We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You couldn't get closer to the harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“You couldn't get closer to the harbour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We booked this hotel as its proximity to the harbour looked first-rate .... and we weren't disappointed.

Arriving on an evening flight from Melbourne we were tired and therefore were very pleased with the quick efficient check-in. When we got to the room all the pressures of the day disappeared as we were immediately delighted by the harbour view dimming in the evening light.

We had a large living room which encompassed a small kitchen, there was a large bathroom which included a washing machine and dryer, and an upstairs "balcony" bedroom with large wardrobe, drawers, and an ample safe for laptop and travel valuables. The bed was every-so-comfy. There were large screen TVs in the living and bed rooms and the living room included settee, desk, table and chairs for eating. The WiFi connection was good and there were plenty of electric sockets.

Being tired on our first evening from the flight, we used the room service option which was probably the most disappointing part of the stay. Whilst efficient, the food was lacking in quality. The Asian restaurant underneath the hotel does take-away and we will use that if staying there again and wanting an in room meal; we eat at this restaurant on the following evening and the Chinese and Thai options were excellent and portions very large.

Although this is not a hotel but "serviced apartments" and so doesn't have on-site catering there are plenty of restaurants around for breakfast and dining options throughout the day. Particularly good are some of the cafes around Salamanca Place and try one of the bakers if you want bread to take back to the apartment to toast!

Check-out was also very efficient and the staff really gave an excellent impression of caring for you.

Will definitely return again if we come back to Hobart.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yhi904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc G, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear yhi904
Thank you for such lovely comments, we are delighted to read you enjoyed every aspect of your stay!
It was also pleasing to read that you were able to get out and enjoy some of Hobart's local eateries. Hobart is famous for it's local food and wine!
We appreciate you choosing Somerset on the Pier and we look forward to seeing you back when you next visit Hobart.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    358
    139
    66
    32
See reviews for
167
422
21
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here in a premier room with a balcony. The staff was very friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble. Location is brilliant overlooking the water, watching the yachts, crayfish boats and cruise ships coming in and out. Close to Salamanca Place and many historical buildings. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc G, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Marilyn255100
I am delighted to read that you had a brilliant stay while with us at Somerset on the Pier. We often receive lovely comments, such as yours, regarding our excellent location on the waterfront and the stunning harbour views on offer. I’m so glad that you made the most of our fabulous central location and facilities and we do hope to look forward to welcoming you back to Somerset on the Pier when you next visit Hobart.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Great location on the harbour, amongst everything , close to city and good restaurants. Salamanca just around the corner. From the balcony you look over the bay and the boats. Only issue I had was people in adjacent room very noisy. Staff very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Andrew F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay at Somerset on the Pier Hobart. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our unique location right on the harbour and had a pleasant stay with us. The view of the bay this time of year is truly beautiful!

Do let us know next time you are staying with us if you experience noise issues from other apartments, as we would be only too happy to assist in making sure you have a comfortable stay.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our room was clean and very comfortable with a nice outlook over the water. The room was quite modern but you can see the bathrooms are getting a bit tired with wear and tear, but at least they were clean. Staff were very friendly especially the housemaids who were very nice.
Parking could be a pain as there are only a few certain carparks allocated for guests. We were just lucky that someone pulled out as we drove there.
We stayed here on a Sun/Mon night. From previous comments we were a bit worried about noise from the restaurant/ bars under the rooms as we have a bub. Sunday night was noisy until about 11pm with drunken people screaming. I would hate to stay on a fri or sat night! Monday night was thankfully nice and quiet.
Location is great. Heart of the waterfront. Would stay again, but only midweek!

Tip: We were in room 32 and could clearly hear shouting/talking from the bar. Rooms 29 onwards are above the function room area. Rooms 1-28 are directly above the bar/restaurants and I imagine would be very noisy on a fri/sat night!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FreqFlyers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear FreqFlyers23,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Somerset. It is fantastic to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and experienced the beautiful views of the harbour from our one bedroom apartments. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to the Guest Services Team; they will be delighted to know they assisted in making your stay more enjoyable.

Do let us know next time you are staying with us, especially if you choose to on a weekend and we will do our very best to request a quieter apartment.

Many thanks,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

I booked this at the last minute following a problem with a previous booking through webjet. The price was reasonable compared with other places I had considered. The hotel had a special summer room upgrade deal which meant we had great views of the harbour, a renovated kitchen and a functional, but outdated, bathroom and the shower gel/shampoo dispenser was empty. The room layout was good with bedroom upstairs and bathroom downstairs. The walls are a bit thin between rooms. The location is central. Ok but not great.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Slug012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Slug012,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your recent stay at Somerset on the Pier. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to experience our complimentary apartment upgrade promotion. Your right, the views of the harbour are beautiful!

We are sorry to read however that your bathroom amenities had not been refreshed, we will be sure to follow this up with our Housekeeping department and apologise for any inconvenience caused. If you choose to stay with Somerset again, please do let our friendly Guest Service Team know if there is anything we can assist with whilst you are staying with us, as we are only too happy to help.

Thank you Slug012, we hope to see you again soon at Somerset on the Pier.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
347 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Having never slept on a pier before it was an interesting experience to see and hear the activities on the working harbor. A submarine docked while we were there which added to the fun. Good service, good location and a serviced apartment (condo) with a washer and dryer. The parking can be a challenge if you drive there and the steps to the loft are also a challenge on two levels---1) going down them and back up at night when using the toilet and 2) not walking into them when on the ground floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The2TravelingFools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear The2TravelingFools,

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. Getting to sleep on the Pier, really is a unique experience and we are glad you enjoyed it.

Though you are right, depending on your preferences we may not be for everyone, as the unique location does mean we have loft style apartments.

It is lovely to read you enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest regards,


Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on the Pier Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Property: Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Address: Elizabeth St Pier, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Oakford)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#15 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset on the Pier Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset on the Pier is an award-winning transformation of an early 1930s pier building, incorporating clean, striking lines of modern architecture with the historic exterior of a waterfront landmark. Each apartment features unrivaled panoramic water views of the River Derwent, Hobart's waterfront and historic Sullivans Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset on the Pier Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On The Pier, Hobart Hotel Hobart
Somerset On The Pier Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing