minute walk to Salamanca, and there are two supermarkets and lots of cafes and restaurants only a few minutes walk in the other direction. Given the price, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cortunefookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Woolmers is in a great location, close to Battery Point and the city centre. Its an easy walk of 10 minutes walk to Salamanca Place one way or to Coles Supermarket in the other direction.
The room was clean, great shower and bath, plenty of space and comfortable bed, plus great value for money. What more can you ask for.

Arrived late at night and used the courtesy phone provided outside reception, the friendly person on the phone explained how to find the keys. Easy as.

Would highly recommend if you want somewhere in Hobart that provides value for money and is close to all the attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

great location I stayed there for the Melbourne cup weekend . the apartment was very clean and neat .the shops were a 2 minute walk away and you can even walk to the casino and the waterfront . it was great . we booked a tour into Richmond and the staff were great in helping us . I would highly recommend this one .

Room Tip: we had a end room upstairs room 33
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miffy4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.0 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
1,233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.6 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 47 in Hobart
948 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolmers Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolmers Apartments

Address: 123 - 127 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hobart
#12 Family Hotel in Hobart
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $95 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woolmers Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woolmers offers studio double, studio twin & two bedroom, self contained apartment accommodation in Hobart's habourside suburb of Sandy Bay. Our self contained apartments offer good value accommodation with the flexibility to cater for yourself. Each apartment has: Kitchen facilities FREE off street parking FREE cable TV FREE WI-FI internet LCD televisions Direct dial telephones Continental breakfast packs available from reception for only $3.50 Per person Woolmers is located in Hobart's fashionable suburb of Sandy Bay & is only minutes from the city centre, the lively waterfront, popular Wrest Point Casino, famous Salamanca Place and historic Battery Point. Our Hobart accommodation is close to restaurants, antique shops and craft stores. Woolmers Apartments is only minutes by car to the city, MONA - Hobart's fabulous Museum of Old & New Art, Wrest Point Casino as well as all of Hobart's conference venues & attractions. Woolmers Apartments is 2 km from Hobart's city centre and is in close walking distance to Salamanca Market, Hobart's waterfront precinct, University of Tasmania & the city centre. We offer great value, self contained accommodation which gives you the flexibility to come and go as you wish and will make your visit to Hobart as stress-free and easy as can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woolmers Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Woolmers Hotel Hobart
Woolmers Hotel Hobart
Woolmers Motel Hobart
Woolmers Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing