We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views and close to facilities - suits business or pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
BUNBURY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice views and close to facilities - suits business or pleasure”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel is well located within only a few minutes walking distance from the main business and shopping precinct as well as popular tourist areas. Its position on the pier provides an excellent view over the water and boat harbour. The rooms are well appointed and include all the facilities needed to do your own catering and laundry if required. Supermarkets are available nearby to purchase any food items. The only downside we found was with the positioning of the TV in the bedroom. Strangely, it was located on a shelf which was obstructed from view from the bed by the wardrobe. Only about half of the wide screen TV screen could be viewed. This could easily have been remedied by fixing the TV to the wall at the foot end of the bed. There is ample space to easily allow this. If management follow up suggestion, we would give it an 'excellent' rating.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 55 at the end of the pier and found it nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear DAVID H,

Thank you for taking time to provide Somerset with a review of your recent stay. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed our location, found our staff friendly and appreciated the space and facilities our apartment provided you. Thank you for your feedback in regards to the bedroom configuration and television placement; we do appreciate it when guests provide ways we can improve our product for us to investigate. We will keep it in mind with any future updates to the property.

If you are every in Hobart again, we do hope to welcome you back to Somerset.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    361
    142
    66
    32
See reviews for
169
430
22
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Redland City, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

No room service on sunday unless you ask on saturday. Its not a problem as they put a notice in your room while yiu are out on saturday. Showers And general noise through walls. Great location. beautiful view of harbour. Handy location.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Ed P,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Somerset. It is lovely to read that enjoyed our beautiful location overlooking the harbour, we feel very lucky to be in such a unique spot on Elizabeth St Pier. You may be pleased to know that Somerset on the Pier will be commencing a refurbishment of our apartments towards the middle of the year, if you choose to stay with us again.

Thank you Ed P, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel, close to restaurants, tourist attractions, Salamanca market and other shops. The staff were very helpful and friendly which made us feel very welcome. On the down side parking was a bit tricky.

Room Tip: If you want a belcony make sure you request one as the rooms at the end don't have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Amanda M,

Thank you for sharing your review of Somerset on the Pier Hobart with our Trip Advisor community. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed our central location in beautiful Hobart as well as finding our Guest Service Team friendly and welcoming.

We value your feedback regarding the restricted parking; due to our central location parking is very limited in Hobart. While it is too late for your latest visit, if you chose to stay with us again please feel free to contact our Guest Services Team who would be only too happy to assist with alternative parking options close to the property.

If you are every in Hobart again, we do hope to welcome you back to Somerset.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a week to celebrate my birthday. I'll admit I was hesitant after reading the reviews about noise but we were there from Tues-Sun and we did not find noise to be a problem at all. I suppose this must only be an issue during major events.
Location was the best, you are right at the water so you can take any day cruise, you are 5min from Salamanca and 5min to the CBD.
The room was fresh and tidy, I personally loved the loft style bedroom although I understand this might be a problem for people with mobility issues.
I really appreciated the washer and dryer and was impressed that we were provided washing powder and dishwashing powder. (I know this sounds like a given but I travel a lot for work and most apartment style hotels charge for these items)
FREE WIFI was as also appreciated, I was able to research and book our adventures online from the comfort of the hotel.
Every interaction we had with staff was outstanding, from reception to cleaning staff. We were greeted with a warm smile and a good morning/afternoon whenever we walked past.
My only complaint was the parking, we hired a car for a couple of days and the parking wasn't always available (but it was free), the nearby parking was 2hrs only which was a little inconvenient.
You wont regret paying extra for the balcony. We spent so much time sitting on our balcony watching the boats come in, tasting local wine and cheese, we even made our own seafood platter one night. I wish I was still there.

Room Tip: The premier rooms have a great private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny787878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Jenny787878,

Firstly Happy Birthday! We are so pleased to read that you and your partner had a fantastic time celebrating your birthday in beautiful Hobart. We feel very fortunate to be in such a unique position on the water; and we agree what better way to relax than on your own private balcony.

We appreciate your comments regarding the limited parking at our property; due to our central location parking is very restricted in Hobart. Though it is too late for your current stay, please feel free next time to contact our Guest Services Team who would be only too happy to assist with alternative parking options close to the property.

We would be honoured to pass on your comments to the Guest Service and Housekeeping Teams that you found the service they provided outstanding, they will be proud to know they assisted in making your birthday holiday memorable.

Thank you Jenny787878, from all the team at Somerset we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Best location on the pier, best view from our room with balcony.
Staff very friendly.
Very poor insulation between the room, a lot of noise from the pipes and water alimentation in the bathroom. This need renovation and upgrading as well as the kitchen.
Very hot on the mezzanine, we had to leave the air conditioning downstairs all night, and we were there late March.
But will choose this hotel again, if renovation is done.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Marie C,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay with us at Somerset. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the view from your balcony overlooking the harbour; we agree it is a beautiful setting.

We are disappointed to read however, that not all aspects of your stay met your expectations. You may be pleased to know that Somerset on the Pier is due to commence a property refurbishment, and we will be sure to keep your feedback in mind when making any updates to the kitchen and bathroom facilities.

We do hope to welcome you back to Somerset once the refurbishment is complete.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

the location is good but not the architecture! you have absolutely no view from the bed room, it's just a dark unattractive room upstairs.furniture is old and blankets look like army equipments! our double bed was 2 singel beds next to eachother,if you want to be romantic you will be on the groove! however, it is reasonably clean and centrally located in walking distance to lots of attractions. but surely we could find a better accmmodation with that price.
my bad personal experience: I left my earings in the room. as soon as we went to airport I noticed and called them, I had to pay for postage and it meant to be all fine. I checked if they have the right address, they didn't! so I gave them the correct one and waited! when I didn't receive the earings I called back and surprisingly "oh! I'm not sure which address I sent it to!" and the final answer was "we are not responsible after posting it", I followed it up with the post and even went to the wrong address "which they said they received it and sent it back" but I never got my earings back. and they didn't even appologize.very irresponsible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rahil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed here with 3 friends for a girls weekend in Hobart. Excellent location, right in the heart of Hobart. Just next door to the ferry that goes to Mona, 5 minute walk to Salamanca where the Saturday markets are great, and there is a heap of restaurants and cafes. Convenient to drive anywhere around Hobart with it only being a few minutes to get out to the main highway. 2 bedroom premier apartment was roomy enough for the 4 of us, and the balcony over looking the piers was great. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend staying here if you want to settle in for a great few days in beautiful Hobart.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rochelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Rochelle H,

Thank you for providing us a review of your recent stay at Somerset on the Pier. It is wonderful read that you and your girlfriends enjoyed your stay in our two-bedroom premier apartment. We feel very fortunate to be in such a beautiful position on the harbour of Hobart; and we agree what better way to experience this than to relax on your balcony overlooking the water.

We will be sure to pass on your feedback to our Guests Services Team, they will be happy to know you found them both friendly and helpful.

If you are ever visiting Hobart again, we hope to welcome you back to Somerset.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#3 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on the Pier Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Property: Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Address: Elizabeth St Pier, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Oakford)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#15 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset on the Pier Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a conversion of a 1930s pier building, award-winning Somerset on the Pier is the epitome of old world charm mixed with contemporary style. Located on the shores of Hobart’s waterfront, each serviced apartment boasts beautiful panoramic views of the River Derwent and historic Sullivan’s Cove. Somerset offers 56 one bedroom and family apartments with complimentary wireless internet, fully-equipped kitchenettes, contemporary decor; and a loft-style design exuding space and comfort, perfect for both the business or leisure traveller. Offering a welcome alternative to a hotel, Somerset is the ideal accommodation for a weekend away or an extended stay. Hobart’s central business district, restaurants, shopping precincts and main attractions including Salamanca Place, home to the famous Salamanca Market, Battery Point, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery and the ferry to the Museum of Old and New Art - MONA are all on your door step. Hobart is one of Australia’s most picturesque capital cities and Somerset on the Pier is the gateway to exploring everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset on the Pier Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On The Pier, Hobart Hotel Hobart
Somerset On The Pier Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing