We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, great location but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel is in such a great spot. A very short walk to Salamanca Place, the pier and the city of Hobart. The room was very clean, a little dated but on the whole comfortable. We stayed over the Australia Day long weekend 2013 and it was VERY noisy both Sat and Sun nights with music until 1pm on the Sat night. We had been warned about this from previous reviews on Tripadvisor. On the whole a winner

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Murray St are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 484 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

The website for this hotel presents an image of renovated charm and contemporary refinement. The sandstone wall in our room was just about the only feature that matched the online images.
In reality it was a cheaply fitted room with inadequate storage mostly constructed from composite fibreboard. The lighting was so poor that it was barely possible to read and even in the day time the light provided by the only window was grey, as the view out side was of ducting from the kitchen and air conditioning flues. It was also very noisy, both because of the extraction systems and from the revelries in the bar below which seemed to be amplified by the said sandstone wall.
The breakfast was restricted to a single choice from the options available. This in practice meant that fruit and juice (only orange) could be taken but anything else would be charged. And in a country that prides itself in coffee, offering only "instant" with hot water dispensed from a thermos is a pretty poor show!

Room Tip: Location is very good and the Bakery next door is excellent, thank goodness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJWyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This place is great! If you are looking for decent pub accommodation in a great location right on the water, this is your place. For $150 a night, you can't fault this place. Breaky included as well! Highly recommend for your stay in Hobart!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nay_Rainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Spent a pleasant summer Sunday afternoon at this venue.
Started with some pre-lunch beer... locally brewed Moo Broo "BELGA" Pale Ale, a delightful and refreshing drink, at $11 per pint.
After a couple of pints, was ready to eat so booked table and chose from a menu with a decent lunch selection to suit all appetites.
Enjoyed a generous Turkish Bread sandwich of Pulled Pork served with nice chips.
Also shared in a delicious seafood chowder with a good selection of ingredients.
Recommend for a nice relaxing lunch.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nostratamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Hobart and the accommodation at Customs House was no small part of that - room was comfortable, breakfasts that came with the room had a nice variety and were tasty, staff were helpful and friendly. Yes, it is an old building, a bit of a rabbit warren can be loud early in the evening - it is over an excellent bar with live music, where we spent a lot of time - but the views and convenience more than made up for it,

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lost19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Really nice hotel right on the waterfront. The staff were very friendly and the bar was quite welcoming. There are also a number of bars on the other side of Parliment Square which are worth walking to as is the Sydney Hotel in the CBD. The rooms were spotless. The breakfast was OK but not fantastic.
Really worth visiting Port Arthur whilst you're there which can be tied in with a trip on Tasmanian Wilderness Adventures which although evpensive are really good.
I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We dinned at the Customs house one day last week for lunch , and were very pleasantly surprised how good it was.
We ordered an entree of mushroom ravioli to share, that was only just!
The main course we both had the blue eye special and it was just lovely, cooked to perfection.
Very pleased. We will return.Pat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciaTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.3 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Customs House Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Customs House Waterfront Hotel

Address: 1 Murray St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $96 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Customs House Waterfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Customs House Waterfront Hotel, built in 1846, has been owned by the Jubb family since 1992. The Jubb’s are 5th generation hoteliers with owners Paul and Karen managing the hotel alongside their children Robert and Emily. Located 2 minutes walk from the Salamanca Markets, Brooke St Pier, Constitution Dock, Pennicott’s Tours, the ferry to MONA Museum and Hobart’s shopping precinct, we have the perfect location for your Waterfront getaway in Hobart. Customs House Hotel is an icon in Hobart. Built in 1846 for one of the early settlers, Charles Gaylor, whose name is carved into the front copping stone, it was named after Customs House (now Parliament House) next door. Affectionately called the “Chop House” it was, and still is, known for a good meal and a soothing ale. We offer 30 warm and charming accommodation rooms upstairs. All recently renovated with new bathrooms and furnishings, the rooms offer a touch of modern in a historic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Customs House Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Customs Hotel Waterfront
Customs House Waterfront Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing