We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location, comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hobart
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good location, comfortable stay”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Easy check in and out. Hotel close to city center. comfortable bed and room. Clean. has a balcony.
Getting a bit old but hotel is changing ownership and I think will have a bit of renovation done.
Would go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel1987_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hi, Mel1987_21,
It's great to know you'll be back; looking forward to it.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    307
    184
    49
    23
See reviews for
112
302
43
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The location suited me very well. It was a 10 to 15 minute walk to Salamanca Place and the waterfront. Walking is the best way to experience a city. City centre shopping and services are even closer. There was very little traffic noise.

My room was spacious and the balcony was a "bonus." The room was on the fifth, top, floor and had expansive views to the north west. Mount Wellington was visible above the city. No other capital city in Australia is so close to a mountain of this size.

The range of food available for breakfast and dinner at "Embers", the in-house restaurant, was comparable to most quality hotels. The quality of the food, both for breakfast and dinner, was very good.

The owners are installing airconditioning units. This will be a welcome improvement for the summer months.

The only problem that I had was with the access card to the room. The reader malfunctioned. It was a holiday weekend and maintenance staff were not available. This will happen in most cities in Australia. Reception soon gave me the room next door instead.

The staff were consistently friendly and helpful.

I would stay at the Best Western Hobart again.

Room Tip: Ask Reception about access to the internet if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear KevinVoyage,
I am so pleased you enjoyed our location, catering and friendly team. I hope we can look after you again the next time you visit beautiful Hobart.
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stay 6 nights, standard room. Staff offered free upgrade but no twin beds available. Hotel location: OK with car ($10/night parking fee) but away from CBD/Salamanca Pl. There is no place nearby for coffee, snacks.
No AC - to be fixed eventually), TV not quite OK., Bathroom shower only, floor overflows. Staff very friendly, when we complained about noisy neighbours (poor noise insulation), we got a free breakfast. Full breakfast is pricey - $22.50 pp. Best points: cheap, we paid about $120/night.
Tasmania is expensive, meals etc some 20% higher than in Sydney, a studio apartment near Salamanca Place about $300/night. Maybe better to visit in off season.
.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnysch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Johnnysch,
Thank you for the review. I am sorry you were disturbed by other guests; we are always happy to quieten rowdy customers if this is reported. High season in Tasmania does see a tariff rise in all hotels and your idea of a visit in the quieter times is a good one; you can get some great deals.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We needed one night in Hobart before travelling on and the Best Western was fine but not great. They have just bought out Mercure and were doing some upgrades- rather noisy drilling early in the morning. Has a car park below- rather steep and narrow, so we were glad it was not full.
Rooms were clean and functional - the beds nice and comfy- we had a family room although just a couple- would have been a bit small for a family though.
Staff friendly and easy check in

Room Tip: We had a room at the back- but the road at the front is not particularly busy. Not the best view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziehbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Suziehbabe,
I’m glad we fitted the bill for you; I hope you had a great trip around Tasmania.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

If you want a no frills hotel in Hobart ( I was going to say cheap but it isn't) this is for you. This is budget style accommodation. Rooms are small and very very outdated. There was an AC on the wall which we spent some time trying to work only to be told by reception that they are installed in all rooms but not yet connected. I bet we weren't the only ones to spend ages trying to get it to work, would have been smart to tell guests this up front. Duty Manager arranged a fan but that didn't work either! it was hot when we were there and staff suggested we open the screen door for breeze but there was no flywire screen. Bathroom leaked - lots. TV with digital box had 2 controls and no explanation as to how to use them. Very noisy, every time toilet in the room above us flushed it sounded like a train coming through our room. Meals in the restaurant are average at best. The staff however were great, and very nice, some compensation for a poor hotel. They arranged for us to change rooms on our second night. But our next room had problems also - just different ones. Door didn't close properly (banged all night) clock radio didn't work. We booked on a weekend when most other accommodation was full - but this hotel had plenty of rooms, now I know why! Best Western have just taken the hotel over from Mecure apparently and are going to fix it up. My suggestion would be to shut the hotel and fix it before re-opening.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard0067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Richard0067,
Thank you pointing out the improvements that we should make, which will all be addressed by our refurbishment program. In fact it’s already started and the new air-conditioner in your room will be coming online any day now.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We ran in the Cadbury Marathon with this hotel partnering with the race. Pretty expensive for 3 nights accom @$600+ however it appears all accom in Hobart is expensive when it's summer, the tennis/marathon etc etc is on.
Staff were exceptional. Always friendly and professional. The hotel had organised for an early 4am breakfast on a Sunday morning for the runners with frequent buses taking us to the start line 30mins away. Rooms were ok, apparently the property has just completed a refurbishment, not sure what they were up against before.
This hotel has a good location close to the CBD with a 10min walk to the Harbour. Rooms are old but they are clean with a fresh lick of paint.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smileyky1ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Smileyky1ie,
I am very pleased we were a good base for your sporting weekend. Hoping to see again for next year’s marathon.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Rooms can be tough in Hobart during peak seasons and this was not our first choice but was available. It was exactly what we expected, just OK. The rooms were outdated and small but the staff was helpful and the bar was fun. Our room also did not have AC. I will not be staying here next time and will make sure I book super early in advance to secure a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Charles K,
Thanks for your comments. I do hope you may consider us next time; we will have 100% air-conditioning by then
Regards,
Janine Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
0.6 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.5 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#6 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hobart

Property: Best Western Hobart
Address: 156 Bathurst St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hobart
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hobart (Formerly Mercure Hotel Hobart) is located in the city centre, only two blocks from the main shopping mall. The hotel features local artwork in a contemporary setting, while the 140 rooms have recently been re-decorated to create a modern fresh feel and offer either city or mountain views. It is only a short walk to Salamanca Place on Hobart's historic waterfront, an area well-known for the many restaurants, cafes, bars and the famous Saturday market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hobart Hotel Hobart
Accor Hobart
Best Western Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing