We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on Location but a needs a facelift”
Review of Salamanca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salamanca Inn
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2007

Salamanca is the place to stay when in Hobart. Close to all the cafes and waterfront. You can still stroll into the city for some shopping or for business.

The Property is well located, but it needs some work. The furnishings are tired and carpet needed a good clean. The small restaurant is good and the food is good quality.

Overall you won't be disappointed, but you won't feel completely satisfied either.

I would probably stay someone when next in Hobart.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 600 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2007

Our family group of 6 (my husband and I, 2 children aged 8 and 10 and my elderly parents) were recently booked into the Salamanca Inn for 4 nights as part of our 2 week Tasmanian holiday. It is excellently situated in the Salamanca tourist precinct within walking distance of amenities. However, while the location, car parking, pool, restaurant, free laundry availability were all positive, we were less than happy with the apartment itself. Through our travel agent, we had been booked a "3 bedroom apartment". What a disappointing choice. Though the agent should take the rap for not choosing better for our group's particular needs, (which is what I was advised by staff on enquiring if there might be a single level alternative) this place could do with a real injection of customer care. For six people the space was barely adequate. The apartment consisted of a small but functional kitchenette, a poky living room with shabby furniture and not exactly 3 bedrooms. The main bedroom was located 15 steps up from the living area! The bathroom was adjacent to this. Due to my parents age and physical condition we gave this room to them as they required the bathroom during the night and could hardly be expected to safely climb up and down 15 stairs. My husband and I therefore took the second bedroom which had twin beds. This was cramped and airless. The "3rd bedroom" for the children was a half-partitioned doorless alcove off the living room which just fitted a double bunk bed. Other irritations: Though there were six of us there were only 4 chairs at the dining table which had to be pulled out from the wall each time so we could fit around it. The children sat on the floor around the coffee table to eat. The living room and children's alcove lighting was all on the one switch so when it was lights out for the kids it was lights out for all of us, like it or not. The bathroom had a shower over the bath, and my mother fell while stepping in as there was no rail or similar to hold on to. While upset, thankfully she was not injured. Also, being an older place the bathroom had no ventilation fan. Bad news. All this and supposedly 4 star! My overall impression was that the customer's needs at Salamanca Inn were at the bottom of the priority list. Thank goodness compensation was to be found in the very beautiful city of Hobart itself!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank jomarySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2006

In a very central location just minutes from Salamanca Place and the Harbour. There is a large underground car park.

Front desk staff were excellent, only complaint was that we weren't given the HotelClub welcome pack which we subsequently learnt we should have received.

This is an all suite property and the rooms are large with a bedroom, living room and small but well equipped kitchen. Bathroom is also of a good size. This property represents very good value for Hobart. We had no problems with the PC although the WiFi wasn't that fast.

The property also has a lounge, bar and restaurant with a good and varied menu. In addition there is a small indoor pool and spa and laundry facilities on a number of floors.

When planning your trip try and stay here on a Saturday - the local market is very good.

If you book over the internet you will receive one free breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank AFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2006

We stayed here for 4 nights in a one bed hotel room which was more like a small apartment/studio with kitchen and lounge area plus the sleeping area.

Location is good for central Hobart and close by plenty of places to eat and drink. The hotel has facilities as well which we did not need to try.

The major problem when we stayed was the PC access. Each room has a computer and they claim wireless networking for each room but this proved extremely unreliable. When we checked in a previous guests account was still showing on the PC and it took several enquiries with reception to get this cleared and although we were assured we would not incur this persons internet download costs on check out they were included on our bill although quickly removed when we pointed out the error. The internet was a reason for staying here as we needed access but is was not only unrealiable but also extremely expensive which almost defeats the point of providing it.

Technology asides, this was a pleasant enough place although not cheap. In the context of Tasmania and Hobart there probably is'nt a great deal of competition though in this category.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank dugongs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2005

I first stayed at this property roughly 4 years ago. Having just returned I can report that nothing has changed in that time. Yes its well located in Battery Point which is Hobart's most historic precinct and its walking distance to great restaurants, cafes and shops. However the apartments (we stayed in a 2 bedroom) are in need of an update. The lounge furniture is old and tacky and the beds most uncomfortable to sleep in. For this reason I would not stay there again. And they are charging top dollar too.

There are many apartment alternatives that I will try next time. Namely Somerset on the Pier and also a new development Zero Davey which looks great.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Melbourneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2005

We stayed at the Salamanca Inn for 3 nights from 22 - 25 October 2005. We had stayed there before 3 years ago and had a very enjoyable stay.

Overall I still think this is a good hotel in a great location. We had a 2 bedroom apartment in the complex across the road from the main hotel which was very spacious with 2 bathrooms and a large open plan kitchen, dining and living area. However, I do have some negative comments:

1. We arrived at about 10.30pm on a Saturday night after travelling most of the day from Perth. The restaurant and bar had already closed and the receptionist could only recommend the Irish Murphys bar in Salamanca Place. In fact, that was a loud disco full of drunken teenagers. The only place to eat was a sandwich shop a couple of blocks away. It was only the next day that we found that we could have ordered room service, despite this not being brought to our attention.

2. Salamanca Place is now extremely noisy on Saturday nights with a young, drunken crowd. When we arrived at the entrance to the hotel at 10.30pm a youth was being arrested and handcuffed on the street by police. The noise outside continued until 5am. The next 2 nights were however quiet and peaceful.

It's still a great hotel but I think it is a bit overpriced, and if you are staying on a Saturday night I'd either make sure you have a room at the back of the complex or look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jet Set Jimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2004

My partner and I have just returned from 3 days in Tasmania. We booked accomodation at a highly acclaimed bed & breakfast in Launceston which was comfortable. On our second night we stayed at Salamanca Inn "WOW". Over the last 12 mths we have stayed in Sydney, Apollo Bay, Gembrook, Daylsford, Wye River, yet Salamanca Inn was the most relaxing accomodation we have had the pleasure of staying in, it had everything that we needed and more and the price was fabulous. Thankyou to the staff and the lovely Tasmanian people.

29  Thank tlb2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.4 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,300 reviews
0.5 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hobart
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#7 Business Hotel in Hobart
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $142 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart's best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart's famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David's Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and 15 Foxtel Channels. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing