We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice staff and clean place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backpackers Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Backpackers Imperial Hotel
Ranked #21 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great location, nice staff and clean place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I'd really recommend it. Only complaint is the lack of power plugs in the room: I stayed at the 8 people mixed dorm and only one bed had plugs on the wall and they were already in use. Had to charge my phone at the social room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cmag20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial B, Front Office Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your great review. We really appreciate our guests feedback. That was a good point about the lack of power points in the dorm and I have made a note about getting power extensions to all the dorm rooms.

Kind regards

Else

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    45
    39
    11
    15
See reviews for
7
22
73
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I don't have any real complaints about this Backpacker/Hotel, I do have some suggestions, but nothing that would stop me from staying here again.

First off, let me say that the location is excellent, right in the middle of Hobart, and close to pretty much everything you could want it to be - the CBD, Salamanca, public transport service, the waterfront - and the staff were friendly and helpful. I had a single room, on the top floor. The bed was new, the mattress comfortable and the facilities available (lounge/kitchen area) were definitely serviceable. The bathrooms were pretty dated, but they'd need to gut-reno them really do anything with them, but certainly something they should consider doing during a quiet period when they can keep a floor empty so that the bathrooms aren't needed.

With regards to the rooms, there are a couple of things that would've made this a more enjoyable stay for me, however they're not deal-breakers.
1) A bedside table would be great (and a power point near it rather than the other side of the room)
2) A rubbish bin, doesn't need to be anything fancy
3) Some sort of floor covering, even if only more matting such as what has been used in the corridors. Doesn't need to cover the whole floor, but even something to just get out of bed on.

Overall, very happy with my stay and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FishInTheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial B, Front Office Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi

Thanks for your great review and suggestions. We are happy that you had a nice stay at Imperial Backpackers.

We really like your suggestions about the room and we hope to make these changes in the near future.

Hope to see you again sometime.

Regards

Else

Front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I've stayed in many hostels, and this was definitely one of the better ones. The staff were awesome, the rooms were clean, the facilities were good, the location is great - I'd definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Stayed in a Queen room - very comfy and spacious, no complaints whatsoever.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelinrob2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial B, Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi travelinrob2014!!

Thank you very much for your review! It was great to have you stay with us and we hope you can come and stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I really enjoyed my time at this hostel. It has a great location so must things are in walking distance. The staff is super friendly and the beds are so comfortable. Nice kitchen as well. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sasi94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial B, Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hi Sasi94!

Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure having you stay with us! We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had a good stay and have to thank the staff for the help getting around and knowing what to do. Everything is kept clean and the kitchen is very good . The place is getting upgraded so next users will have a better experience with this friendly place. Would recommend it for sure.
Pedro

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedrosalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial B, Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hi Pedro,

Thank you so much for your review! It was a pleasure to have you staying with us! Your input into improving our business was very valuable!!

Hopefully you can come and visit again when we have completed our upgrades!!

Kind Regards,
Jonny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

A great place to revive while travelling. Beds are so comfy. Quiet in the heart of Hobart CBD. Helpful manager so highly recommend it. Parking is difficult during the day so I drove until I was able to park free for the day up Liverpool Street. It worked well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 214Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial B, Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi 241Ann,

Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Unfortunately the parking situation is an issue we are working to resolve. Hopefully in the future we can arrange to have discounted overnight parking nearby for our guests!

Thank you once again, and we appreciate your input! We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

My first time in a backpackers hostel.. I have been really surprised. Good locality, very clean, wifi , don't need to use a sleeping bag. I have had a great time. Very complete hostel.
I did some others after and i have been disappointed compared to the impérial backpackers.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P-the-Frenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial B, Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi P-the-Frenchie,

Thank you so much for your review! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope you can come and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#19 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart
#22 of 46 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel
0.5 mi away
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Imperial Hotel

Property: Backpackers Imperial Hotel
Address: 138 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Central City Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Backpackers Imperial Hotel! We are the newest and largest backpackers situated right in the heart of Hobart. We pride ourselves on offering a clean, safe and friendly place to stay while exploring Hobart and Southern Tasmania. The Backpackers has just completed a new refurbishment of all rooms, the kitchen, dining and lounge area. The establishment has been freshened up with a new coat of paint throughout, and brand new appliances, bedding and furnishings. It truly is a fresh and retro feel to an old and beautiful 1870's building. Being located in the centre of Hobart we are only minutes walking distance to Salamanca Place, Battery Point, the Hobart Waterfront, art galleries, museums, restaurants, cafes, bars and much more, all for you to explore! Our private rooms contain luxury leather beds whilst our dorm beds are metal framed with inner-spring mattresses with fresh linen provided. We have a large common area with a large television, beautiful Italian leather lounges to relax in, with free WiFi provided to all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Backpackers Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Imperial Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing