We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loads of character.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights and was really impressed and would recommend this place to visitors to Hobart. It was easy to find, in a fantastic location, and the staff were really helpfull. It has heaps of old world charm, and the room overlooked the water so we had a really pleasant view. It is close to restaurants and bars , and to the city, and if you're going to the markets at Salamanca , it is 2 minute walk if that. The very reasonable price included a hot breakfast, only downside was there is no parking, but we were out all day so that wasn't a bother as we could park on the street outside overnight. Would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 502 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Staff were efficient and friendly, accomodation clean, comfortable and very cosy - it is winter in Tasmania so effective heating was important. The hotel is across the road from the harbour, its restaurants and attractions and is a short walk to the city and local Metro bus services to the whole district. Gluten free toast available with the included breakfast options. Best poached eggs in Tasmania in our opinion. The breakfast included in the room tariff is generous and there is a wide choice available. We have stayed in a few hotels and BnBs in Hobart over the years, and this hotel is definitely the best. Interesting historic building.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank 40RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as it was close to the bars and restaurants in Salamanca. He rooms are old but clean and tidy. The room cost included a cooked breakfast, and there is a bar and restaurant onsite. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is no carpark, but you can buy a voucher for the carpark across the street for $6 a day mon-Fri. It is very close the the Salamanca Markets and right across from the pier, also close to the CBD so a great base for Hobart.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annastar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Customs House Hotel was very welcoming, The room was very clean, comfortable and spacious, Internet was available, tea and coffee facilities were provided in our room, The bathroom also had those special little extra's, Shampoo, Conditioner, Soap, shower cap, and a really good hair dryer :) Breakfast was served in the downstairs restaurant with a variety of choice's on the menu, ( breakfast was included in the price of our room ) The staff were very friendly and helpful, The view of the water front from our top floor room was awesome the location of the Hotel is central to everything in the cbd and to the tourist attractions on the water front, I will happily stay at this Hotel again while in Hobart

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellie_downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

For several years now the Customs House has been our accommodation of choice whenever we visit Hobart. It's in a superb location (we always choose a waterfront room) and the rates are very reasonable (& includes an item of choice from the breakfast menu - a quirky aspect that appeals to us.) We would like to make special mention of Sarah - her welcome and thoughtfulness during our recent stay was lovely. The Customs House deserves a 5 star rating despite its lack of parking for guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the waterfront but not directly above the bar on a Friday or Saturday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluepepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here recently ( on the 2nd floor ) ,which cuts out the noise from the bar, so ask for this. Had a great room on the corner overlooking Salamanca place and Sullivans Cove. It was located close to all the attractions of Hobart and the breakfast was great and the staff were excellent. They could not do enough for you. The view while having breakfast was really good.
This is a very historic building and the rooms had been tastefully done to reflect this theme.
I would not hesitate to stay here again. It has a bar downstairs and all the patrons were very welcoming. It is not a threatening pub area.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor and get one on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This historic building is in a wonderful location, right in the main waterfront area and is close to Salamanca Markets .Whilst the accommodation is quite basic, the rooms were warm and comfortable although we didn't have any views from our small window. There was plenty of fun to be had downstairs where a friendly bar offered live music and chatty locals and a charming restaurant had lovely meals for dinner and breakfast. Staff were congenial and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimLou6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Customs House Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Customs House Waterfront Hotel

Address: 1 Murray St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $102 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Customs House Waterfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Customs House Waterfront Hotel, built in 1846, has been owned by the Jubb family since 1992. The Jubb’s are 5th generation hoteliers with owners Paul and Karen managing the hotel alongside their children Robert and Emily. Located 2 minutes walk from the Salamanca Markets, Brooke St Pier, Constitution Dock, Pennicott’s Tours, the ferry to MONA Museum and Hobart’s shopping precinct, we have the perfect location for your Waterfront getaway in Hobart. Customs House Hotel is an icon in Hobart. Built in 1846 for one of the early settlers, Charles Gaylor, whose name is carved into the front copping stone, it was named after Customs House (now Parliament House) next door. Affectionately called the “Chop House” it was, and still is, known for a good meal and a soothing ale. We offer 30 warm and charming accommodation rooms upstairs. All recently renovated with new bathrooms and furnishings, the rooms offer a touch of modern in a historic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Customs House Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Customs Hotel Waterfront
Customs House Waterfront Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing