We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hobart
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Toukley, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

1 night stay..Staff were friendly..comfy bed, clean room..Nespresso coffee pod machine a nice touch..happy hour.. good breakfast buffet...upgrade was very good with wifi and parking..over all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreak63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Andreak63
Thanks for the review. It’s great to know you enjoyed your time with us. Come back soon.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    322
    191
    50
    23
See reviews for
115
317
44
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had our 2nd night of a 3 night stay. Our family rooms are comfortable and we are sleeping well on good beds.
The best thing is the warmth of the staff on reception and in the bar/restaurant. They are all helpful, and Skye has been particularly helpful sorting out my iPad. Thank you all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretknight7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear margaretknight7,
I am so pleased you had a nice stay. Thanks for telling us.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legana, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Recently stayed for work, stayed 3 nights. Had a lovely room on the top floor, chocies on arrival. Was away from the family so enjoyed a bath and relaxation before getting stuck into work. Had room service for dinner on first night and was delivered quickly and had the best creme burlee ever! Was well priced too. Buffet breakfast was part of my stay as was the off street parking ($10 a 24 hour period). Car park closest to lifts was a little tight with my wagon but would be fine with smaller cars. Staff were lovely and helpful.
Well played Best Western.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi, TamE77,
Thanks for such a nice review. I love the creme brulee too! Looking forward to seeing you the next time work brings you to Hobart.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

From reading other people's experiences when staying here, I was regretting my booking terribly and very nervous about our stay as we were travelling with three other families booked in the same hotel. On arrival I was greeted with friendly staff who were helpful and even though there were a couple of hiccups with parking, they were quick to rectify the issue. We had a great stay here. Clean and good rooms and while staying with a young child it was special for us to see housekeeping take the extra special eye to detail and made the portacot and sat up our young child's toys which she was delighted to see sitting up together in her cot. We look forward to staying here again in the future. Thank you for a great stay Best Western.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La_dee_das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear La_dee_das,
It's great that you enjoyed your stay and experienced good old fashioned friendly Tasmanian service. See you again soon.
Janine Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here because we got a late flight into hobart. Car rental companies like Budget and Eurocar are basically next door. The room service after 9pm menu small and plain. Go out and eat early because restaurants nearby (mainly indian) close early. Beds are comfy and room size reasonable considering theres a queen plus single. Didnt like being put on the same floor with a group of chinese tourist. They were very noisy. I'm sure the hotel wasn't full.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionaonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi, fionaonholiday,
Thanks for the review. I'm glad your stay was good. We do have a restaurant of our own but there is also a great selection of eatieries nearby with a broad selection of cuisines, so I hope you can try one of these next time.
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

First impressions weren't good - whilst the price was reasonable the hotel appears tired and unwelcoming. The room was not clean with the carpet in need of a good vacuum and scrubbing in places. There were only two towels available for three guests. The final straw was the $20 charge for parking the car in the car park which was hard to access and exit (it's steep and the ticket machine is temperamental). On the positive side the beds were comfortable and requests for an extra towel and help with the dodgy TV were responded to quickly. Staff on the front desk need to respond professionally to guest feedback, they were beastly careless and appeared disinterested.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Diane D,
Thank you for the review. I'm pleased you found our tariff good but must apologise for the probems you encountered. On a brighter note we are now offering FREE parking, which is uusual for Hobart CBD hotels and I hope you can take advantage of that sometime.
Janine Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Room was adequate and clean. Bed was comfortable but new pillows are needed. Bathroom is small but OK. A fan would be good. Be aware that parking is $10 a day.No air con and no double glazing. While adequate the hotel is tired and needs refurbishing and is probably overpriced considering the amenities it provides.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldfarts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear roebourne9,
Thanks for the feedback. Our new owners are refurbishing, including air-conditioning, so I hope you will be able to enjoy the improvement if staying with us in the future.
Janine Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
0.6 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#11 of 48 in Hobart
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 48 in Hobart
1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#19 of 48 in Hobart
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hobart

Property: Best Western Hobart
Address: 156 Bathurst St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hobart
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hobart (Formerly Mercure Hotel Hobart) is located in the city centre, only two blocks from the main shopping mall. The hotel features local artwork in a contemporary setting, while the 140 rooms have recently been re-decorated to create a modern fresh feel and offer either city or mountain views. It is only a short walk to Salamanca Place on Hobart's historic waterfront, an area well-known for the many restaurants, cafes, bars and the famous Saturday market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hobart Hotel Hobart
Accor Hobart
Best Western Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing