We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Salamanca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salamanca Inn
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We visited Hobart for a long weekend at the mid winter solstice and the "Big Moon". We wanted a hotel where Salamanca Market, the waterfront and the restaurant strip was just around the corner, we wanted a warm hotel: Salamanca Inn delivers on this. We were hiring a car and needed access to off street parking. Salamanca Inn offered this: free. Access from the car park to the hotel foyer is very easy. Reception at all times was staffed with people who really knew their stuff and clearly enjoyed working with people. They were helpful, pleasant and friendly. We wanted good internet reception: Salamanca Inn not only offers internet access, they have a computer in your room! We took a Queen apartment which is very spacious: nice big clean bathroom, plenty of vanity space. The bed and bedding was comfortable and adequate, would have welcomed extra pillows. The storage and hanging space was generous. The leather lounge and wide screen TV was welcome. The apartment comes with a kitchenette fully equipped to cook a meal should you desire to, but who is going to come to Hobart and stay on the restaurant strip and actually want to cook? Only thing missing was a coffee plunger, we always take our own, anyway. Would have liked a view, but, hey, this is not a perfect world. You have to go to a higher floor to get a view. The bathroom had a shower in the bathtub, all fairly solid, with a bit of a step down to exit the tub. There are so many hotels that do not offer a rail for support when climbing out of a slippery wet bathtub after a shower. This is such a common phenomenon that you could be left wondering if the accident rates are so low that no one bothers? Lots of hotel have a magnifying mirror for shaving and makeup. This one didn't. To that end we have found a suction stick on travelling mirror. And, yes, it was the only thing we forgot to pack when we left. There are hotels all over the world with a bonus magnifying mirror, compliments of us! The housekeeping was prompt and unobtrusive. We did take the breakfast option. You can have continental breakfast, or for a $6 upgrade, which we took, the reason being that it was too cold to go out for breakfast first thing in the morning. The breakfast menu is more than adequate. The Continental Breakfast is also quite adequate and delicious, especially the local creamy yoghurt. This is a hotel I would stay at again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for Salamanca Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 582 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Thanks heaps. Clean, modern, kid friendly and relaxing. Great location right on Salamanca place. Stay Friday night and skip downtown the mkt in the morning. Relaxing pool after you've been sightseeing and before inner!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaG913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights - a very central place to stay in Hobart close to restaurants, harbour & attractions. The staff were very nice and provided a great service. The rooms are big, clean and with all basics you need plus a computer. We didn't eat in the restaurant as there are so many great restaurants close by however the restaurant at the hotel seem to get some good reviews. The parking was also free if you need a car park overnight.
The only small thing a like to mention to be careful with; the ironing board, it topples over easily.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagnusAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I checked out the lower starred reviews on this place as I was curious - they seem to mostly occur before this place had a renovation, so I suspect that their issues have now been addressed. The rooms are a great size, clean and neat, well fitted out. Hotel facilities are good, and the restaurant was a good surprise - the food was really tasty. Awesome location, and one of the best breakfast places I've ever been is just around the corner (Zum's). The staff were all friendly and had great recommendations of places to go.

Room Tip: We had the King room, which has no view (which they advise when you book) - there are no King size b...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel is close to Salamanca Place and the CBD. Our two room apartment was well equipped, the beds were comfortable and it was beautifully clean and quiet. Although there were no views, this didn't matter as we were out and about all day exploring Hobart. We ate in the restaurant and had the best seafood chowder! I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again. The spa was not great - had heaps of chlorine in it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneJanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Excellent location, excedengly friendly and helpful staff. Apartments well equipped and offering modern, comfortable decor. Kitchen sufficiently equipped. Our 14 day stay was most enjoyable.
We had a problem with a collapsing toilet seat on a Sunday, shich was fixed in a matter of hours
by bringing a repairman in. Now that is try#uly service!

Room Tip: Anywhere would be nice.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwjonrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at the Salamanca Inn five nights in May 13. The Inn is three storey (With no views), however very central to downtown Salamanca... which is literally at your doorstep. We chose this hotel for the location and apartment style offerings and were not disappointed. The bed was very comfy, rooms clean and a good size bathroom.

We did not eat at the restaurant as there were so many other options just outside - that were delicious... including SMOLT.. for breaky, the baked eggs with Leak/onion/asparagus are divine!

There is no Gym at the Inn, however there is a great Gym just across the road with excellent facilities for $18.00 casual visit or $50.00 week.

Whilst the Inn does not necessarily have a 'Great and welcoming' atmosphere in the entrance/foyer... the staff are very helpful at all times.
We would be happy to stay again in such a central location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilliganandskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.3 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#7 Business Hotel in Hobart
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $151 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart's best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart's famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David's Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and 15 Foxtel Channels. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing