We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and comfy! Good price!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge on Elizabeth
Ranked #3 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Malmö
1 review
“Very nice and comfy! Good price!!!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

A really nice place to stay in Hobart. Good location and very nice rooms with comfy beds, good space and a fridge! we stayed in a "spa-room" with a bathtub. It was very nice enviornment with a little garden in the back.
There was a lounge with coffee and tea and cookies and even port wine and toffee!
We also had free parking in a garage!
The breakfast was typical aussie with white bread, jam, vegimite, sweet yogurt and cereals.
Very good price, especially for students!

Room Tip: we had a room with garden view, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linnea e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    58
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
143
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed one night at the lodge. It is a beautiful old home with lots of period details, set in a well manicured garden. However it is on the corner of two very busy streets in north Hobart. The location is easy access to restaurants and the Salamanca esplanade. The Lodge is well above street level so we missed it while driving by. Because of this location, there are many stairs to haul your luggage up. We arrived in the rain, and it was a test. You have to go up steps to the front door, and ring a buzzer. Once you confirm your reservation, you are directed to the back entry, where you have to open a locked gate and climb more steps to gain access to the house. There are yet more steps up to the rooms once you are inside. Certainly a challenge if you have lots of or heavy luggage. Yvette was very gracious and did help us bring in our luggage. The front guest lounge was very cozy, with port, cake and coffee and tea available. The rooms were on the small side, not much space for luggage. The bed was very firm, we found it uncomfortable. Breakfast was sufficient and served in a grand old dining room. Wifi was available at a cost of $5. Parking was on the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the busy street that runs adjacent to the lodge. There is a lot of traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airdrietraveler_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great service close to cbd great pick up point for tours
Extremely clean
Very homely and welcoming
Beautiful rooms
Right near wonderful north hobart restaurants easy walk to city
Recommend to all will stay there next time in hobart

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights on arrival in Hobart. Graham and Lynette were fabulous hosts, the room was cosy and comfortable and the breaky and sitting rooms were fantastic. Highly recommend staying here. This is a heritage listed property and situated close to a number of great restaurants in Elizabeth Street.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband & I had a few nights stay at The Lodge when we first arrived in Hobart to kick off our holiday, and one night before flying home at the end. It was a home away from home, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Hospitality was outstanding, the Lodge itself was very comfortable and clean, and the breakfasts were very filling. The Lodge on Elizabeth's location, was just ideally situated for our stay, a stones throw from everything, food, shopping, tours & Salamanca markets. We definitely will be returning.

Thanks guys Maree & Graham Blines xx

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

A nice B and B with comfortable beds and its nice and quiet.

A convenient 10 minute walk into town for the ferry to Mona or the restaurants.

The hosts are friendly and they leave out some nice baking each day and a complimentary port or two for an evening night cap.

We'd stay there again which should say it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horoeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was the highlight of our stay in Tasmania. We came in out of the cold to a very warm welcome from the Hostess. The place is beautifully kept in it's historical context. Loved the complimentary coffee and cake in the sitting room. I felt like I had come to a place called home. I strongly recommend this venue to stay at when visiting Hobart. Thanks Graeme and Lynette.

Room Tip: No tips needed. Everything excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sunlover Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.6 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 48 in Hobart
1,207 reviews
0.6 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.9 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#3 of 48 in Hobart
564 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Elizabeth

Property: The Lodge on Elizabeth
Address: 249 Elizabeth St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grace and grandeur of this Stately Georgian Mansion. The Lodge on Elizabeth is elegant heritage accommodation, located just a short stroll to the Hobart CBD. All rooms have their own ensuite with the larger more luxurious rooms featuring spas, four-poster, half-tester or antique beds. Sit in the drawing room and enjoy complimentary port. Rejuvenate in our courtyard garden, so close but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the Hobart city. Previously the home of many Tasmanian notables including one premier, The Lodge on Elizabeth bed and breakfast accommodation was built by convicts in 1829 and is listed by the National Trust. We are conveniently situated within minutes walk to approximately 20 North Hobart restaurants with a wide variety of cuisine. There are many tourist attractions within close proximity for both the adventurous and those looking for something a little more tranquil. The Lodge on Elizabeth in Hobart, Tasmania is an affordable indulgence with personalised service and the warm hospitality that you would expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Lodge on Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Elizabeth Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing