We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salamanca Inn
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is very nicely located about 500 m from Salamanca Street where all the action takes place. Great access to the pier/wharf and many many bars, restaurants and shops! We had a 2 storey room with small kitchenette. I loved the fact that there was a balcony so I could have a cigarette in close proximity to my room and private (so I could wear my jammies). We were there on Cage Night (crazy!!) and the noise from the bars etc did not bother us at all. The front desk staff was exceptionally helpful and booked whatever we wished. This hotel would have received a better rating had we not had to pay for Wi-Fi and the hot tub was even not cooler than the swimming pool. Big disappointment!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diamondone1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 612 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here with my family in a self-contained unit for 2 nights. What a great start to our Tasmania trip. Excellent location - just a short walk away from Salamanca Market, Salamanca Place and the docks area. Supermarket just down the road. Rooms were clean and comfortable, staff friendly and cheerful. Overall one of the best places we stayed in on our Tasmania holiday. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZorroEugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We've stayed here for 7 nights and have already booked to come back for 10 days same time next year. Rooms are spacious and clean, staff are super friendly and helpful, and rooms are quiet. My only complaint would be having to pay for wi-fi. It's time all hotels provided complimentary access. Otherwise 10/10

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LynnSharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here our first and last nights in Tasmania. It is clean, in a good location. We walked easily to pick up our rental car and also there are lots of good restaurants in the area. There is a guest laundry here, too, which is really nice when you are on a long trip. Nice size rooms with refrigerators and basic kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redstart3916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on Boxing day and found it to be as great as usual. The only reason I don't give the hotel five stars is the bathrooms need an upgrade as the bath/shower is as one and it is small and a few extra modern touches are lacking like DVD player, pay for movies etc. The staff are always friendly, the rooms clean and relatively modern, good furnishings etc. Some rooms don't have a view so if you are after a view this might not be the hotel for you. The closeness to the market, awesome restaurants and the waterfront is fantastic. We often stay here and will be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boats01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Well appointed, modeRn, clean hotel right in the heart of Salamanca Place. Spoiled for choice when it comes to local bars and restaurants, and of course, the famous markets on Saturdays. Excellent rooms - large and well catered for.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank MervRea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

In recent times we have stayed several times at the Salamanca Inn. It is so ideally situated to explore all Hobart has to offer, being on the doorstep of many lovely speciality shops, bars and restaurants, AND the famous Salamanca market, which runs every Saturday. Being an all-suite establishment, the apartments are well appointed, newly refurbished and very spacious. The staff are cheerful and helpful. Great pool, and I dare anyone to say they have had a better meal anywhere else. The food in the restaurant is superb. Try the seafood tier platter. Yum!

Room Tip: Go for a swim at night time to see the pool lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosiegirl233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.5 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#5 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Business Hotel in Hobart
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $136 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart's best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart's famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David's Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and 15 Foxtel Channels. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing