We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don't look out the window”
Review of Salamanca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salamanca Inn
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just don't look out the window”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was a very nice hotel, we stayed for 2 nights in early October. We were greeted on arrival by an exceptionally bubbly and helpful desk clerk and the clerk on the opposite shift was equally friendly and helpful, they both did all they could to ensure we had a pleasant stay.
The Hotel is located within walking distance to Salamanca Place and the waterfront. The room was very spacious, even the bathroom was a decent size. It was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. It was cold when we returned to the room on the first night and we had trouble getting the heat to come on but one call down to the front desk and they reset the termostat and we had heat pretty quickly after that.
We ate in the Hotel restaurant on night one and the food was very good and a little cheaper than surrounding restaurants.
There is a supermarket approximately 5 minutes walk from the hotel selling a sufficient selection of basic and gourmet type foods. The kitchen in the room had everything you would need to cook just about any type of meal.
All in all a good hotel. The only negative is that a view is VERY important to us but this room looked onto a brick wall, I was VERY disappointed with the outlook and would have booked another Hotel if I had known. Some rooms apparently have a view but not the King rooms. I thought it was a bit expensive considering the view. We could have got a great view from another 5 star Hotel on the waterfront for less money. But it wasn't a bad stay so......

Room Tip: Don't get a King room if you enjoy a view. I would call the Hotel first to request one of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelbabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    238
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
156
241
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is the best place to stay in Hobart you could not get better! I have been staying at Salamanca Inn for over 18 months now for business and they keep exceeding my expectations. I have tried other hotels and they just do not compare to Salamanca Inn. The team here are all wonderful they treat you like they would one of their family and nothing is too much trouble for them. Seriously, consider this hotel before any others. The walk to pubs, cafes and restaurants is 1 minute let alone Salamanca Markets on a Saturday morning...position, position, position. Best that I have experienced.

Room Tip: It really doesn't matter which room you get they are all in a good position. As I have stayed I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyCurnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed in 3 bedroom apt with group of 4. Very clean and well stocked. Fantastic location for Salamanca Market, Restaurants and Cafes and Boat cruises. Quiet location - no street noise. Friendly and helpful staff at reception. Plenty of space for storage. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freckles_580608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with 3 girlfriends on a long weekend. Rooms consisted of a main bedroom and bathroom upstairs and a bedroom down stairs with twin beds. A generous lounge and a full functioning kitchen. In house restaurant was fine. Lots of places to eat and only a short walk from the centre of Hobart and the docks area.
50 metres from the Salamanca Market on a Saturday. Good for dropping off your purchases and returning to the Market!!!

Room Tip: Rooms looking at Mt Wellington gets afternoon sun which is nice to sit on the balcony and have a win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mezzonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, just around the corner from Salamanca Markets. There is a great selection of pubs, cafes and eating places in this area and if you like to go for a walk its just a short stroll to the Historical area of Battery point, lovely old houses and shops.
We picked this hotel from our Iphone Tripadvisor App. The Receptionist was cheerful and very helpful. The room we had was large with a big flat screen TV with free inhouse movies. We had dinner in our room, it was all very nice. The room also had a fully equipped kitchen, we could of easily stayed here a few days. Will be back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuna111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Two weeks before our arrival, I received a call from Jess at reception saying there was a chance that the pool may have been unavailable during our stay due to necessary maintenance. She apologised for any inconvenience and said that if it wasn't available she would arrange for access to the pool at the health club across the street. I was impressed before we even arrived.

The suite was well laid out and appointed with a very useable kitchen.

The reception staff continued to impress with their knowledge of the local area particularly on where to hunt and gather for gourmet treats.

The room service food was a pleasant surprise - good quantity and quality.

The reason we chose this hotel was simply its proximity to the Salamanca Markets and we were not disappointed. The short 50m walk allowed us to intermittantly head back to the room to drop off our purchases. Another place I will no doubtedly visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in suite with daughter and son Iaw for long weekend. Had a lot of trouble finding a place to stay and this was by no means our first choice. It should have been. Beautiful well appointed rooms, lovely staff everywhere and well situated for all Hobart has to offer ... And free parking. Would definitely revisit if this way again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trom100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Property: Salamanca Inn
Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#5 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Business Hotel in Hobart
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart's best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart's famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David's Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and 15 Foxtel Channels. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing