We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge on Elizabeth
Ranked #3 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The Lodge could be described as either a large B&B or a small hotel which doesn't provide evening meals. Our room was fine having fridge, tea/coffee making facilities plus TV as expected - the ensuite had a bath with shower over. They provide an above average continental breakfast (by Australian standards) and a guest lounge with complimentary tea/coffee and sometimes cake !. The hosts are friendly but not intrusive. It's about a 15 minute walk downhill to the harbour or 10 minutes uphill to a number of restaurants. The on-street parking (free permit provided) is no problem at all. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 243 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

Gorgeous garden, full of agapanthus. Beautiful old house, an historic house in Hobart. Rooms a bit quirky in a nice way as they are all remodelled from the original old house. Our room had spa bath, little balcony onto the garden and a large brass bed. Good continental breakfast, street parking with a hotel permit. Guest laundry with outside drying. All very saftisfactory. Good walking distance from town , although coming home is uphill! Works off the holiday meals. We loved it.

Room Tip: ask for a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rufusbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Adequate rooms and breakfast. Nothing fancy. About eight blocks from Wharf. Sporadic WiFi.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaySF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The buildings and gardens are beautiful and well-kept, and the Convict Cottage was cosy and sweet. The staff are friendly and helpful but not intrusive. The home-made goodies and complimentary port in the guest lounge were welcome surprises. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Convict cottage is cosy and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Hobart was good and the lodge was a pleasant place to be while there. A little bit of a walk to town but not so far as to be a problem even with a bit of shopping. Garden is nice, room is spacious.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I recently stayed in the Lodge on Elizabeth, a lovely old building turned into a B&B. The location is some 10-15 minutes downhill walk to the Marina. My room was small but very comfortable, the bathroom a bit on a small size (I guess this is the norm for single rooms) but overall the stay was very pleasant. Lynn and Graeme were nice hosts and very helpful when it came to tips for sightseeing or even organising/booking. There is laundry room available and internet in house for a one-off fee of $5 for the whole stay, an unbelievable price. This came very handy as it was during the Qantas strike so I used the internet often to check on the flight situation.
The living room is beautiful, guests can help themselves to coffee/tea and cakes in the afternoon and port in the evening.
There is a lovely garden in the courtyard.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomad2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I left it a little late to book some accommodation in Hobart and although choices were limited I was a little hesitant about this place as I had the idea it was a sort of large B&B - but it isn't, it is more of a personalised boutique hotel. In the end it turned out to be perfect.

The location is great - look, everything in Hobart is in walking distance so really this is ideal. It's between the Elizabeth Street Mall (easy to find - just head downhill towards the harbour and you'll go right through it!) and the Elizabeth Street restaurant strip (also easy to find - just head uphill towards North Hobart!). Just past Elizabeth St Mall is the harbour (eateries, MONA ferry, whisky cellar door etc) and Salamanca Place markets - all under 15 mins walk. (HINT - Hobart is very hilly so be prepared for a bit of uphill and down dale walking around town). Very conveniently there is a Hungry Jacks about two doors up and a 24 hour fast food joint (greasies) right next door which was pretty handy for a late night juice or hot chip fix. And it had Farmers Union Iced Coffee!

Our room was comfortable and also had a couch and coffee table. The bathroom was enormous and very clean, with corner spa and separate shower. The shower is fantastic, huge amounts of gushing hot water, and although I don't like a spa I did enjoy a soak in the bath tub. There is a good heater lamp in the bathroom and a heater in the room - plus electric blankets on every bed - so you don't need to worry about being cold, regardless of what the unpredictable Hobart weather throws up.

The breakfast was excellent. It is only available 8 - 9.30 which is obviously less than a big hotel but for a continental breakfast offers a great choice of fruit toast and bread, cereals, yoghurts, fruit and fruit juice, tea by the bag or pot, and actually pretty good dripolater coffee. The breakfast room is quite charming as the property sits on the side of a hill so while looking down past the garden onto the street, also gives you a view out over rooftops on the opposite side of the hill.

In addition to the breakfast room there is a common sitting room at the front of the house where you can chill out on old fashioned leather sofas and sip a glass of port. The whole place was heated quite nicely as it was a bit cold and wet when I was there. Along with your room key you get a key to enter by the front or back door and we were out till quite late some nights but it was no problem coming in at 1 am or later, we just let ourselves in and went to our room. (There are a few creaks in the floor and doors but that is to be expected with such a historic property!). The reception is often not attended but there is a phone at the front door and reception desk and if you need Graeme or Lynette they are never far away and were exceedingly helpful, and understanding of various delays.

My only complaints - I prefer a firmer mattress for my back, and there is a kettle, bar fridge, and hot drink makings in the room but I don't consider International Roast to be any sort of excuse for coffee... but there is great coffee in the breakfast room and overall I was very comfortable and happy staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Henry_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.6 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
1,238 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.9 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 47 in Hobart
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Elizabeth

Address: 249 Elizabeth St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $110 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grace and grandeur of this Stately Georgian Mansion. The Lodge on Elizabeth is elegant heritage accommodation, located just a short stroll to the Hobart CBD. All rooms have their own ensuite with the larger more luxurious rooms featuring spas, four-poster, half-tester or antique beds. Sit in the drawing room and enjoy complimentary port. Rejuvenate in our courtyard garden, so close but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the Hobart city. Previously the home of many Tasmanian notables including one premier, The Lodge on Elizabeth bed and breakfast accommodation was built by convicts in 1829 and is listed by the National Trust. We are conveniently situated within minutes walk to approximately 20 North Hobart restaurants with a wide variety of cuisine. There are many tourist attractions within close proximity for both the adventurous and those looking for something a little more tranquil. The Lodge on Elizabeth in Hobart, Tasmania is an affordable indulgence with personalised service and the warm hospitality that you would expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lodge on Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Elizabeth Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing