We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Salamanca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salamanca Inn
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Came to Hobart for a meeting at the conference center. This was a good place to stay, with kitchen facilities. Modern, quiet, good internet. Had one dinner at restaurant at the hotel and that was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    240
    42
    10
    4
See reviews for
158
241
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the honeymoon suite, only as it was the only room available. It was a good size, bed was comfortable. Bedroom, however was stuffy and warm as the air con didnt make it upstairs.
Staff were very helpful and friendly.
We ordered breakfast in our room, it would appear that it hasn't been cooked fresh and was not very hot.
Salamanca place was just a short stroll away, recommend visiting Salamanca markets which are held every Saturday. Most enjoyable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with a friend. The location is perfect, just by the markets. The room was spacious with a sitting area, dining table and kitchenette with a dishwasher and large fridge. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was also a laundry, which was free to use. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room103. There was a little bit of street noise, which although did not disturb us, roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perth66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

we stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip and liked it so much stayed another 3 days at the end. My main reasons for coming back -
Plenty of free secure parking for the hire car (there were always spare parks)
Kitchen had everything for cooking a full meal (including oven & dishwasher)
Each floor has a laundry with 3 washing machines and 3 dryers (no charges) plus free powder
Perfect location
Friendly staff
Quiet location even with the bars etc at the bottom of the street, rooms have double glazed windows.
We stayed in the Queen rooms on the 2nd floor, not great views, but could see Mt Wellington from one (215 I think), and down towards Salamanca Place from room 220.

A couple of minor things to consider - moderately steep hill up from Salamanca Place (like most of CBD Hobart). A couple of steps at the main entry, wheelchair access is right next to the steps via the driveway entry.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PealBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a total of 4 nights during our 12 day trip around Tasmania. We found it to be in a perfect position right behind Salamanca Square and in easy walking distance to everything we wanted to see everywhere we wanted to be. We wanted to be in Hobart for the (Saturday) Salamanca Markets and this hotel is well located because the markets are just around the corner. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean with the added advantage of a kitchenette. The staff were efficient and friendly. The only minor issue was that it still doesn't have free wifi, which in an establishment as nice and grand as this you would expect. Still, it wasn't too expensive when we had to use it. The hotel had free parking underneath for guests, which is very convenient. There are also lots of bars and restaurants close by.

Room Tip: I don't think any of the rooms would have great views but the excellent location makes up for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balmainiacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Can't get the location any perfect than salamanca inn. Walking distance to salamanca place where there are plenty of pubs and restaurants and also very close to the wharf. Hotel is very clean and the downstairs restaurant has some good options in the menu.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanushka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Great location in Salamanca Square; staff here could not be more helpful; apartments are modern and a little plain, but nicely done. I would stay here again. Kitchen is was nice, although no coffee maker, which I think they should have and internet should be free, they charge, and for the prices, think free internet should be included.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Property: Salamanca Inn
Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#5 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Business Hotel in Hobart
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart's best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart's famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David's Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and 15 Foxtel Channels. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing