We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge on Elizabeth
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Savoy(Hobart)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
178
60
14
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
60
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary portb bguest loungenorth hobartcontinental breakfastwonderful hostsliving roomfreshly brewed coffeehistoric propertystreet parkingbeautiful heritageon arrivalold housecomfortable loungeyogurthome away from homespa bath
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 258 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Wonderful accommodation in a great location. The hosts are lovely without being intrusive, breakfast was delicious, and beautiful gardens and surrounds.

Book early - sells out quickly and you won't find a better stay in North Hobart than here. : )

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank queenbee1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Room 9 is a comfortable size and although it looks period has a fridge, AC spa tub and 2 chairs. Breakfast was complete and included fruit, yogurt, cereal, various breads but no hot items, meat or cheese. Not suffering the temptation of eggs and sausage was a plus for us. Our host was gracious and provided good restaurant advice. Parking was on the street with a parking pass provided at no extra charge. The sitting room provided candy and sherry every night at no extra charge. Internet was fast and reliable but cost an extra $5 for a 3 night stay. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again. There are a lot of steps so it may not be the best place for someone with mobility difficulties. Location is good but walking to the waterfront is about a 2 mile round trip with a steep uphill on the return. We choose to drive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsdukejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lodge. Graeme and Sue were delightful hosts. Our room (#1) was spacious with a 4 iron poster bed, nice couch and spa tub in the bath. There was a lovely living room with port where we played cards and met lovely travelers from the Netherlands. We were able to wall to Salamanta for a lunch at the Machine Laundry - fascinating and very organic delicious meal. About a 15 minute walk but delightful. We drove to dinner at Prosser's on the Beach for an incredible dinner of local seafood. We had a fabulous breakfast at the Lodge in the AM and lovely conversation with Graeme and Sue!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dggwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

A really nice place to stay in Hobart. Good location and very nice rooms with comfy beds, good space and a fridge! we stayed in a "spa-room" with a bathtub. It was very nice enviornment with a little garden in the back.
There was a lounge with coffee and tea and cookies and even port wine and toffee!
We also had free parking in a garage!
The breakfast was typical aussie with white bread, jam, vegimite, sweet yogurt and cereals.
Very good price, especially for students!

Room Tip: we had a room with garden view, nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linnea e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed one night at the lodge. It is a beautiful old home with lots of period details, set in a well manicured garden. However it is on the corner of two very busy streets in north Hobart. The location is easy access to restaurants and the Salamanca esplanade. The Lodge is well above street level so we missed it while driving by. Because of this location, there are many stairs to haul your luggage up. We arrived in the rain, and it was a test. You have to go up steps to the front door, and ring a buzzer. Once you confirm your reservation, you are directed to the back entry, where you have to open a locked gate and climb more steps to gain access to the house. There are yet more steps up to the rooms once you are inside. Certainly a challenge if you have lots of or heavy luggage. Yvette was very gracious and did help us bring in our luggage. The front guest lounge was very cozy, with port, cake and coffee and tea available. The rooms were on the small side, not much space for luggage. The bed was very firm, we found it uncomfortable. Breakfast was sufficient and served in a grand old dining room. Wifi was available at a cost of $5. Parking was on the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the busy street that runs adjacent to the lodge. There is a lot of traffic till late at night and that starts early in the morning for rush hour.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airdrietraveler_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews