We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable accommodation at Salamanca”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Salamanca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salamanca Inn
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Perth WA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation at Salamanca”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Salamanca Inn for two nights. The dcor is very minimal but loved the art work - lovely scenes of Hobart. The apartment was very functional with good kitchen facilities and lounge area. There was no outlook. The receptionists were friendly and professional. Parking was undercover and secure. I though the room was quite expensive but it was lovely to be within walking distance of Salamanca and especially Salamanca Fresh where we shopped for all the provisions we needed. Also there are lots of restaurants, pubs, retail outlets and other attractions very close by. Great for people wanting to self-cater.

Room Tip: Maybe request a room with a view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilliePerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    234
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
153
233
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay there but went there for a wedding the meal was unbelievable the service was great All of the meals come at once and the ice cream is one of the best that I have had. We will be definitely going back

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank darren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent first three nights of out Tasmania holiday here. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and undercover parking a real bonus. Nice sized room with bedroom/lounge room, and a kitchen area we did not use much. Arrived on Friday so we could check out Salamanca before the Saturday market. Art & craft shops in Salamanca were marvellous, and some excellent restaurants in the area, including the hotel's restaurant. Very hot weekend when we stayed, so having the air-conditioned comfort of our room so close to everything was a real bonus. The Saturday market was outstanding - far superior to the markets in Melbourne or Dandenong with many quality crafts, and some luscious fresh produce. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spent 5 nights here and compared to the prices and ordinary standards of some accommodation we have paid and stayed in during our tour around Tasmania, the standard of this hotel is superb and quite affordable! Large bedroom/lounge room/dining area/ and with a very functional kitchen.We enjoyed the option of having a decent kitchen to cook in -when travelling, a home cooked meal becomes lusted after and we also enjoyed the opportunity to make our own brekky! The bathroom was good sized with a shower over the bath. There is also a guest laundry with washing powder supplied and clothes driers at no extra charge . Don't forget the spa and swimming pool, unfortunately we didn't avail ourselves of this often enough. Location is great - very short walk to Salamanca Place, there is a great food market with a butcher & deli just around the corner whose prices are comparable to supermarkets - we bought our supplies here and enjoyed some very tasty steaks, deli food and fresh vegies. Would not even contemplate trying to find a Woolies or Coles. This was the perfect base for us to do many day trips and it was so easy to find our way in and out of the city. You couldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Arriving at 10.30am and expecting to be told our room would be ready at 2pm we were agreeably surprised to be told we could have access to our room immediately.The lift is near reception so we headed off to room 318. One double bed upstairs and 2 double rooms downstairs (bathroom upstairs)One bedroom had bunks, one a double bed and the third 2 single beds.Unfortunately the bedroom with bunks had no mirror and power points were not working. Also no bedside light in this room. Call to reception and an extension lead was produced so we could take the lamp from the lounge into the bedroom.Nothing was too much trouble from the friendly staff. I would recomend staying here although probably more suited to families not 3 adults.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bedfordrees86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Accommodation in Hobart is expensive, but this hotel is good value. Our room was spotlessly clean, recently renovated and very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly at all times. Free undercover car parking was a real bonus.

The hotel is in a central position - 2 minutes walk to Salamanca Place, 5 minutes to the waterfront where you can catch the ferry to Mona or take a river cruise. Lots of restaurants nearby, although some fall into the "pub masquerading as a restaurant " category. Great breakfasts at the Machine Laundry Cafe around the corner. Also try Jackman and McCross in Battery Point for good coffee and cakes.

The only downside to being so central was the noise at night from people leaving the hotels and restaurants nearby. Keeping the windows closed and turning on ther air condtioning reduced this noise on our second night.

Given the size of the room, stylish amenities and friendly staff we would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0maDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turners Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I knew that this was a high quality hotel but really was most impressed by it. Hubby and I had a studio room, with King bed. It also had a small lounge area with a massive TV. It got all the free-to-air digital channels available and in-house movie channels. It boasted a full kitchen which was well presented and easy to use.

The room also had individually controlled air-conditioning, which we used. It could be a little noisy.

The bathroom was lovely and had all the extras you would expect of a luxury hotel.

The bed was luxurious, comfy and easy to sleep in. I had a great night's sleep both night I stayed here.

The staff were helpful and friendly. We had trouble logging on, and staying logged on, to the internet (which we purchased access to). They ensured that we could keep logging on, at no extra cost. The bathroom door squeaked something wicked and we asked for it to be fixed and it was, quickly and effectively, and did not squeak again!

This is not a property we would normally stay at, due to the cost, but it was a nice change for us. Due to its location it was a 2 minute walk to the local Salamanca Market; well worth a visit. It was then just a short stroll to the waterfront where you have the choice of lots of places to eat. A very popular place for locals and visitors alike.

We highly recommend this property if you are looking for quality and luxury in a nice place to stay then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Property: Salamanca Inn
Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#5 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Business Hotel in Hobart
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart's best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart's famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David's Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and 15 Foxtel Channels. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing