We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Room is modest, although it was HUGE! Bar and restaurant are very nice. Right opposite the harbor cafes and all the action. Salamanca market is barely 200m away, along with some of the best restaurants you could hope to find. Only complaint is the noise from the nightclub a few doors up, i believe they are hoping to rectify that. The price was right and the location just super. Staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Included in the price was a cooked breakfast for 2. That alone is a massive saving, food in Salamanca is NOT cheap at all. Overall, as far as value for money goes, thumbs up.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room furthest away from Salamanca corner, but if it is a weekday , ask for room 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 484 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had a few great beers here, good choice of drinks and not to pricey. Great location and friendly staff. The outside area is a fantastic place to sit and chill with a few mates. Will go there again next time im in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 786Chris82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

great place to stay. Central. easy walk to food, Arthur Circle and most of the Hobart tourist spots. MONA ferry is :"over the road" . The girl who greeted us was great - imparting knowledge that helped us make the best of our visit. Good place to start the "Lonely Planet" Walking tour of Hobart from. We allowed three nights for Hobart - we could have done it in a max of 2. Be aware that on Friday and Sat nights (when we were there) there can be a lot of noise from "Revellers" in the park opposite. We didn't sleep well - but considered it a reasonable trade off for the position.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Not_2_old_2_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed for 3 days in the room over the bar during mid week. Was quiet (we are used to Sydney). Great atmosphere and the room is very clean and neat. Loved it. Great breakfasts and appreciated that it was included in the cost. We will definitely be staying here again if in Hobart. Probably will ask for the same room too as there was a lovely view and sea breeze. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed at Customs House early January 2014. Great location right across the road from the Hobart docks and waterfront. Walking distance to CBD, Salamanca, Battery Point and the docks. Includes a great breakfast, bar, restaurant & laundry also on the premises. The room was very comfortable and we enjoyed the heritage of the building. Best of all - we parked right out the front for no charge!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jashmawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent as it is right by the waterfront (clue is in the title!) and the rooms are pleasant enough but a bit tired looking and basic. Excellent breakfast included with your stay though so this kind of made up for it. On the downside - there is a nightclub right across the road and on Saturday nights it is banging and booming until after 4am so not very conductive to sleep especially if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OssyGirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

As others have said, there is no better location in town for sure. The hotel is in a nice old heritage building.

We stayed in room 9 on the first floor. The room was perhaps not one of the ones they feature in the promo shots, but we weren't there to see the inside of a hotel room. We also did not have any issues with noise in that particular room - the bar 'ambiance' was audible but not intrusive. The trade-off was a magnificent view of the building next door's rooftop airconditoners but you can't have everything :)

Staff were friendly and helpful, the housekeepers lent me a clothes horse when the dryers were busy. The included breakfast was great too, and some good mid-week meal specials in the bar.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.3 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Customs House Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Customs House Waterfront Hotel

Address: 1 Murray St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $97 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Customs House Waterfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Customs House Waterfront Hotel, built in 1846, has been owned by the Jubb family since 1992. The Jubb’s are 5th generation hoteliers with owners Paul and Karen managing the hotel alongside their children Robert and Emily. Located 2 minutes walk from the Salamanca Markets, Brooke St Pier, Constitution Dock, Pennicott’s Tours, the ferry to MONA Museum and Hobart’s shopping precinct, we have the perfect location for your Waterfront getaway in Hobart. Customs House Hotel is an icon in Hobart. Built in 1846 for one of the early settlers, Charles Gaylor, whose name is carved into the front copping stone, it was named after Customs House (now Parliament House) next door. Affectionately called the “Chop House” it was, and still is, known for a good meal and a soothing ale. We offer 30 warm and charming accommodation rooms upstairs. All recently renovated with new bathrooms and furnishings, the rooms offer a touch of modern in a historic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Customs House Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Customs Hotel Waterfront
Customs House Waterfront Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing