We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marathon friendly accom.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hobart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hobart
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Marathon friendly accom.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We ran in the Cadbury Marathon with this hotel partnering with the race. Pretty expensive for 3 nights accom @$600+ however it appears all accom in Hobart is expensive when it's summer, the tennis/marathon etc etc is on.
Staff were exceptional. Always friendly and professional. The hotel had organised for an early 4am breakfast on a Sunday morning for the runners with frequent buses taking us to the start line 30mins away. Rooms were ok, apparently the property has just completed a refurbishment, not sure what they were up against before.
This hotel has a good location close to the CBD with a 10min walk to the Harbour. Rooms are old but they are clean with a fresh lick of paint.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smileyky1ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Smileyky1ie,
I am very pleased we were a good base for your sporting weekend. Hoping to see again for next year’s marathon.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    281
    176
    45
    20
See reviews for
100
276
42
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Rooms can be tough in Hobart during peak seasons and this was not our first choice but was available. It was exactly what we expected, just OK. The rooms were outdated and small but the staff was helpful and the bar was fun. Our room also did not have AC. I will not be staying here next time and will make sure I book super early in advance to secure a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Charles K,
Thanks for your comments. I do hope you may consider us next time; we will have 100% air-conditioning by then
Regards,
Janine Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the stay, at Best Western and will certainly return to the Hotel , when next in Hobart. Great location to see sites of the City. Near to and close to locations we wanted to visit. The staff were very helpful and our room was kept in order by the friendly Cleaning team. Apparently , aircon. is being installed or updated , in next few months. Just opened the sliding door to the balcony. So easy! The breeze kept the room fresh. We did not eat at the Hotel but drinks and service , fine. Will definitely book at the "Best Western' , next time in Hobart. Have a wonderful and safe New Year!!

Room Tip: Check with friends who have stayed at the Hotel and also check reviews online. Generally , not every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear alan s,
I’m so pleased you enjoyed your time with us; looking forward to welcoming you next time you are in Hobart.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Booked room on Wotif as mystery 4 star deal for $139 per night. Should've realised it was too good to be true! Our room on first floor has view looking out at three big skip bins full of rubbish :-( very average room and bathroom. The bed springs seem to have gone on our bed so it's mega soft and don't expect we'll have a great nights rest. This is definitely NOT 4 star. I would give it 2 star for room.

Reception staff at check in were friendly and hospitable and the front foyer even looks bit flash but rest of hotel is not to the standard you would expect.

We have learnt our lesson and will not be booking any future mystery hotel deals on wotif. It's just not worth the disappointment

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hippielove39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Hippielove39,
It’s nice that you found our staff friendly. Your comments about the room and bed are being addressed by our refurbishment program which is already under way. We’d love to see you again so you can enjoy the improvements.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Tired rooms and overpriced at over AU$ 220.00 per night.
Old hotel in need of a modern touch with the simple things like A/C and Maybe a few movie channels. No bang for your buck here unless you were paying AU$ 100.00. Internet WIFI was absolutly rubbish you had more chance of contacting alien life than maintaining a usable wifi connection. Noisy as well you could hear everything in the corridor, adjacent rooms and on the street and I was on the 5th floor!

Paying for your parking when your in a privilege room ? hmmm Again a privilege would be free parking, Movie channels, usable WIFI and airconditioning !

Positives are very very friendly helpful staff, good quality food at fair prices, and the rooms were well serviced clean and tidy. these are the only 4-5 star attributes worth talking about. If it wasnt for the staff this would have got a lower score.

Anthony P

Room Tip: Look around and if you can find a more suitable place that has AC, more modern rooms and services ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Anthony P,
Thank you for the review. We have an extensive renovation program planned which will bring all aspects of the hotel up to the standard of our friendly staff. I hope you may stay with us again and be impressed.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked Best Western during this busy weekend as everything else was booked out. On the plus side, the room was clean, staff were very friendly and the hotel conveniently within walking distance to city centre. We were very impressed on initial arrival which was around 3pm when party hasn't started yet.

I have read comments about this place been noisy and without air condition. I can tell you these are both very true. Unfortunately we stayed on a Saturday night and there was a function happening at lobby. I was expecting a bit of noise as we stayed in a room on level 1, however I was not expecting to feel like sitting right in the middle of the function where every beat was loud and clear. No, I don't want to hear 'I gotta feeling' by Black Eyed Peas at 10pm. And even worse the music got louder and more hyper as the night progressed. Reception staff advised me the function was due to finish at approximately 11:30 pm and I appreciate her honesty, nevertheless this was not some minor noises to be ignored easily and guests like us should be cautioned as a courtesy rather than having to call reception at 10:30pm to find out. I can only imagine they expected all their guests to travel with ear plugs and do not mind party noises.

Moving on to air con, weather in Tassie was actually quite cool for Queenslander like myself therefore I was fine not having ac (Although I think it's more odd that a hotel does not have ac installed). Problem was the room became stuffy (we were a party of 3) and we couldn't open our door to the balcony to have some air flow because A. The noise level would double and we might as well just join the function downstairs and B. Level one was still very close to roadside and we don't feel safe to open it right up especially there was no screen door either and C. The hotel also runs a pub downstairs and Saturday night of course you will get people yelling and laughing like they are deaf after a few drinks.

Overall I think this place was not unbearable but definitely has a lot of room for improvement considering it costs $225 a night and you can easily find better accommodation in Hobart without paying that much. Personally I would not come back because the quality really was not up to the standard of what you are paying for. Not recommended especially for people like us who need to head off early next morning and really needs a good night sleep( Isn't this the whole purpose of staying in a hotel?)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Debiku,
Thank you for your views. I am pleased you found the room clean and well maintained. However, I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise from a function and we will investigate ways in which we can prevent this happening in the future.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for the third time for work from interstate. The staff as usual were friendly and welcoming.
I was put again in a privilege room on the fifth floor and was very comfortable. Both dinner and breakfast were cooked to perfection.
I love the location of this hotel as it's centrally located and along with the facilities on site, makes it great for business trips.
My only gripe would be the lack of air conditioning. I stayed here on a relatively warm day and with aircon in the reception area and hallways, it was quite strange (and uncomfortable) without it in the restaurant and the rooms. A good nights sleep was not had by me and the fan supplied did little to circulate the air I could get. I was tempted to leave the glass door open and have air through the screen door, but without it being able to lock wasn't sure if this was a good idea.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Rebecca T,
Great news! We are in the process of installing air-conditioning throughout the hotel so you will be able to enjoy a nice, cool room next time you stay. We really appreciate you being a regular guest of ours.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.6 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
1.5 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hobart

Property: BEST WESTERN Hobart
Address: 156 Bathurst St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hobart
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hobart (Formerly Mercure Hotel Hobart) is located in the city centre, only two blocks from the main shopping mall. The hotel features local artwork in a contemporary setting, while the 140 rooms have recently been re-decorated to create a modern fresh feel and offer either city or mountain views. It is only a short walk to Salamanca Place on Hobart's historic waterfront, an area well-known for the many restaurants, cafes, bars and the famous Saturday market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hobart Hotel Hobart
Accor Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing