We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salamanca Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salamanca Inn
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

It is as good as it looks. Nicely renovated with all the mod-cons. Parking was very handy given you can leave the car and walk to most places from the hotel. The kitchen was unexpected for the price. So many places to eat and browse on the doorstep. Easy to chill out. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186daver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    222
    39
    7
    4
See reviews for
134
213
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Big Room with massive TV too. $179 inc hot breakfast and parking in Salamanca is good value. Good work desk and full kitchen too. Heated bathroom and tile floors was great. Only faults were no foxtel and bed is on the hard side. Staff are friendly too.

Room Tip: Any room i'd say
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We had the most delightful weekend in Hobart.
The hotel staff were extremely helpful. Our room was so comfortable, spacious & super clean.
The restaurant & staff were of the highest quality! Cuisine was incredible; the restaurant was so busy, yet the staff were still so attentive.
We're looking forward to returning before 2013 is over!
We would highly recommend a stay here.... It has it all!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife, young Daughter and I stayed at the Salamanca Inn in Aug 2013. We had never been to Hobart or Tassy before and from the website this hotel looked good.

We were not disappointed, the rooms have been renovated from their previous 1980's decor and are fresh and large. Our room had a kitchen and large combined living and bedroom area that was quite large. There was no view from our room but that was fine.

The staff were very friendly and efficient at check in and with questions we had for them. The restaurant was very good and priced quite well, the food was presented very well and came out in a reasonable amount of time for the amount of people eating at the time. The decor of the restaurant is warm and inviting with a modern touch.

A full hot breakfast was included in our rate and was excellent, eggs coked to order as was the bacon. The staff were always friendly and apart from the young male waiter who insisted on calling me "Matey" I cannot fault the dinning experience.

As for location its literally 50m from Salamanca pl where you have a large choice of pubs and restaurants. See other reviews. The Salamanca markets were excellent with lots of variety, there was lots of wood products including excellent carvings, it is a must see.

My only fault with the Hotel is the "Heated pool", as its advertised, yes it is heated but its not warm, the weather was tops of 16 deg c when we stayed and the pool was warmer than that but when you dip a toe it was still cold, as was the spa. So yes the pool is warmer than the outside ambient but its still cold, FYI.

Overall we will stay at the Salamanca Inn when we visit beautiful Tasy again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TC182TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Upon arrival at the front desk we were impressed. Great service with a happy and efficient receptionist. Arrived Saturday morning early and the room was ready for a few hours, great because we didn't expect it to be ready until 2pm! Walked out the door and the wonderful Salamanca Markets were on. After spending a few hours there buying lots of produce, we went to our room. Surprised, big room, split beds (had to pay extra for that as it was a girls weekend away). There was even a basic kitchenette, good sized fridge. The location is perfect, close to everything. We hired a car, and the car park was next to the hotel at no extra cost. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenandGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in July. Had fantastic room, not a great view but still something to look at. Had the king suite and it was huge. Biggest plus was the bathroom floor is heated!! Good car park available and breakfast included was excellent! Only place we'll stay from now on, 30 second walk and you're in the heart of Salamanca!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellacavallo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our family, my husband and I , 14 year old son and 11 year old daughter, enjoyed our stay in a 3 bedroom apartment. Quiet, comfortable, clean and absolutely no complaints. Walking distance to the wonderful shops at Salamanca, and to fantastic cafes and eateries. We also enjoyed a short walk into the city. Parking was secure and no problems. Although the apartment was advertised as having no view, from ours we could see Mount Wellington and some of the city. An enjoyable stay - we shall be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rorycat48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.3 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#9 of 45 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Property: Salamanca Inn
Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#5 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Business Hotel in Hobart
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart's best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart's famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David's Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and 15 Foxtel Channels. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing