We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort In Hobart”
Review of Salamanca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salamanca Inn
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
“Comfort In Hobart”
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We stayed at the Inn for 5 nights at the end of a sight -seeing tour of Tasmania in February 2009. When we arrived at the hotel we were a little wary of what to expect since some visitors had reported that the hotel could be noisy, we were however delighted when we found a very well run hotel, with friendly and very helpful staff who were prepared to go out of their way to help make our stay as pleasant as possible. Our room was large and very well equipped, it was impeccably clean, and was serviced every day. It had internet connection at a small extra charge, and it was very comfortable and quiet. We didn't eat in the hotel but enjoyed meals in the delightful restaurants just around the corner near the port, where the famous market is held on a Saturday morning, the hotel is located in such a way as not to be unduly affected by the bustle, but close enough for guests to enjoy the atmosphere.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn, and when we reflect on some of the other hotels we thought of staying at, having seen them at first hand we are pleased we chose to stay in Salamanca. We would recommend the Salamanca Inn to any-one who is considering visiting this lovely part of Australia.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDEWALES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    240
    42
    10
    4
See reviews for
158
241
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

My husband and I had 8 nights at Salamanca Inn in a 1 bedroom apartment.

We were pleased with nearly all aspects of our stay -staff we had contact with were superb, apartment was spacious and clean with all necessary equipment, daily cleaning and supply of bathroom and kitchen amenities were appreciated, and the location was excellent for all the activities happening between Xmas and New Year on the waterfront.

Only complaints were -
Lack of airconditioning which meant we needed windows open at night and with apartment overlooking two carparks noise could be a nuisance.
Time charged local calls on the telephone -
Slowness of the T.V. remote and the in-room Computer.
High charge for the computer - even if only 10 mins needed to check emails the charge was for 1 hour at $5.50 - therefore the Internet cafe just behind the Inn was great at $1 for 10 mins with extra fast connection.

However if in Hobart again we would definitely return to Salamanca Inn mainly for its great location and wonderful staff

  • Liked — Staff and location - both excellent
  • Disliked — TV and Internet connections - both slow and internet overpriced
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank raevalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster County, PA
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We enjoyed the Salamanca Inn for its convenient location in Hobart and friendly staff. It's a nice bonus to have a washer handy on a long trip, and this was especially appreciated. I agree with some of the other reviewers that the property is in need of a renovation, but we found it to be very clean, and it had what we needed.

It's easy to walk from the hotel to the street market, restaurants, shops, and other attractions. We found no problem with noise outside the hotel, but we were there in the off-season and during the week, so maybe it's quite different at other times.

If in Hobart on another trip, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment a few weeks ago. We are a family of five. The hotel is in a fantastic location and the staff are excellent. My only complaint is that the rooms are very dated with a grotty looking bathroom. The room was serviced daily which was great but all the equipment is old. The tv's were old as were the kitchen appliances. I would class it as 3 star - definately not 4.5 star.

  • Liked — The staff and the location.
  • Disliked — The dated bathroom and kitchen
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spyderweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2008

The Salamanca Inn is up the street from the famous Saturday Salamanca Market. Hobart is a great town and we stayed near the waterfront. Close to tours, the visitor center, transportation, and restaurants. The inn provides a full kitchen, modern room with cable TV, in-room computer, a laundry room on the same floor, and lots of closet space. The location is great and the Saturday market was terrific. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — in-room kitchen/laundry service/location
  • Disliked — Up a steep hill from the main street
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CM101746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2007

We have just returned from a 7 night holiday in Hobart, staying in a 2 bedroom suite (Room 306) at the Salamanca Inn.

THE ROOM
The apartment was the perfect size for our family (2 adults and 2 children aged 5 and 8) and included an equipped galley kitchen with all appliances including a dishwasher and microwave. The only improvements to the kitchen set-up I would recommend is the inclusion of a sharp knife, a large pot (for boiling pasta) and a colander.

The main bedroom was upstairs, was huge and included a TV and in-room electronic safe. The bathroom was also upstairs and quite large as well. There was more than enough room to hang all our towels and wet swimming costumes - great!

The kids room was downstairs, just off the lounge room area which had sofas, a large TV, coffee table and dining table and chairs. Also there was a balcony which afforded some glimpse of the water, where the kids loved eating their dinner. The 2nd bedroom was quite small but fitted 2 single beds, luggage and a built in wardrobe comfortably enough.

The best thing about staying in this apartment was that it was serviced daily by the very friendly and efficient housekeeping staff. Our beds were made and the kitchen was wiped down even though I had done them already!

Since there are about 15 stairs to negotiate to get to the bathroom, I wouldn't recommend the room to families with very young children and/or the elderly.

The beds were comfortable and during our stay, were all replaced with brand new Sleepmaker Miracoils!

The only downside of this room was the noise factor. Our room overlooked the hotel carpark as well as a public carpark and the rear of several restaurants/bars in Salamanca Place. This meant that in the evening we had loud party/drunk/happy people noises as well as that of car hoons. And then after closing time, we had the noise of empty bottles and rubbish being thrown into the large industrial bins.

THE HOTEL
The staff were all fantastic, friendly and helpful. We were able to check-in early and the facilities of the hotel were excellent.
The roof-top swimming pool and spa is very small but was sufficient for our needs. The kids just loved having a swim in the late evening and thought it was a real treat.

We ate in the Hotel's restaurant one night, and the food was very good and reasonably priced and included lots of local produce. Children's meals were $10.50 which included dessert.

However being so close to Salamanca Place and Sandy Bay and within walking distance to the CBD, we may not have eaten at the restaurant if our accommodation package had not included a $50 restaurant voucher.

We had a fantastic holiday in Hobart.
I would recommend Salamanca Inn to anyone for it's fantastic location and hospitality.

  • Liked — The location is sensational and the staff who were always friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked — The noise of the nearby carpark and restaurants.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tric0660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2007

Salamanca is the place to stay when in Hobart. Close to all the cafes and waterfront. You can still stroll into the city for some shopping or for business.

The Property is well located, but it needs some work. The furnishings are tired and carpet needed a good clean. The small restaurant is good and the food is good quality.

Overall you won't be disappointed, but you won't feel completely satisfied either.

I would probably stay someone when next in Hobart.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Property: Salamanca Inn
Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#7 Business Hotel in Hobart
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart's best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart's famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David's Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and 15 Foxtel Channels. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing