We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lenna of Hobart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lenna of Hobart
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great room, outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We checked into the Lenna of Hobart and found the hotel quite charming and room clean, updated/modern and comfortable. We even had a small table with two chairs on a quiet patio surrounded by vines and flowers. What blew me away was Jackson, the front desk attendant. I'd only booked for one night but we'd decided to extend our stay for two nights... and the Lenna was full. He said that all hotels in town were booked and we might have to drive out of town to find a place... but he would call around and see what else might be available. Sure enough, about 10 minutes after we settled into our room, Jackson phoned to say he'd found a room just a few blocks away at a different hotel. When was the last time you had a front desk employee go that far to provide great service? Thank you Jackson and the Lenna Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat_harrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear cat_harrell,

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to receive such glowing feedback about Jackson, he is a great member of our team and I am glad he made such a lasting impression. Here at Lenna we try set ourselves apart from other hotels with our levels of personalised service. Jackson and the rest of the team are always trying to exceed expectations to ensure everyone enjoys their stay with us so I am very happy to hear you describe our level of service as outstanding.

I am also glad you liked our rooms, the Queen rooms on the park side are very peaceful and it is always nice to be able to get some fresh air by stepping out onto the balcony!

Once again thank you for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    198
    51
    14
    6
See reviews for
84
252
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Lenna is at the southern end of Salamanca Place and ideally situated to make the most of Hobart's tourist heart. The hotel is just a short walk from many good restaurants both in Salamanca and harbour-side. The main Hobart shopping district is about 15 minutes walk, if you don't get distracted along the way. The original Lenna was a colonial era mansion, and this part still houses reception, a nice bar, the fine-dining restaurant, and meeting rooms. On the harbour side there is now a purpose-built accommodation block with 4 floors of hotel rooms and larger penthouse suites on top. The harbour views get better with each floor up so ask for the higher ones.

We found the reception staff to be very friendly, helpful and efficient. They were quite happy to recommend good local restaurants and make bookings for us, rather than just trying to push the in-house dining. Our room was on the 4th floor with great views across the harbour-side area. It was large, very clean, quiet and nicely equipped. The rooms have been extensively refurbished since our last visit, and while we missed the former 'colonial' furnishings, the new look is still very comfortable with a more modern style. The walk-in shower is a nice touch.

With suites, harbour view rooms and other rooms available there are plenty of choices at various prices, but this is not a budget hotel. Expect to pay an appropriate price for what is a very good hotel in an excellent location. Parking and wi-fi are both free, and there is plenty of off-street parking in front of the accommodation building. Park outside reception to check in and then your room card will open the carpark boom gate. There is a lift (elevator) from the carpark level to all floors.

Overall we could find nothing to fault with this hotel and we recommend it highly to leisure or business travellers.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus_and_Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi Marcus_and_Wendy,

Thanks for the review, it’s great to receive such detailed feedback, especially from return guests!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Lenna and made the most of our complimentary services as well as our excellent location. I am also glad you liked your Harbour View Room, all our rooms have now been renovated so I am happy you enjoyed the changes we have made.

Thanks also for your comments on our staff. We always try to exceed expectations in regards to customer service and really believe this is what sets us apart from other hotels in Hobart so it good to get positive feedback, I will be sure to pass it on to the team.

We hope to see you again next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed in the Lenna for three nights. It is located at the end of Salamanca Place, which provides nearby access to pubs, cafes and restaurants. The CBD (shopping) is maybe a 15 minute walk away. I stayed in a park-view room, which faces away from the street. The views are pleasant and, being away from the street the room is quite quiet. The room itself was comfortable, of good size, and had the standard amenities. Staff were helpful and courteous. Note that the hotel is situated on a reasonably steep hill, which may hamper anyone who is of limited mobility. I had a very comfortable stay in this hotel and would seek it out if I were to return to Hobart.

Room Tip: Harbour View and Park View have nice views. Park View is a little further from the street, though I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyScale70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi GreyScale70,

Thank you for your review.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be comfortable and spacious. We find our Park View rooms to be very popular as they have a lovely outlook and are away from the road, on the quieter side of the hotel. We do find, however, that with the newly installed double glazing all our rooms are now much quieter.

Our location means we are a great base for exploring Hobart and I am happy to hear you were able to make the most of it. Although we are up a bit of a hill we do have car parking directly outside reception and there is also lift from the car park which takes you up to all the rooms.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Our Harbour view room was clean, modern and had a great view. Easy walk to Salamanca.

A quickly organized overnight trip was made easy with one call to the Lenna. Jackson on the front desk was helpful and just made it all happen, without a fuss. Thanks!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JusttheNight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear JusttheNight,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

I am happy to hear you liked your Harbour View Room and enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks for the feedback regarding Jackson, he is a real asset to our team and it is great to hear that he helped make your stay special. I will be sure to pass on your comments.

Hopefully we will see you next time you are in Hobart!

Kind regards,

Florence S
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had our last night here and loved the place. Brilliant standard, cosy, clean, quality abounds and great staff. Fantastic. Would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay that has quality has it's goal. Also a great Indian restaurant around the corner called Annapurna. Not to be missed

Room Tip: Mountain view room cheaper and great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whittakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hi Whittakb,

Thank you for your review and recommendation, we really appreciate your positive feedback.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us at Lenna including our excellent staff!

We look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is a very professionally run hotel ideally located for a visit to central Hobart. Salamanca Place is (literally) two or three minutes walk away and Battery Point itself is a lovely area, with beautiful historic houses and good cafes and restaurants. The room was very comfortable and spacious with a good bathroom, a couch and small table and chairs. The glass doors opened to let the sea breeze in which was very pleasant. The room had extra pillows, an iron and coffee and tea-making equipment. There is plenty of on-site parking. Although my room was on the lowest floor of the newer wing, it still had a (limited) view of the harbour. The old part of the hotel (formerly a mansion) is lovely and there is a very nice dining room. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Lenna is slightly pricey, however the convenience of the location is a real plus, particularly if you are travelling on your own. If you don't have breakfast as part of your package, there are several very nice cafes just up the road in the Battery Point village. All in all, a good option for a stay in Hobart.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city and the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Darlene1953,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Lenna and found everything you needed in our newly refurbished rooms. The sliding doors in our ground floor rooms are great to open up and allow the fresh air in to the room.

I am happy to hear you made the most of our excellent location and found our staff to be pleasant and helpful, we do strive to exceed expectations when it comes to service.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel last week for five nights. It would have been a pleasant experience to stay at this hotel if it hadn't been the height of summer. No air conditioning! It reached 90 degrees in our room. The supplied fan didn't help much. It was close to the downtown and the docks. Would have given it a 5 if it had A/C.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear David H,

Thank you for the review.

I am disappointed to hear that you found the room to be too hot.

Hobart experiences a temperate climate and we don’t usually require air-conditioning. This year however, we have experienced a number of days of heat wave conditions. We have recently installed double glazed windows which have cut down a lot of the heat (and noise) and this has made a big difference. We do generally find a cooler sea breeze comes in in the afternoon and guests are able to open their windows to help take advantage of this.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay and once again I apologise that you found the room to be warm. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss any of your comments further.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenna of Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenna of Hobart

Property: Lenna of Hobart
Address: 20 Runnymede St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#8 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lenna of Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Hobart's waterfront amidst the colour of Sullivan's Cove and historic Battery Point and just a stones throw away from fashionable Salamanca Place and city centre. The stately National Trust mansion was built in 1874 whilst the accommodation wing, adjacent to the mansion provides a welcoming combination of traditional elegance and modern facilities. The guest accommodation wing comprises fifty spacious en-suite hotel rooms offering well-appointed living and superior comfort facilities including queen size beds with most rooms providing wonderful views of the magnificent harbour, majestic Mount Wellington or surrounding parklands and Hobart city. The Lenna King suites offer elegance and space overlooking the harbour & Constitution Dock. Atop there are two deluxe rooftop penthouse apartments which are the ultimate luxury indulgence with 360 degree views of Hobart. The luxurious and exclusive Lenna Penthouses undeniably represent the ultimate indulgence in apartment living. Situated on Salamanca Place and overlooking Hobart's picturesque waterfront and the many lifestyle attractions, including markets, craft shops, cafes, restaurants, art galleries and the historic precinct of Battery Point. The alluring 360-degree panoramic views of Hobart's harbour and mountains from the rooftop apartments are simply stunning. They feature 2 king bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with the added flexibility of a third bedroom/living area of 35 square metres if required. The two apartments occupy the top floor of Lenna and can be offered together to form a spacious 5 bedroom 4 bathroom residence with an expansive and luxurious indoor and outdoor living space of 430 square metres that is exclusively yours. Lenna Penthouses offer state of the art furnishings, comforts and technology you would expect of a superior five-star plus apartment. All rooms are fully air-conditioned with individual climate control for each room. To find Hobart's best dining experience look no further than Alexanders Restaurant, winner of many food and wine awards. Alexanders provides a modern international menu using the finest Tasmanian produce complemented by an extensive wine list featuring Tasmanian wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lenna of Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenna Of Hobart Hotel Hobart
Lenna Hotel Hobart
Hobart Lenna Hotel
Lenna Of Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing