We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
tasmania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

After visiting Hobart so often not sure why I've never stayed here before.
It's wonderful ambiance, price and opposite everything a tourist needs and even gives you free parking right on the waterfront.
Room's really tastefully decorated and bathroom top notch too.
Would recommend, but as it's in entertainment district, only if you use earplugs.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    206
    57
    19
    20
See reviews for
41
231
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackmans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

I want everyone to know, that if you are in Hobart, do yourself and whoever is with you, a huge favour, and visit this iconic and outstanding restaurant.
I have eaten in a lot of fine restaurants both in Hobart and around Australia and my meal here is always of the highest quality. In fact I would go as far as to say I have eaten the best meals of my life here!
Last night was no exception....new winter menu....and I thought the seafood risotto was so delicious, I had to tell the chef.
My husband had the beer battered fish and chips. The flake was so fresh and sweet. Melted in your mouth.
Alex, you are a fine chef and obviously have a great team around you. Thank you for the excellent dining experience. Shout out to Tyler our waiter...great job. Ever attentive and friendly. Had a great chat.
We will be back soon for another fine dish off the new menu. Cathy

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at Customs House for 5 nights. The rooms are quite simple, perfect for people out and about not spending their days in there. It is above the pub so can get a little loud at night but you can ask about than when booking.
Across the road from Salamanca so get position for the markets and eating out. Breakfast was included into the cost and overall and really nice place to stay. The meals in the bar were rustic, yummy and really well priced.

We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

If your planning a short getaway I highly recommend staying at the Customs House Hotel. This hotel is situated in the best location, walking distance to Salamanca Market - must see, Battery Point (shipwrights hotel - must drink!!) plenty of great restaurants and the CBD. Hobart has all this to offer and it's all very accessible. Hire a car it's easy to get around if you want to travel a little further, go with friends you will have a blast. Highly recommend Customs House Hotel

Room Tip: Room 11 - great views of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were traveling as a group, and we really enjoyed this hotel. It is not fancy, but it is clean and in a great location. Breakfast was good, the pub at night is fun (although it makes the rooms noisy), and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Good location near the Salamanca Market and Lark Distillery.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gso-fcoanytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan Village Queensland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Might not be anymore than 3 star accommodation but it is clean and comfortable...rates include breakfast which was great value, not overly fussed on the restaurant food but a great position close to the CBD and wharf area where the famous markets are held.

Room Tip: Hotel has a lift so any room would be ok.....however I think the hotel has live music on the week-en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

I had the main course of crumbed scallops for $29
In short the scallops were very tiny, not properly crumbed in oil but soaked throughout in oil, and 3/4 plate full of useless fries with a small side salad. This place I had the impression had good meals but in my experience no
My wife said her seafood chowder was bland and her entree of Thai Fish Cakes are not that. More so Australian fish cakes as she is Thai.
We wasted our money!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#11 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Customs House Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Customs House Waterfront Hotel

Property: Customs House Waterfront Hotel
Address: 1 Murray St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Customs House Waterfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Customs House Waterfront Hotel est 1846, located on Hobart's waterfront, walking distance to Salamanca, historic Battery Point and the CBD. This hobart Hotel has 23 rooms, 2 bars and a popular seafood restaurant and VUE. All Rooms have queen beds, internet access, fridge, hair dryers, ensuite bathrooms, tv, desk and coffee making facilities.Some rooms have views overlooking the waterfront & docks. This Hobart hotel is heritage listed, but has been upgraded to a 3.5star level, keeping many original features including it's convict stone walls.The restaurant is very popular selling the local seafood aswell as local meat and produce. Vue is our new cocktail lounge and is available for private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Customs House Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Customs Hotel Waterfront
Customs House Waterfront Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing